Hockey Canada's 2004 Annual General Meeting Concludes in Thunder Bay, ON
May 25, 2004

THUNDER BAY, ON – Hockey Canada’s 2004 Annual General Meeting, which was attended by over 400 delegates from across Canada, concluded on Tuesday in Thunder Bay with decisions made on key issues, as well as confirmation on locations of 2006 national championships.

Hockey Canada’s AGM brings together representation from each of the 13 Hockey Canada member branches who make up the Hockey Canada Board of Directors, along with life members, representatives from various organizations, and the various Hockey Canada councils: Female, Junior, Minor, Senior and Hockey Development.

A summary of the decisions approved by the Hockey Canada Board of Directors during this year’s AGM include:

  • beginning in 2004-05, the board approved the removal of the red line for all levels of hockey in Canada, for off-side purposes
  • junior hockey issues / Canadian development model: the board of directors deffered this motion until the 2005 Hockey Canada AGM regarding these issues/model, to give the Hockey Canada councils, board and the junior hockey leagues and teams more time to discuss and provide input
  • approval for a national registry, which will organize the key data from Branches that can be used to accurately measure registration in hockey, as well as registration and demographic trends and breakdowns
  • approved the integration of Sledge Hockey into Hockey Canada
  • update on the hockey development initiatives created since the 1999 Molson Open Ice Summit
  • approval of the Canadian anti-doping program policy

Bid presentations for the hosting of Hockey Canada’s 2006 National events were heard by various Hockey Canada Councils during this year’s AGM. Councils brought forth recommendations to Hockey Canada’s Board of Directors for approval, who then approved the following event hosting locations (dates are TBD, and all are subject to event contracts being signed between Hockey Canada and the host committees):

  • 2006 RBC Royal Bank CupBrampton, ON (hosted by Streetsville, ON Derbys)
  • 2006 Allan CupTBD
  • 2006 Esso Women’s NationalsSydney, NS
  • 2006 National Midget Hockey Championship Charlottetown, PEI
  • 2006 World U17 ChallengeRegina, SK

Hockey Canada also announced that ‘Hockey Canada Week’, a national celebration of the game of hockey in Canada at all levels, will be celebrated across Canada from November 7-14, 2005.

2004-2005 National Championship event locations and dates are as follows:

  • 2005 RBC Royal Bank Cup May 7-15, 2005 Weyburn, SK
  • 2005 Allan Cup April 19-24, 2005 Lloydminster, SK
  • 2005 Esso Women’s National Championship March 9-13, 2005 Sarnia, ON
  • 2005 National Midget Hockey Championship April 18-24, 2005 Gatineau, QC
  • 2005 U18 Women’sJanuary 26-31, 2005 Salmon Arm, BC
  • 2005 World U17 Challenge Dec. 29-Jan. Lethbridge, AB

The Officers of Hockey Canada for the 2004-2005 season will be as follows:

Allan Matthews - Williams Lake, BC - Chair of the Board

René Marcil - St-Louis-de-France, QC- Executive Vice-Chair

Dr. Allan Morris - Wiarton, ON- Vice-chair at Large

Marcel Redekop - Herbert, SK- Vice-chair at Large

Mike Bruni - Calgary, AB- Vice-chair at Large

Ken Corbett - Carleton Place, ON- Vice-chair at Large

Jim Hornell - Grand Falls-Windsor, NF- Vice-chair at Large

Sheldon Lanchbery - Deloraine, MB- Past chair

Hockey Canada’s council chairs for the 2004-2005 season are as follows:

Gay Hahn - Vancouver, BC- Chair – Female Council

Lorne Wilm – Central Butte, SK- Chair – Senior Council

George Kallay - Drumheller, AB- Chair – Hockey Development Council

Wayne Kartusch - Regina, SK- Chair – Junior Council

Jack Forsyth – Hartney, MB - Chair – Minor Council

Two other positions were elected by Hockey Canada’s board of directors:

Sheldon Lanchbery - Deloraine, MB- International Director

Maurice Roy - Grand Falls, NB- Referee-in-Chief

The 2005 Hockey Canada Annual General Meeting will be held May 20-24, 2005 in Saint John, NB.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 Esso Cup: BRA 8 – LAN 2 (Preliminary)
Whaley had 2G 1A to help the Canadettes to their first regulation win.
2018 TELUS Cup: LET 3 – TOR 3 (Preliminary)
Beck scored in the final minutes to help the Nationals earn the draw.
2018 Esso Cup: STA 4 – NOR 1 (Preliminary)
Willan scored twice in the third period to help the Slash pull away.
2018 TELUS Cup: MON 5 – SUD 1 (Preliminary)
LeBlanc had 2G 1A, and the Flyers scored four in the second period.