Canada's National Women's Team Captures Eighth Consecutive Gold Medal at 2004 IIHF World Women's Hockey Championship
April 6, 2004

HALIFAX, NOVA SCOTIA – Canada’s National Women’s Team has captured gold at the 2004 IIHF World Women’s Hockey Championship, with an 2-0 win over the USA. For an eighth consecutive World Championship, Canada has captured the World title, defeating the USA in each of the eight finals. Canada captured all seven previous World Women’s Hockey Championships (1990, 1992, 1994, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001).


In front of a packed Halifax Metro Centre, Team Canada and Team USA came through with another great chapter in their longstanding tradition of great women’s hockey on Tuesday evening. After a scoreless first in which both goaltenders, Pam Dreyer (USA) and Kim St-Pierre (CAN), made several key saves, Hayley Wickenheiser opened the scoring at 4:17 of the second period with a powerful wrist shot that beat Dreyer, which later proved to be the game winning goal.

Delaney Collins made it 2-0 Canada at 1:37 of the third period as she pushed a loose puck past Dreyer.


Top Goaltender: Kim St Pierre (CAN)

Top Defenceman:

Angela Ruggiero (USA)

Top Forward:

Jayna Hefford (CAN)

TOURNAMENT ALL-STAR TEAM(as voted on by members of the media):

Goaltender: Pam Dreyer (USA)


Jennifer Botterill (CAN)

Natalie Darwitz (USA)


Angela Ruggerio (USA) Jayna Hefford (CAN)

Gunilla Andersson (SWE)

MVP (as voted on by members of the media):

Jennifer Botterill (CAN)


The 2004 IIHF World Women’s Hockey Championship in Halifax/Dartmouth (Nova Scotia) set all-time attendance records for this event, drawing a total of 94,001 fans to games. This breaks the previous record of 66,783 that was set by Kitchener, Ontario in 1997.


Final destination Arrival (Local) Flight Team Canada players, staff
Toronto, ON 9:22 am AC 605 Therese Brisson
Ottawa, ON 10:41 am AC 8917 Gina Kingsbury
Boston, USA 12:30 pm AC 8783 Cherie Piper
Montréal, QC 12:33 pm AC 631 Charline Labonté, Kim St-Pierre
Toronto, ON 12:43 pm AC 109 Dana Antal, Gillian Apps, Kelly Béchard, Jennifer Botterill,
Correne Bredin, Cassie Campbell, Gillian Ferrari, Danielle Goyette, Jayna Hefford, Becky Kellar, Wally Kozak (Head Scout), Cheryl Pounder, Sami Jo Small, Colleen Sostorics, Vicky Sunohara, Hayley Wickenheiser,
Toronto, ON 3:51 pm AC 623 Ken Dufton (Asst. Coach), Karen Hughes (Head Coach), Dave Jamieson (Goaltending Coach), Dr. Christine Young (Team Doctor)
Edmonton, AB 4:53 pm AC 167 Delaney Collins
Kamloops, BC 4:53 pm AC 8206 Doug Lidster (Asst. coach)
Calgary, AB 11:36 am AC 1187 Johnny Misley (Hockey Canada VP, Hockey) , Mavis Wahl (Massage Therapist)
Hartford, USA 5:08 pm AC 7440 Sarah Vaillancourt
Fredericton, NB 5:45 pm AC 7478 Lesley Reddon (Team Coordinator)
Calgary, AB 7:16 pm AC 623 Julie Healy (Dir., Female Hockey, Hockey Canada) , Robin
McDonald (Equipment Manager), Lois Pohlod (Physiotherapist)
Duluth, USA 4:38 pm AA 4463 Caroline Ouellette

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 U18WC: CAN 8 – BLR 3 (Preliminary)
Goals from seven players, including two from Serron Noel lead Canada to lopsided win over Belarus.
2018 U18WC: CAN 6 – USA 4 (Preliminary)
Lavoie scored twice to lead Canada past the U.S. in the worlds opener.
2018 PARA: USA 2 – CAN 1 OT (Gold Medal)
Billy Bridges scored, but Canada dropped a narrow OT decision in the Paralympic gold medal game.
2018 PARA: CAN 7 – KOR 0 (Semifinal)
McGregor had 2G 2A to send Canada to play for Paralympic gold.