Team Atlantic Announced for 2005 World Under 17 Hockey Challenge
29 novembre 2004

Saint John, NB - Hockey Canada’s Atlantic Centre of Excellence, in conjunction with the four Atlantic Hockey Branches proudly announced on Friday, the players who will make up the 2005 edition of Team Atlantic.

Team Atlantic is comprised of players from each of the four Atlantic Provinces and will represent Atlantic Canada at the 2005 World Under 17 Hockey Challenge, December 26th to January 5th, in Lethbridge, Alberta.

“We are extremely excited to name Team Atlantic for the 2005 World Under 17 Hockey Challenge,” stated Ken Dobson, Director of Operations for Team Atlantic. “The twenty-two players that have been named to the team today will be great ambassadors on and off the ice for Atlantic Canada and I am sure that they will wear the Canadian Jersey with great pride.”

Team Atlantic will be comprised of ten players from Nova Scotia, six players from Newfoundland and Labrador, three players from New Brunswick, and three players from Prince Edward Island.

“We had sixty-seven players attend our Summer Hockey Development Festival this past July at Acadia University in Wolfville and we knew at that time, that we had the makings of a great hockey team,” commented Dave Ritcey, Head Coach for Team Atlantic. “When you have players competing to be a part of Team Atlantic, it makes everyone step their game up to the next level. It was not an easy decision to name the twenty-two players that will make up Team Atlantic, but the staff is confident that we have named the players that will benefit the team the most.”

Team Atlantic will travel to Lethbridge, AB on December 26th. After practicing on December 27th and playing an exhibition game on December 28th, Team Atlantic will play their first tournament game against the Czech Republic at the Enmax Centre on December 30th. Team Atlantic will also face off against Quebec, Team Pacific and Finland in the round robin portion of the event.

“The World Under 17 Hockey Challenge will be a great test for our team, but we are sure that our players will rise to the Challenge and take their game to the next level,” added Ritcey. “Our staff and players have been training and preparing hard for this event and we will ensure that we are ready when the puck drops at the Enmax Centre."

A complete listing of players and staff for Team Atlantic follows below:

1       Scott Fraser    G       Woodstock, NB   Rimouski (QMJHL) / Woodstock (MJAHL)   
30      Roger Kennedy   G       Mount Pearl, NL Halifax Mooseheads (QMJHL)     
2      Andrew Bodnarchuk       D       Hammonds Plains, NS    St. Paul’s School (NE Prep)    
3      Graham Bona     D       Halifax, NS     Rimouski Oceanic (QMJHL)       
4      Josh Day        D       St. John’s, NL Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (OHL)      
5      Alex Grant      D       Antigonish, NS  Antigonish Bulldogs (MJAHL)    
6      Jonathan HartyD       Halifax, NS     Everett Silvertips (WHL)       
7      Sam Hounsell    D       Pound Cove, NL  Victoriaville Tigres (QMJHL)   
8      Mathieu LeblancD       Cap-Pele, NB    Moncton Flyers (NB MAAA)       
9      Josh MacKinnonD       Brackley Beach, PE      Summerside Capitals (MJAHL)    
10     Chris CulliganF       Howie Centre, NS       Cape Breton Screaming Eagles (QMJHL)   
11     Matt Eagles     F       Fredericton, NBSt. Paul’s School (NE Prep)    
12     Matthew FillierF       Pictou County, NS      Pictou County Weeks (NS MAAA)  
14     Blake GallagherF       Cole Harbour, NS        Dartmouth Subways (NS MAAA)    
15     Ryan Hillier    F       Halifax, NS     Halifax Mooseheads (QMJHL)     
16     Logan MacMillanF       Winsloe, PE    ND Midget AAA Hounds (SMAAAHL)
17     Brad Marchand   F       Hammonds Plains, NS     Moncton Wildcats (QMJHL)       
18     Cody Roach      F       Bay Roberts, NL Tri Pen Frost (NLMAAA)
19     James SheppardF       Lower Sackville, NS    Cape Breton Screaming Eagles (QMJHL)   
20     Robert Slaney   F       Upper Island Cove, NL   Tri Pen Frost (NL MAAA)
21     Nathan Snowie   F       Covehead, PE    Cornwall Thunder (PEI MAAA)    
22     Andrew White    F       St. John’s, NL  Pembroke Lumber Kings (CJHL)   


Ken Dobson

Team Atlantic, Director of Operations

(506) 642-0490

Trevor Murphy

General Manager, Team Atlantic

(506) 642-0491

Pour plus d'informations :

Lisa Dornan
Directrice des communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Responsable, communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobil)


Esther Madziya
Coordonnatrice, relations médias
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordonnateur, communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobil)


Coupe Esso 2018 : SAS 3 – LAN 0 (Préliminaire)
Kliewer fait 19 arrêts et les Stars obtiennent un deuxième jeu blanc.
Coupe TELUS 2018 : MAG 4 – MON 1 (Préliminaire)
Poirier a réalisé 35 arrêts, menant les Cantonniers à la victoire.
Coupe Esso 2018 : SAS 5 – BRA 0 (Préliminaire)
Fiala obtient 1B 1A, Ivanco réussit 12 arrêts et les Stars l’emportent.
CMM18 2018 : CAN 5 – SUI 0 (Préliminaire)
Rodrigue réussit 17 arrêts et aide le Canada à blanchir la Suisse.