CHA National Volunteer Award Winners Announced
May 19, 2003

REGINA, SK - On Monday evening, the Canadian Hockey Association handed out its annual awards, recognizing outstanding volunteers and achievements in minor hockey in Canada.

The CHA Award winners were:

Dennis Pottage Regina, SK Gordon Juckes Award (contribution to development of hockey)

Wayne Kartusch Regina, SK Volunteer of the Year Award

Glynis Peters Chelsea, QC Female Breakthrough Award (promotion/contribution to female hockey)

Roger Otteson Edmonton, AB Order of Merit (Western)

Jed Ritcey Truro, NS Order of Merit (Atlantic)

Don Shepherdson New Liskeard, ON Order of Merit (Central)

Todd Jackson Gloucester, ON Hal Lewis Award

Barb Kallay Drumheller, AB Liz McKinnon Award

Dennis Pottage, of Regina, SK, received the Gordon Juckes Award which recognizes the outstanding contribution of an individual to the development of amateur hockey in Canada at the National Level. Pottage was a local official in minor and senior hockey in Saskatchewan for 20 years, a CHA Referee-in-Chief for 10 years, and a member of the CHA’s Referee’s Committee for four years. Pottage has officiated at the World Junior Championship (1986), the Memorial Cup (1980), the Allan Cup, the Hardy Cup, the Centennial Cup and the CIAU National Championship.

Wayne Kartusch, of Regina, QC received the CHA’s Volunteer of the Year Award, which recognizes an outstanding volunteer who has contributed to amateur hockey and the CHA. Kartusch has recently retired after serving as the president of the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League since the 1978-79 season. Kartusch has also held the position of Chairman of Junior Hockey for the Saskatchewan Hockey Association since 1979.

Glynis Peters, of Chelsea, QC, was the recipient of the CHA’s Female Breakthrough Award, which is in honor of an individual who has made a significant contribution to the promotion and/or development of female hockey in Canada. Peters was the Manager of Female Hockey with the CHA between 19. Peters managed the National Championship, the National Team and initiated a number of programs within female hockey, such as the Esso Fun Days, a number of female hockey workshops and the Women’s High Performance Policy Committee.

The CHA Order of Merit Award was instituted in 1960 to "honor those individuals who for many years have served amateur hockey faithfully, having participated as players, served as coaches and association members, and made outstanding contributions to Canadian amateur hockey." The Order of Merit Award is honoured in up to three regions of the country annually: Western, Central and Atlantic. This year’s CHA Order of Merit recipients were Roger Otteson (Western), of Edmonton, AB, Jed Ritcey (Atlantic) of Truro, NS and Don Shepherdson (Central), of New Liskeard, ON.

Otteson has been actively involved in hockey in Alberta since 1988. After five years as director with the Southside Athletic Club, he joined Hockey Alberta as Chief Financial Officer, a position he held for eight years. Otteson was instrumental in recruiting the host bid committee and the Board of Directors that ensured the success of the 1995 World Junior Championship. Otteson continues to contribute, as Treasurer of the Hockey Alberta Foundation and Chair of the Board for Sport Central.

Ritcey served as President of the Nova Scotia Hockey Association from 19. He was elected as an Officer at Large, CHA in 1998, a position he holds to this day, and Ritcey played an active role in the 2003 World Junior Hockey Championship, servingt on the Executive Committee.

Shepherson has been active in amateur hockey for at least half a century, having served in a number of capacities with the New Liskeard Cubs since their very beginnings fifty years ago. Shepherdon has been an assistant coach, head coach, manager and President with the Cubs. In addition to his time with this team, Shepherdson has been an NCCP instructor and a team host during the World Under-17 Challenge.

The Hal Lewis Award went to Todd Jackson, the CHA’s Manager, Risk and Safety Management. The Hal Lewis Award was instituted in honour of Lewis, worked with the CHA for 22 years, most in charge of Rules and Regulations. Lewis passed away in January, 1999. The Hal Lewis Award honours a CHA staff member for outstanding work during the 2002-2003 year.

The Liz MacKinnon Award, in honour of former CHA President Bob MacKinnon's wife, Liz MacKinnon, and recognizes a CHA delegate's companion for his or her support. For 2002-2003, the Award went to Barb Kallay.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 Esso Cup: BRA 5 – NOR 4 SO (Preliminary)
Giaquinto and Gibbons scored in the SO to help the Canadettes survive.
2018 TELUS Cup: MAG 4 – MON 1 (Preliminary)
Poirier made 35 saves to backstop the Cantonniers past the Flyers.
2018 Esso Cup: SAS 3 – LAN 0 (Preliminary)
Kliewer made 19 saves and the Stars earned a second-straight shutout.
2018 TELUS Cup: LET 2 – SUD 1 (Preliminary)
Buchanan and McDowell scored to help the Hurricanes edge the hosts.