CHA's AGM Concludes in Toronto, ON
May 28, 2002

The CHA AGM brings together representation from all 13 CHA member branches who make up the CHA Board of Directors, as well as the various councils of the CHA: Female, Minor, Senior, Hockey Development.

A summary of the decisions approved by the CHA Board of Directors during this year's AGM include:

  1. CHA has adopted a new penalty for the 2002-2003 season that will be enforced at all levels of play within hockey in Canada. The penalty will be ‘checking to the head', and it is hoped that the enforcement of this rule will address and lead to the reduction of concussions in hockey at all levels of play within the CHA.

  2. CHA Board of Directors has agreed to a commitment to long range planning for the organization. Plans will be developed over the next 12 months and presented to the Board as to a planning process and direction for the organization long-term.

  3. CHA Board of Directors has approved the continuation of the body checking pilot, a project that is undertaken by the Ontario Hockey Federation (one of the 13 member branches of the CHA). During the 2002-2003 season, any CHA branch has the option to implement body checking within their Branch, for the age groups of Atom and above.

Bid presentations for the hosting of CHA National events were heard by various CHA Councils during this year's AGM. CHA Councils brought forth recommendations to the CHA Board of Directors for approval. The following CHA National events have been approved by the CHA Board of Directors. All of the following events will be officially announced in each location in August or September, and all are final, subject to event contracts being signed between the CHA and the host committees:

  • 2004 Royal Bank Cup Grande Prairie, AB

  • 2004 Allan Cup St-Georges, QC

  • 2004 Esso Women's Nationals Sherwood Park, AB

  • 2004 Air Canada Cup Not yet approved

The Officers of the Canadian Hockey Association for the 2002-2003 season will be as follows:

Sheldon Lanchbery (Deloraine, MB) - Chair of the Board

Allan Matthews (Williams Lake, BC) - Executive Vice-Chair

Ken Corbett (Carleton Place, ON) - Vice-chair at Large

Rene Marcil (St-Louis-de-France, QC) - Vice-chair at Large

Dr. Allan Morris (Wiarton, ON) - Vice-chair at Large

Jed Ritcey (Truro, NS) - Vice-chair at Large

Marcel Redekop (Herbert, SK) - Vice-chair at Large

Wayne Russell (St. John's, NF) - past chair of the board

Four members of the CHA have left: Gary Mills (Hockey Alberta), Allie Woolridge (PEIHA), Bob Woodward (BCAHA) and Jim Ramsay (Hockey North).

The 84th CHA Annual General Meeting will be held May 16-20, 2003 in Regina, SK.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 PARA: CAN 8 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Armstrong and Bridges scored 2G apiece to send Canada to the SFs.
2018 PARA: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
Delaney had a hat trick and an assist to help Canada shut out Italy.
2018 PARA: CAN 17 – SWE 0 (Preliminary)
McGregor and Dixon had six points each in a Paralympic-opening win.
2018 OLY: CAN 6 – CZE 4 (Bronze Medal)
Ebbett and Kelly scored two goals each to help Canada win bronze.