CHA National Volunteer Award Winners Announced
May 28, 2002

OTTAWA, ON - On Monday evening, the Canadian Hockey Association handed out its annual awards, recognizing outstanding volunteers and achievements in minor hockey in Canada.

The CHA Award winners were:

  • Dr. Wayne Halliwell Montreal, QC Gordon Juckes Award (contribution to development of hockey)

  • Wilson Church Rawdon, QC Volunteer of the Year Award

  • Byron Stephen Calgary, AB Female Breakthrough Award (promotion/contribution to female hockey)

  • Bob MacKinnon Oakville, ON Order of Merit (Central)

  • Denny Deveau Kingston, NS Order of Merit (Atlantic)

Dr. Wayne Halliwell, of Montréal, QC, received the Gordon Juckes Award which recognizes the outstanding contribution of an individual to the development of amateur hockey in Canada at the National Level. Halliwell has worked for 20 years with Canada's National Teams, at World Hockey Championships and World Junior Hockey Championships. He has also been very active in offering workshops to coaches and players over that time.

Wilson Church, of Rawdon, QC received the CHA's Volunteer of the Year Award, which recognizes an outstanding volunteer who has contributed to amateur hockey and the CHA. Church, currently the President of Hockey Quebec, has been involved as a volunteer with hockey for 41 years and has taken on numerous roles during this time, including tournament organizer, instructor, coach, referee and various volunteer positions.

Byron Stephen, of Calgary, AB, was the recipient of the CHA's Female Breakthrough Award, which is in honor of an individual who has made a significant contribution to the promotion and/or development of female hockey in Canada. Stephen was the chairman of the CHA Female Council for four years, and was a key figure in the development of the CHA's Esso Fun Day, a female introduction to hockey program, the CHA Coach Mentorship program and the evolution of the Esso National Women's Hockey Championship.

The CHA Order of Merit Award was instituted in 1960 to "honor those individuals who for many years have served amateur hockey faithfully, having participated as players, served as coaches and association members, and made outstanding contributions to Canadian amateur hockey." The Order of Merit Award is honoured in three regions of the country annually: Western, Central and Atlantic.

This year's CHA Order of Merit recipients were Denny Deveau (Atlantic), of Kingston, NS, and Bob MacKinnon (Central), of Oakville, ON. There were no nominations from the Western region this year. MacKinnon's award came posthumously as the former CHA chairman passed away earlier this year. McKinnon was the CHA's Chairman from 19, after serving in numerous capacities at a local, provincial and national level. McKinnon was a founding member of the Oakville Junior Hockey Club in 1966, a member of the OHA Board of Directors from 19 and the director of the Canadian Amateur Hockey Association from 19. He was the recipient of the Ontario Government's Volunteer of the Year Award and also recipient of an IIHF Recognition/Achievement Award in 1986.

Deveau has been very actively involved in the Nova Scotia branch since 1984, serving as Referee-in-Chief, president of the Nova Scotia Midget AAA Hockey League, and president of Hockey Nova Scotia since 1998. Deveau is the vice-chair of the 2003 World Junior Hockey Championship Host Organizing Committee.

The Hal Lewis Award went to Paul Delparte, the CHA's Vice-president, Finance, who has been with the CHA for 22 years. The Hal Lewis Award was instituted in honour of Lewis, worked with the CHA for 22 years, most in charge of Rules and Regulations. Lewis passed away in January, 1999. The Hal Lewis Award honours a CHA staff member for outstanding work during the 2001-2002 year.

The Liz MacKinnon Award, in honour of former CHA President Bob MacKinnon's wife, Liz MacKinnon, and recognizes a CHA delegate's companion for his or her support. For 2001-2002, the Award went to Nancy Russell.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017 4NC: CAN 1 – USA 5 (Gold medal game)
Meghan Agosta cut the lead in half, but USA overcame Canada 5-1.
2017 U17: CZE 2 – CAN-W 1 (Bronze)
Toman and Teply scored the goals to give the Czechs the bronze medal.
2017 U17: USA 6 – CAN-R 4 (Gold Medal)
Hughes had four points to lead the U.S. to its fifth U17 gold medal.
2017 U17: RUS 5 – FIN 4 (5th Place)
Ilya Safonov and Egor Afansyev had a goal and an assist each, and the Russians earned fifth place.