Six Players Added to Men's World Hockey Championship Roster
March 28, 2001

CALGARY, AB - Executive Director Wayne Gretzky, Assistant Executive Director Lanny McDonald and Head Coach Wayne Fleming announced Thursday six players that will represent Canada at the 2001 IIHF World Hockey Championship, April 28 - May 13, 2001 in Germany.

The six players, one defenseman and five forwards, announced by the CHA are: Jeff Friesen from the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim, Jarome Iginla and Derek Morris from the Calgary Flames, Vincent Lecavalier and Brad Richards from the Tampa Bay Lightning and Steve Sullivan of the Chicago Blackhawks. Canada's roster now stands at seven players, after naming forward Mike Peca last week.

"We are very excited with the calibre of players we are announcing today - we are going to Germany with one goal: to win a gold medal for Canada. The response that we have been receiving from players has been tremendous, " said Lanny McDonald, Assistant Executive Director. "We will continue to monitor the NHL playoff situation very closely, and look forward to naming additional players to our roster next week."

Four of the seven NHL players have World Championship experience, including Iginla (1997), Friesen three times (1999, 19), Morris (1999) and Sullivan (2000). Five of the players have represented Canada in past World Junior Hockey Championships (Friesen, Iginla, Lecavalier, Richards, Peca).

Canada won two gold medals in the 1990's at the World Hockey Championship - 1994 and again in 1997. Canada finished fourth last year at Men's World Hockey Championship in St.Petersburg, Russia, and fourth in 1999 in Norway, losing in a shootout to the eventual World Champions from the Czech Republic during the semi-final.

Canada's first game at the 2001 IIHF World Hockey Championship will take place in Hanover, Germany on April 28 versus Norway. This year's World Championship in Germany will be played in three locations: Hanover, Cologne and Nurnberg, with Canada based in Hanover.

Jeff Friesen
F/A L/G 6'00 205 08/05/76
Meadow Lake, SK Anaheim (NHL)

Jarome Iginla
F/A R/D 6'01 202 07/01/77
Edmonton, AB Calgary (NHL)

Vincent Lecavalier
F/A L/G 6'04 180 04/21/80
Île-Bizard, QC Tampa Bay (NHL)

Derek Morris
D R/D 5'11 200 08/24/78
Edmonton, AB Calgary (NHL)

Michael Peca
F/A R/D 5'11 190 03/26/74
Toronto, ON

Brad Richards
F/A L/G 6'01 187 05/02/80
Montague, PEI Tampa Bay (NHL)

Steve Sullivan
F/A R/D 5'09 160 07/06/74
Timmins, ON Chicago (NHL)

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017 MWC: SWE 2 – CAN 1 (SO) (Gold medal)
Pickard made 40 saves, but Canada settled for silver at the worlds.
2017 RBC: COB 3 – BRO 2 OT (Championship)
Minerva was the OT hero, giving the Cougars a home-ice RBC Cup title.
2017 RBC Cup: COB 3 – PEN 1 (Semifinal)
Lewis got the GWG with 8:05 left, sending the Cougars to the final.
2017 MWC: CAN 4 – RUS 2 (Semifinal)
Canada erased a two-goal deficit to advance to the gold medal game.