Flin Flon, Manitoba Prepares to Host The 2001 Royal Bank Cup, Canada's National Junior "A" Championship
March 9, 2001

FLIN FLON, MB - The city of Flin Flon, Manitoba is in its final preparations as host of the National Junior "A" Hockey Championship, the Royal Bank Cup.

From May 5th through May 13th, Flin Flon will host Canada's premier Junior "A" teams as they battle for the Royal Bank Cup. This marks the second time that Manitoba has hosted the National Junior A Championship. In 1992, Winnipeg, MB hosted the then Centennial Cup Championship, won that year by Thunder Bay Flyers.

"The community of Flin Flon has been anticipating this event for four (4) years now," said Ron Watt, co-chairman of the Host Committee. "This will be even more than a National Championship. It will be a community festival with numerous activities happening throughout the week. The arena will be packed for each and every game as we only have standing room tickets available."

Teams from across Canada are currently vying to advance to the Royal Bank Cup by winning their respective leagues, and regional playdowns.

The 2001 Royal Bank Cup marks the sixth year of Royal Bank's involvement in Junior "A" hockey and the 31st National Junior A Championship.

"The staff at the Royal Bank in Flin Flon are very excited about this upcoming event," said Jeff Daly, Manager of the Royal Bank branch in Flin Flon. "We wish good luck to all the junior teams trying to make it to the National Championship and look forward to Canada's best Junior A teams in Flin Flon."

The final game of the championship will be on TSN/RDS, the Royal Bank Cup's official broadcaster, coast-to-coast, on Sunday, at 3:00 pm local time (time subject to change)

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017 HCF: Hitting the links for hockey
Hitting the links for hockey
2017 HCF: Canadian hockey comes together at gala
A who's-who of hockey, including the Order of Hockey in Canada honourees, members of Canada's gold medal-winning National Sledge Team and Team Canada alumni.
2017 NST: Gangneung gold celebrated in Saskatoon
Gangneung gold celebrated in Saskatoon
2017 OHC: 2017 recipients honoured at HCF gala
2017 OHC recipients honoured at HCF gala