National Junior Team Releases Final Four Players
December 18, 2000

NORTH YORK, ON - Canada's National Junior Team has finalized it's roster for the 2001 World Junior Hockey Championship, releasing four players: goaltender Pascal Leclaire, defenceman Luke Sellars and forwards Kris Beech and Krys Kolanos, Head Coach Stan Butler announced Monday morning.

The four players were returned to their respective teams: Leclaire to the Halifax Mooseheads of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, Sellars to the Ottawa 67's of the Ontario Hockey League, Beech to the Calgary Hitmen of the Western Hockey League and Kolanos to the Boston College Eagles of the NCAA.

The roster deletions are the final ones and reduced the National Junior Team Selection Camp roster to 22 players. The 2001 World Junior Hockey Championship will be held in Russia from December 26, 2000 - January 5, 2001.

Canada's 2001 National Junior Team will be made available for media at 10:30 am at the Beatrice Ice Gardens.

Butler (Brampton Battalion, OHL) and assistant coaches Kevin Dickie (Saskatoon Blades, OHL) and Mike Kelly (North Bay Centennials, OHL), along with Barry Trapp, Canadian Hockey's Director of Scouting, have been evaluating the players through daily work-outs, two inter-squad games and two games against a team of Ontario University All-Stars.

Sunday night, Canada defeated the Ontario University All-Stars 6-5 in a shootout. Dany Heatley, Jamie Lundmark, Kris Beech, Mike Cammalleri and Jarret Stoll scored for Canada in regulation time. Jason Spezza and Heatley scored in the shootout on teammate Alex Auld, who was in net for the Ontario All-Stars, while Pascal Leclaire made four saves. During regulation, Auld faced 42 shots and allowed 5 goals while Leclaire also allowed five goals on 21 shots.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 Esso Cup: BRA 5 – NOR 4 SO (Preliminary)
Giaquinto and Gibbons scored in the SO to help the Canadettes survive.
2018 TELUS Cup: MAG 4 – MON 1 (Preliminary)
Poirier made 35 saves to backstop the Cantonniers past the Flyers.
2018 Esso Cup: SAS 3 – LAN 0 (Preliminary)
Kliewer made 19 saves and the Stars earned a second-straight shutout.
2018 TELUS Cup: LET 2 – SUD 1 (Preliminary)
Buchanan and McDowell scored to help the Hurricanes edge the hosts.