22nd Air Canada Cup Midget Championship Set for Montreal
April 20, 2000

CALGARY, AB - Montreal, QC will play host to the 22nd edition of the Air Canada Cup, Canada's National Midget Hockey Championship, from April 24-30, with the gold medal final game being televised nationally on TSN and on RDS.

Six teams are taking part in this years tournament: Les Cantonniers de Magog from Quebec region, the Saskatoon (SK) Contacts from the Western region, the St. John's (NF) Maple Leafs from the Atlantic region, the Richmond Hill (ON) Stars from the Central region, the Fort Saskatchewan (AB) Rangers from the Pacific region and the host team, Collège français du Montréal-Bourassa.

The teams will play round-robin games on April 24-28 with the top four teams qualifying for the playoff round. The crossover games (first against fourth, second against third) will be held on April 29th, with the Bronze and Gold medal games scheduled for April 30th. All games will be played at the Maurice-Richard Arena. The six teams will be wearing jerseys and socks courtesy of Bauer NIKE Hockey, while all helmets, facial protection and neck protectors are provided by ITECH.

The Gold medal game will be played at 7 pm EDT on Sunday, April 30 and will be broadcast live across Canada on TSN and on RDS.

The individuals selected as the Player-of-the-Game from each team after every game in the tournament receive Player-of-the-Game medallions compliments of Air Canada Those chosen for the Player-of-the-Game awards in the championship final will receive Esquire watches, in addition to the individual award medallions.

Based on their individual performances during the four-day round-robin section of the 2000 Air Canada Cup, six individual player awards will be presented.

The player judged by an independent panel as the outstanding performer will receive the Air Canada Cup Most Valuable Player Trophy. He will also receive a $1,000 college scholarship from Air Canada for future use at an institution of higher learning of his choice. Completing his MVP award package will be an ITECH equipment bag, and a sportwear package, compliments of ITECH Sports Products Inc.

The other individual awards include the Air Canada Cup top scorer, best goaltender, most outstanding forward, best defenceman and most sportsmanlike player. Each player will receive a 2000 Air Canada Cup Trophy and a sports package courtesy of ITECH Sports Products Inc. for their accomplishments.

One player at the Air Canada Cup will receive a $1,000 Esso Kids Scholarship Award. Selections will be made with input from coaches, team and championship organizers and educators, with the major consideration being academic excellence.

For any ticket information, contact the 514-872-1997. For media requests, please call the 2000 Air Canada Cup Media Centre or 1-514-252-5064

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017-18 NWT: CAN 9 – AIR 1 (Exhibition)
Saulnier and Johnston had 2G each to help Canada win its Esso opener.
2017-18 NWT: NOR 4 – CAN 0 (Icebreaker)
Lacasse made 22 saves, but Canada was blanked in the tournament final.
2017-18 NWT: CAN 3 – ROY 1 (Icebreaker)
Poulin scored twice in the third period to send Canada to the win.
2017-18 NWT: CAN 4 – FLA 1 (Icebreaker)
Saulnier got the GWG to lead Canada to its first Icebreaker victory.