Team Canada Names 12 NHL Players to Roster For 2000 Men's World Hockey Championship
April 14, 2000

CALGARY, AB - Cliff Fletcher, General Manager of Team Canada for the 2000 Men's World Hockey Championship, today announced a list of 12 NHL players that will compete for Canada at the Men's World Championship, April 29 to May 14 in St. Petersburg, Russia.

National Hockey League players that will be representing Canada at the World Championship are:

Jose Theodore G Laval, QC Montreal Canadiens
Adrian Aucoin D Ottawa, ON Vancouver Canucks
Patrice Brisebois D Montreal, QC Montreal Canadiens
Ed Jovanovski D Windsor, ON Vancouver Canucks
Robyn Regehr D Rosthern, SK Calgary Flames
Todd Bertuzzi F Sudbury, ON Vancouver Canucks
Andrew Cassels F Bramalea, ON Vancouver Canucks
Brad Isbister F Edmonton, AB New York Islanders
Mike Johnson F Scarborough, ON Tampa Bay Lightning
Dean McAmmond F Grand Cache, AB Chicago Blackhawks
Brendan Morrison F Pitt Meadows, BC Vancouver Canucks
Steve Sullivan F Timmins, ON Chicago Blackhawks

"We are very pleased with the first group of players that have committed to play for their country for this year's World Championship, " said Cliff Fletcher, GM of Team Canada. " We will continue to monitor the NHL playoff situation, and will add players to our roster over the next ten days."

Four of the NHL players have World Championship experience (Aucoin, Jovanovski, Bertuzzi, Cassels) while 7 of these 12 players have represented Canada at the World Junior Hockey Championship (Theodore, Aucoin, Brisebois, Jovanovski, Regehr, Cassels, Isbister)

Canada won two gold medals in the 1990's, in 1994 and again in 1997. At the 1999 Men's World Hockey Championship in Norway, Canada finished 4th, losing in a shootout to the eventual World Champions from the Czech Republic during the semi-final.

The team will get together in Toronto on Thursday, April 20th for a three day camp at the Beatrice Ice Gardens at York University. The team will depart Canada on Saturday, April 22nd for St. Petersburg, Russia.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017-18 NWT: NOR 4 – CAN 2 (Icebreaker)
Daoust and Spooner scored, but Canada dropped its tournament opener.
2017-18 NST: WHT 3 – RED 2 (Intrasquad)
Delaney scored a pair of special-teams goals to help White edge Red.
2017-18 NST: WHT 2 – KOR 0 (Exhibition)
White blanks Korea at sledge camp
2017-18 NST: RED 4 – KOR 1 (Exhibition)
Red starts sledge camp with win