Esso Women's National Hockey Championship Set to Begin March 8th, 2000 in Sydney, Nova Scotia
March 6, 2000

SYDNEY, NS - Ten provinces will be competing at the 19th annual Esso Women's National Hockey Championship beginning Wednesday, March 8th running through Sunday, March 12th in Sydney, Nova Scotia.

The annual Esso Women's Nationals is jointly presented by the Canadian Hockey Association, the Nova Scotia Amateur Hockey Association, and the premier sponsors of the CHA: Esso, Air Canada, NIKE and Royal Bank.

Pool A brings together the defending champion Équipe Québec along with Team New Brunswick, the Brittania Blues (British Columbia), the Manitoba Storm and Team Nova Scotia Pool B brings together the Oval X-Treme (AB), the North York Beatrice Aeros (Ontario), Humpty-Dumpty Crunch (Prince Edward Island), Team Saskatchewan and Team Newfoundland.

The 1999 Esso Women's Nationals will feature 13 members of Canada's National Women's Team which will be taking part in the 2000 IIHF World Women's Hockey Championship April 3-9 in Mississauga, ON. Seven players from Team Canada's Silver medal winning entry at the 1998 Nagano Winter Olympics will also be taking part. The Championship will also showcase 12 members of Canada's Under 22 National Team from the Four Nations Tournament in February 2000.

"Since their inception in 1982, the Esso Women's Nationals have played a major role in the promotion and development of female hockey throughout Canada and the world," said Bob Nicholson, President of the Canadian Hockey Association. "These players have brought credibility to hockey and serve as positive role models to youngsters who play for fun and excellence."

The 2000 Esso Women's Nationals champion will be determined after five days and 29 games of competition played at the Centre 200 Arena and the Centennial Arena. The Championship game will be played at 8 pm on March 12th and televised live on The Sports Network and their French counterpart, Le Reseau des Sports.

Tickets for all games are available at all Royal Bank outlets in Sydney, NS.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 Esso Cup: SAS 3 – LAN 0 (Preliminary)
Kliewer made 19 saves and the Stars earned a second-straight shutout.
2018 TELUS Cup: MAG 4 – MON 1 (Preliminary)
Poirier made 35 saves to backstop the Cantonniers past the Flyers.
2018 U18WC: CAN 5 – SUI 0 (Preliminary)
Rodrigue made 17 saves to lead Canada to help Canada blank the Swiss.
2018 Esso Cup: STA 3 – LAN 2 SO (Preliminary)
Hewett scored late to tie it, and the Slash earned an extra-time win.