Alberta Downs Ontario 3-2 in Overtime in Gold Medal Final to Win 1998 Esso Women's Nationals Hockey Championship
March 21, 1998

CALGARY -- Dana Antal's second goal of the game at 5:31 of a 10-minute overtime period lifted Alberta to a 3-2 victory over Ontario in the Gold Medal final game of the 1998 Esso Women's National Hockey Championship on Sunday.

Antal chipped a centring pass from Jennifer Botterill past goalie Jennifer Dewar, sending a crowd of 1,500 peopld at the Max Bell Arena into ecstasy. The victory for Team Alberta, represented by the Calgary Oval X-Time, was the second straight Canadian title for an Alberta team. Last year, the Edmonton Chimos represented Alberta and won the national title.

Alberta won the Abby Hoffman Trophy as the National Champion, while Ontario, represented by the Beatrice Aeros of North York, claimed the Fran Rider Cup and Quebec, the bronze medal winners take home the Maureen McTeer Trophy.

The game was scoreless after one period, but Alberta, represented by the Calgary Oval X- Treme, jumped to a 2-0 second period lead. Dana Antal was the offensive catalyst. She scored the first goal of the game at 1:29 of the middle period and helped set up Alberta's second goal by Hayley Wickenheiser at 4:10. But Ontario battled back to tie before the period ended. Cyndy Cryderman tipped a low, hard shot from the blueline by defenceman Becky Kellar past Alberta goaltender Lorenda Beuker. Amy Turek scored the equalizer at 18:48 of the period, finishing off some fine work by Amanda Benoit by chipping a loose puck past Beuker.

In the Bronze-medal game, tournament Most Valuable Player France St-Louis scored once and added two assists to pace Team Quebec. Caroline Ouellette also had a goal and two assists, while Nancy Deschamps and Cindy Francoeur added singles.

Tamara Pickford and Judy Diduck scored the goals for the Host team, the Edmonton Chimos, the defending champions.

In the game to determine fifth and sixth place, Therese Brisson, who was named the Best Defenceman in the tournament, paced New Brunswick with a goal and an assist as they defeated Saskatchewan 4-3. Stacy Wilson had a pair of goals for New Brunswick, while Rebecca Fahey added a single. Brandy West scored twice for Saskatchewan, while Sarah Howard had the other goal.

Other award winners in the 10-team tournament included Colette Prefontaine of the Edmonton Chimos who was named the Best Goaltender and Ontario's Benoit, who ws named the Best Forward.
Antal of Alberta was named the Most Sportsmanlike Players, while Prince Edward earned the Most Sportsmanlike Team award.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017 U17: BLU 6 – RED 1 (Game 1)
Aidan Prueter scored twice and added an assist, Joe Caroll had a goal and two helpers and Blue pulled away in the final 18 minutes to open Canada’s national under-17 development camp with a convincing victory over Red.
2017 U17: WHT 3 – GRN 2 SO (Game 2)
Graeme Clarke scored the lone goal in the shootout, Taylor Gauthier turned away all five shooters he faced, and White erased an early deficit to edge Green in extra time at Canada’s national under-17 development camp.
2017 U17: GLD 2 – BLK 1 (Game 3)
Jonathan Lemieux and Ethan Fitzgerald combined for 29 saves and Logan Chisholm scored both goals, helping Gold edge Black 2-1 to finish the first day of games at Canada’s national under-17 development camp.
2017 HCF: Hitting the links for hockey
Hitting the links for hockey