2010 Esso Cup

Edmonton Thunder  5 -  Regina Rebels  1


REGINA, Sask. – Defenceman Brittany MacDougall (Regina, Sask.) may have scored the first goal of the bronze medal matchup on Saturday, but it would be the host team’s last goal of the game – and final goal of the Esso Cup – as it didn’t take long for Pacific representatives the Edmonton Thunder to make an impressive comeback.

2010 Esso Cup Media Gallery

MacDougall put the Regina Rebels up 1-0 midway through the first, but the Thunder started rumbling at 16:39 in the period, when Kirsten Reeves (Edmonton, Alta.) capitalized on a power play by skating hard around the Rebels net and flipping the puck into the corner on a wraparound.

From there, things got dark and stormy inside the Co-operators Centre, with pacific reps the Edmonton Thunder snagging another couple of markers before time in the first was up. Arden Cowley (Edmonton, Alta.) was able to poke the puck in at 17:55 with assistance from Cassidy Delaney (Edmonton, Alta.) and Jessica Sekulic (Edmonton, Alta.), while Caitlin Connell (Edmonton, Alta.) made it 3-1 for the Thunder with just 30 seconds left in the period.

The Rebels were able to keep the Thunder at bay throughout the second, but the storm over Regina picked up again in the third, with Sekulic securing her second point and Edmonton’s fourth goal at 8:15 in the period. A power play ensured bronze medals for the Pacific reps, with Reeves pocketing her second point and second goal of the game at 18:16.

Sekulic received bronze medal Player of the Game honours on behalf of the Edmonton Thunder, while Paige Anakaer (Moose Jaw, Sask.) received that final 2010 Esso Cup honour for the Regina Rebels.


Game Information
Game Number 18  Round Bronze Medal
Arena Co-operators Centre at Evraz Place City, Country Regina, Sask., Canada
Month / Day / Year 04/24/2010 Time (local) 10:00 AM CT
Attendance Game Status Final

Box Score   1     2     3  Total
Edmonton Thunder (PAC) 3 0 25
Regina Rebels (HST)1001
First Period
   10:35 HST 17 Brittany MacDougall (3 Brooklyn Moskowy)
   16:39 PAC 21 Kirsten Reeves (3 Julia Murrell) PP
   17:55 PAC 15 Arden Cowley (12 Cassidy Delainey, 9 Jessica Sekulic)
   19:36 PAC 10 Caitlin Connell (11 Riana Magee, 12 Cassidy Delainey)

   15:02 HST 17 Brittany MacDougall (Hooking)

Second Period

   12:02 PAC 2 Laura Bennett (Hooking)

Third Period
   08:15 PAC 9 Jessica Sekulic (22 Alison Campbell, 17 Rachel Johnson)
   18:16 PAC 21 Kirsten Reeves (3 Julia Murrell, 19 Carmanah Hunter) PP

   10:24 HST 8 Melissa Folk (Holding)
   14:19 PAC 21 Kirsten Reeves (Roughing)
   16:59 HST 8 Melissa Folk (Hooking)
   18:29 HST 24 Andrea Ehrmantraut (Roughing)

Edmonton Thunder
35 Emma Cooley On 1/00:00   Off 3/20:00
Regina Rebels
1 Samantha Langford On 1/00:00   Off 3/20:00

Shots on Goal   1     2     3   Total
Edmonton Thunder1381637
Regina Rebels58619

Player of Game
Edmonton Thunder 9 Jessica Sekulic
Regina Rebels 11 Paige Anakaer
Referee Ashley Desjardins
Lines People Amanda Verishine, Kari Laborde
Goal Judge Al Schaefer, Glen Albert