2010 RBC Cup

Vernon Vipers  8 -  Dauphin Kings  1


DAUPHIN, Man. – The winners, and still national Junior A champions, the Vernon Vipers.

Dylan Walchuk, Kellen Jones and Cole Ikkala scored goals in a span of 48 seconds early in the second period, turning a 1-0 Vernon lead into a 4-0 advantage as the Vipers earned their record sixth national title, and second in a row, with an 8-1 rout of the Dauphin Kings on Sunday afternoon.

Vernon added the 2010 crown to titles won in 1990, 1991, 1996, 1999 and 2009, putting it two ahead of the Prince Albert Raiders (1977, 1979, 1981, 1982), who are the only other team to win at least four. It also become the first team to win back-to-back championships since the Vernon Lakers in 1990 and 1991.

The first period was all Vipers, as they peppered Kings netminder Joe Caligiuri with 16 shots in the opening 20 minutes, but the only goal they could muster came off the stick of Cory Kane, who snapped a shot past the glove of Caligiuri at 14:28.

The tournament hosts tried valiantly to tie the game early in the second period, but both Steven Shamanski and Shane Luke were turned away point-blank by Vernon goaltender Graeme Gordon, who stood tall when it mattered – allowing only one goal in two playoff-round games.

Walchuk got the three-goal spurt started at 6:28, beating Caligiuri off the left wing on a two-on-one, Jones made it 3-0 at 7:07, batting a puck out of mid-air, and Ikkala pushed the lead to four at 7:16, scoring on another two-on-one, this time off the right wing.

Bryce Lamb ended Gordon’s bid for his second consecutive shutout with a power play goal midway through the middle frame, but Patrick McGillis tapped home a Walchuk rebound before the horn sounded to restore Vernon’s four-goal lead after 40 minutes.

With the result all but decided, the Vipers added three more in the third period – Sahir Gill made it 6-1 before Jones and Garrett Noonan rounded out the scoring with power play goals in the final six-and-a-half minutes.

The Vipers will try to become the first team ever to win three consecutive National Junior A Championships at the 2011 RBC Cup, which will be held next May in Camrose, Alta.  


Game Information
Game Number 13  Round Championship
Arena Credit Union Place City, Country Dauphin, Man., Canada
Month / Day / Year 05/09/2010 Time (local) 02:00 PM CT
Attendance 2260 Game Status Final

Box Score   1     2     3   Total
Vernon Vipers (PAC) 1 4 3 8
Dauphin Kings (HST) 0 1 0 1
First Period
   14:28 PAC 11 Cory Kane (28 Adam Thompson)


Second Period
   06:28 PAC 9 Dylan Walchuk (19 Jonathan Milhouse)
   07:07 PAC 15 Kellen Jones (10 Connor Jones)
   07:16 PAC 12 Cole Ikkala (21 Kevin Kraus)
   10:01 HST 12 Bryce Lamb (24 Ryan Dreger) PP
   12:56 PAC 29 Patrick McGillis (9 Dylan Walchuk)

   08:14 PAC Team (Too Many Men)
   10:05 PAC 17 Sahir Gill (High Sticking)
   18:33 HST 3 Dallas Drysdale (Interference)

Third Period
   03:32 PAC 17 Sahir Gill (15 Kellen Jones, 28 Adam Thompson)
   13:37 PAC 15 Kellen Jones (17 Sahir Gill) PP
   17:49 PAC 3 Garrett Noonan PP

   11:09 HST 16 Devin Mitzner (Roughing)
   11:09 PAC 9 Dylan Walchuk (Holding)
   12:44 HST 18 Mitch Czibere (Tripping)
   16:39 HST 13 Travis Cech (10-Minute Misconduct)
   16:39 HST 14 Cody Esposito (10-Minute Misconduct)
   16:39 HST 14 Cody Esposito (Slashing)

Vernon Vipers
35 Graeme Gordon On 1/00:00   Off 3/20:00
Dauphin Kings
35 Joe Caligiuri On 1/00:00   Off 3/20:00

Shots on Goal   1     2     3   Total
Vernon Vipers 16 13 7 36
Dauphin Kings 9 8 7 24

Player of Game
Vernon Vipers 15 Kellen Jones
Dauphin Kings 12 Bryce Lamb
Referee Trevor Hansen
Lines People Sheldon Penner, Dustin Deck