2009 RBC Cup

Humboldt Broncos  0 -  Vernon Vipers  2


VICTORIA, B.C. – The Drive for Five is complete – the Vernon Vipers are Canada’s first five-time national Junior A champions.

Andrew Hammond turned aside 27 shots for the shutout and Braden Pimm’s second-period power play goal stood up as the game-winner as the Vipers blanked the Humboldt Broncos 2-0 on Sunday afternoon to win the 2009 RBC Cup.

2009 RBC Cup Photo Gallery

Post-game audio: PAC - Mark Ferner | WST - Dean Brockman

Despite losing captain Steve Crowell and top-six forward Ryan Santana – both to checking-from-behind majors – the Vipers passed the Prince Albert Raiders as the winningest Junior A franchise, their title in Victoria joining ones won in 1990, 1991, 1996 and 1999.

After a scoreless first period the Vipers struck first just shy of the 13-minute mark of the second, as Pimm crashed the net and popped the puck over Humboldt Mathieu LaRochelle for a 1-0 advantage.

Bigos capped off an MVP tournament with an MVP-style goal late in the third, undressing three Broncos and tucking the puck around LaRochelle for the insurance marker. The six-foot-five defenceman stepped up his game after the loss of Crowell late in the first period, showing why he was the tournament’s Top Defenceman.

Hammond was at his best in the second period, making 13 saves as Humboldt swarmed the Vernon net looking for the game’s first goal. He was a deserving winner of his team’s Player of the Game award, as was LaRochelle, who took home the honour after a 22-save performance.


Game Information
Game Number 13  Round Championship
Arena Bear Mountain Arena City, Country Victoria, B.C., Canada
Month / Day / Year 05/10/2009 Time (local) 04:30 PM PT
Attendance 1917 Game Status Final

Box Score   1     2     3   Total
Humboldt Broncos (WST) 0 0 0 0
Vernon Vipers (PAC) 0 1 1 2
First Period

   07:43 PAC 7 Cameron Brodie (Hooking)
   13:58 WST 20 Matthew Kirzinger (Checking from Behind)
   13:58 WST 20 Matthew Kirzinger (Game Misconduct)
   19:31 PAC 18 Chris Crowell (Game Misconduct)
   19:31 PAC 18 Chris Crowell (Checking from Behind)

Second Period
   12:33 PAC 14 Braden Pimm (11 Cory Kane, 2 Kevin Kraus) PP

   09:56 PAC 27 Ryan Santana (Checking from Behind)
   09:56 PAC 27 Ryan Santana (Game Misconduct)
   11:19 WST 5 Brady Wacker (Roughing After Whistle)

Third Period
   14:00 PAC 3 Kyle Bigos (15 Kellen Jones, 10 Connor Jones) PP

   01:04 WST 26 Shawn Hunter (Hooking)
   05:44 WST 27 Nick Kalnicki (Charging)
   12:48 WST 27 Nick Kalnicki (Cross Checking)
   15:12 WST 23 Tory Allan (Roughing)
   15:12 PAC 17 Sahir Gill (Roughing)
   19:50 PAC 3 Kyle Bigos (Hooking)

Humboldt Broncos
31 Mathieu Larochelle On 1/00:00   Off 3/18:58
Vernon Vipers
1 Andrew Hammond On 1/00:00   Off 3/20:00

Shots on Goal   1     2     3   Total
Humboldt Broncos 9 13 5 27
Vernon Vipers 12 7 5 24

Player of Game
Humboldt Broncos 31 Mathieu Larochelle
Vernon Vipers 1 Andrew Hammond
Referee Nathan Wieler
Lines People Trent Knorr, Nathan Van Oosten
Goal Judge Rob Collier, Andre Ooievaar