2004 RBC Cup

Central 7 - East 2
Game 13
May 15, 2004
Grande Prairie, AB

The championship final featured the surprising Kindersley Klippers up against the experienced Aurora Tigers. After upsetting the host Grande Prairie Storm 4-3 one night earlier, the Kindersley players had less than 20 hours of rest before they had to face off against the well-rested Tigers, who dumped the Nepean Raiders 7-2 during semifinal Saturday’s afternoon game. "We’re playing on TSN," said Kindersley’s Casey Lee, who scored the game-winning goal against the Storm with 35.5 seconds left in the game. "That’s the No. 1 think in all of our heads." With a sold-out crowd and a national audience tuned in to watch the game, the Aurora Tigers scored two goals in a span of 1:06 to jump out to an early lead. Francis Walker one-timed in a perfect pass from Sean Scully at 8:19 of the first before defenceman Mike Kostka beat Kindersley goalie Kevin Dziaduck with a long wrist shot 66 seconds later. The Tigers then went up 3-0 when Jesse Olden batted in a rebound at 12:38 of the opening frame. The Klippers hit the scoresheet with 4:17 left in the period when Jason Fleck snuck a bad angle shot past Aurora netminder Chris Whitley with traffic in front of the net. But the Tigers regained their three-goal cushion when Scully banked a shot in off of a Kindersley defenceman at the 19:00 minute mark of the first. In the second, the Klippers tried to switch the momentum by replacing Dziaduck in net with Nathan Deobald. But the Tigers kept pressing and increased their lead to 7-1 on a pair of second period power-play goals by Andrew Hotham and Walker and an even-strength marker off the stick of Michael Tonelli. After the teams battled to a scoreless final frame, the Tigers jumped onto the ice to celebrate their 7-1 victory. They wound up outshooting the Klippers 57-22 in the game. With the win, the Tigers became the first-ever team from the Ontario Provincial Junior Hockey League to win the RBC Royal Bank Cup. The last time an Ontario-based team won the national title was when the Thunder Bay Flyers of the United States Hockey League captured the title in 1992 when it was known as the Centennial Cup.

Box Score CEN
Compte EST

First Period/Première période

Central Scoring
1, Bahen, (2) (Walker, Aitken), 05:49
1, Walker, (4) (Bahen), 16:44
East Scoring
1, Bell, (1) (Beynon, Clitsome), 12:37 (PP)

Central Penalties
1 - Gilbert, 11:40 - Holding, 2min (PP)
1 - Scully, 14:33 - Roughing, 2min (PP)
East Penalties
1 - Bailey, 7:25 - High Sticking, 2min (PP)
1 - Bailey, 7:25 - High Sticking, 2min (PP)

Second Period/Deuxième période

Central Scoring
2, Joslin, (1) (Scully), 02:51
2, Walker, (5) (Brenner, Bahen), 14:36
2, Minchella, (1) (Aitken), 18:21
East Scoring
2, Sarazin, (4) (Cowie, Novosad), 11:59

Central Penalties
2 - BENCH, 8:01 - Too Many Men, 2min (PP)
East Penalties
2 - Piaskoski, 9:43 - Tripping, 2min (PP)
2 - Stephenson, 19:19 - Roughing, 2min (PP)

Third Period/Troisième période

Central Scoring
3, Scully, (4) , 04:52 (PP)
3, Kitchen, (3) (Hotham, Mignardi), 08:26

Central Penalties
3 - Olden, 4:52 - Roughing, 2min (PP)
East Penalties
3 - Robichaud, 4:03 - Elbowing, 2min (PP)

Goaltenders CEN Whitley, Chris
Gardiennes de but EST O'Keefe, Mitch Dams, Ian (37:09)

Shots on Goal Team

1 p

2 p

3 p


Shots on Goal CEN





Tirs au but EST





Referee/Arbitre Mark MacIsaac
Linesmen/Juges des lignes Chris Carlson, Matt Beaudry

Attendance/Assistance 2576
For more information:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services