Hockey Canada Awards

Outstanding Volunteer Award

The Hockey Canada Outstanding Volunteer Award annually recognizes an outstanding volunteer who has contributed to amateur hockey and Hockey Canada. Volunteer service may include years of participation, administration, contribution, innovation or the advancement of amateur hockey through media coverage. The Outstanding Volunteer Award is presented to an individual who has dedicated himself/herself to the ideals of Hockey Canada, who has worked tirelessly for the improvement of the Association and who has had a notable impact on the game.

Year Award Winner Hometown
2023 Bob Caldwell Deloraine, Man.
2022 Pierre Verville Anjou, Que.
2021 John Neville Markham, Ont.
2020 Sam Ciccolini Vaughan, Ont.
2019 Larry Gould Schomberg, Ont.
2018 Gerry Taylor Mount Pearl, N.L.
2017 Denis Baillairge Laval, Que.
2016 Gilles Cormier Shippagan, N.-B.
2015 Ed Wahl Scarborough, Ont.
2014 Nancy Wilson London, Ont.
2013 Annie Orton Blairmore, Alta.
2012 Gord Hughes Mississauga, Ont.
2011 Terry Engen Edmonton, Alta.
2010 André Ricard Trois-Rivières, Que.
2009 Bob Clark Carstairs, Alta.
2008 George Kallay Drumheller, Alta.
2007 Al Hubbs Indian Head, Sask.
2006 Sharon McMahon Thunder Bay, Ont.
2005 Jim Kinkley Richmond Hill, Ont.
2004 Wade Taylor Truro, N.S.
2003 Wayne Kartusch Regina, Sask.
2002 Wilson Church Rawdon, Que.
2001 Joe Tookenay Nipigon, Ont.
2000 Dana Dickenson Tracey Mills, N.B.
1999 Rene Marcil St-Louis de France, Que.
1998 Don Valcour Kemptville, Ont.
1997 Richard Nichols Thunder Bay, Ont.
1996 Jed Ritcey Truro, N.S.
1995 Allan Matthews Williams Lake, B.C.
1994 NO AWARD -
1993 Lou Salatino Thunder Bay, Ont.
1992 Joe Richard Saint John, N.B.
1991 Murray Copot Calgary, Alta.
1990 Clair Sudsbury Summerside, P.E.I.
1989 Alex "Moe" Irving Thunder Bay, Ont.
1988 NO AWARD -
1987 Brian Wakelin St. Johns, N.L.
1986 Don Freer Victoria, B.C.
1985 Ed O'Doherty Jonquiere, Que.
1984 Harold Hillier Grand Falls, N.L.
1983 Frank McKinnon Carman, MB
1982 NO AWARD -
1981 Bob Mullock Port Moody, B.C.
1980 Ron Wallace Saskatoon, Sask.
1979 Gord Renwick Cambridge, Ont.
1978 NO AWARD -
1977 Don Johnson St.Johns, N.L.
1976 Gordon Juckes London, Ont.
WJC: Three masks, two Team Canadas
Check out the special masks that will be worn at the World Juniors.
2021 WWC: Goalies look good with teen designs
Paige and Madison designed masks with (more than) a hint of Canada.
WJC: More than a mask
The Janes ALL IN masks will spark the conversation around women’s hockey.