Hockey Canada Awards

Hockey Canada Order of Merit

At the Hockey Canada annual general meeting in 1960, approval was given to the institution of annual “Hockey Canada Meritorious Awards” to honour those individuals who for many years have served amateur hockey faithfully, having participated as players, served as coaches and association members, and made outstanding contributions to Canadian amateur hockey. The first such awards were made in January and May 1962.

Year Award Winner Hometown and Region
2021 Ray Carmichael Williamstown, N.B. (Atlantic)
  Ed Pupich Schumacher, Ont. (Central)
  Brian Franklin Deloraine, Man. (West)
2020 Garth Isenor East Hants, N.S. (Atlantic)
  Michael Penman Toronto, Ont. (Central)
  Roy Sakaki Salmon Arm, B.C. (West)
2019 Gerald Bannister N.B. (Atlantic)
  Nicolas Minville Que. (Central)
  Wilf Martin Sask. (West)
2018 Cecil Taylor P.E.I. (Atlantic)
  Michael Flaherty Que. (Central)
  Sheldon Kennedy (West)
2017 Ken Williams N.L. (Atlantic)
  Brad Grant Milton, Ont. (Central)
  Gary Vivian Yellowknife, NWT (West)
2016 Tom Donovan Quispamsis, N.B. (Atlantic)
  Judy Bain Kenora, Ont. (Central)
  Terry Ledingham Bon Accord, Alta. (West)
2015 Alvin Anstey Dartmouth, N.S. (East)
  Claude Allain Gatineau, Que. (Central)
  Graham Tuer Regina, Sask. (West)
2014 Gerry Evans Mount Pearl, N.L. (East)
  Bill Appleby Waterloo, Ont. (Central)
  Rob Virgil Edmonton, Alta. (West)
2013 Nancy Orr Hunter River, P.E.I. (East)
  Claude Gauthier Montréal, Que. (Central)
  Jerrold Lemko Vegreville, Alta. (West)
2012 Don Matheson Sydney, N.S. (East)
  Georges Marien Longueuil, Que. (Central)
  Ray Boudreau Spruce Grove, Alta. (West)
2011 Glenn Hurley Rothesay, N.B. (Atlantic)
  Réal Cyr Montreal-Nord, Que. (Central)
  Lorne Wilm Central Butte, Sask. (West)
2010 Joe Maynard Flatrock, N.L. (Atlantic)
- Don Yeck Belmont, Ont. (Central)
- Shelson Lanchbery Deloraine, Man. (West)
2009 Lauchie McIsaac Antigonish, N.S. (Atlantic)
- Lou Battochio Schumacher, Ont. (Central)
- Bill Ennos Victoria, B.C. (West)
2008 Peter Hanson Riverview, NB.(Atlantic)
- Lou Salatino Thunder Bay, Ont. (Central)
- Jack Forsyth Hartney, Man., (West)
2007 Wayne MacDougall Charlottetown, P.E.I. (Atlantic)
- André Marsolais St-Charles-Borromée, Que. (Central)
- Tom Coleman Quill Lake, Sask. (West)
2006 Gerry Taylor St. John's, N.L. (Atlantic)
- John Gardner Toronto, Ont. (Central)
- George Ulyatt Winnipeg, Man. (West)
2005 Mac MacLeod Mannville, Alta. (West)
- Benoit Noël Acton Vale, Que. (Central)
2004 Marv Rider Bonavista, N.L. (Atlantic)
- Jules Lavictoire Ottawa, Ont. (Central)
2003 Roger Otteson Edmonton, Alta. (West)
- Jed Ritcey Truro, N.S. (Atlantic)
- Don Shepherdson New Liskeard, Ont. (Central)
2002 Bob MacKinnon Oakville, Ont.
- Denny Deveau Kingston, N.S.
2001 Melvin Andrews Grand Falls-Windsor, N.L.
- Alex Légaré Québec, Que.
- Frank Lento Fernie, B.C.
2000 Ken Corbett Ottawa, Ont.
- Doug Steeves Saint John, N.B.
1999 Mike Pytyck Thunder Bay, Ont.
- George Trainor Charlottetown, P.E.I.
1998 Don Gatto Lethbridge, Alta.
- Pierre Verville Lac Beauport, Que.
- Bob Deap Scotch Town, N.B.
1997 Don Schmaltz Penticton, B.C.
- Brent Ladds Georgetown, Ont.
1996 Vern Paul Edmonton, Alta.
- Joe Tookenay Thunder Bay, Ont.
1995 Raymond Lagacé St Laurent, Que.
- Harold Hillier Grand Falls, N.L.
- Al Butler Stoney Mountain, Man.
1994 George Fardy St-John's, N.L.
- Fran Rider Mississauga, Ont.
- Bob Mullock Vancouver, B.C.
1993 John Maddia Indian Head, Sask.
- Bill Solonen Dryden, Ont.
1992 Jean Paul Bolduc Ste-Adele, Que.
- Harold Post Petit Rocher, N.B.
- George Parker Regina, Sask.
1991 Frank McKinnon Carmen, Man.
- Fernand Pelletier Montreal, Que.
1990 Bob Nadin Toronto, Ont.
- Dr. Leo Margolis Nanaimo, B.C.
- Joe Byrne Grand Falls, N.L.
1989 Bill Ledwell Charlottetown, PEI
- Ed Boychuk Regina, Sask.
- Alf Taylor North Gower, Ont.
1988 Orest Korbutt Edmonton, Alta.
- Albert Watkins Peterborough, Ont.
- Ken Mantin Halifax, N.S.
1987 Roland Mercier Québec, Que.
- Claude Anstey Cornerbrook, N.L.
- Aime Alaire St-Boniface, Man.
l986 Pat Doherty Kitchener, Ont.
- Ed Chynoweth Calgary, Alta.
l985 Bill Ruddock Toronto, Ont.
- George Allard Winnipeg, Man.
1984 Paul Dumont Québec, Que.
- Ron Wallace Saskatoon, Sask.
1983 Herb Parker Stratford, Ont.
- Bill Edwards Regina, Sask.
1982 Steve MacDonald Sydney, N.S.
- Gordon Orser Lethbridge, Alta.
1981 Fred Fox Lunenburg, N.S.
- Frank Spring, Cranbrook, B.C.
1980 Hugh McLean London, Ont.
- Harold Jones Regina, Sask.
1979 Clarence "Tubby" Schmalz Walkerton, Ont.
1978 Frank Germann Wilcox, Sask.
- T.B. "Bones" McCormack Thunder Bay, Ont.
1977 William "Bill" Ford Swift Current, Sask.
- William "Bill" Glover Toronto, Ont.
1976 Gordon W. Juckes Ottawa, Ont.
1975 William "Bill" Hanley Toronto, Ont.
- J.S. "Stu" Peppard Calgary, Alta.
1974 W.J. Anderson Trail, B.C.
1973 Matt Leyden Oshawa, Ont.
- J. Pius Callaghan Charlottetown, PEI
1972 Clyde McCarthy Trois Rivières, Que.
1971 William Addison Winnipeg, Man.
- Jack Roxburgh Simcoe, Ont.
1970 Leo Atwell Nelson, B.C.
- Walter Clarke Grand Falls, N.L.
1969 Dr. W.G. Hardy Edmonton, Alta.
1968 Jack Christie East York, Ont.
- Martin Conway St. Lambert, Que.
1967 J.W. "Jack" Hamilton Regina, Sask.
- Judge J. Elliott Hudson Halifax, N.S.
1966 A.T. Potter Edmonton, Alta.
- W.B. George Kemptville, Ont.
1965 Frank Buckland Peterborough, Ont.
1964 Harry Foxton Portage la Prairie, Man.
- George Panter Gravenhurst, Ont.
1963 Frank Dilio Montreal, Que.
- Frank Sargent Port Arthur, Ont.
1962 C.N. "Cliff" Henderson Moose Jaw, Sask.
- C.J. "Charlie" Boyle Fort William, Ont.
- Art Jefferd Vancouver, B.C.
- A.E.H. "Abbie" Coo Winnipeg, Man.
- Earl Samis Edmonton, Alta.
- Dr. S.H. Hutt Chesterville, Ont.
- Leo E. Burns Town Mount Royal, Que.
- Hanson T. Dowell Middleton, N.S.
- Lorne Miller North Bay, Ont.
2021 WWC: Goalies look good with teen designs
Paige and Madison designed masks with (more than) a hint of Canada.
WJC: More than a mask
The Janes ALL IN masks will spark the conversation around women’s hockey.
NWT: A trip down memory lane with Janes
Take a look back at the careers of the six Janes All In honourees.
Recent News
Most Popular