Canada's National Men's Under-18 Team Finishes Fourth at 2009 IIHF World Under-18 Championship
April 19, 2009

FARGO, N.D. – Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team has finished in fourth place at the 2009 IIHF World Under-18 Championship after losing 5-4 to Finland in a shootout in Sunday’s bronze medal game.

It is the fourth time Canada has finished fourth at the IIHF World Under-18 Championship (2009, 2007, 2006, 2004). Overall, Canada has won three medals in eight appearances at the world championship – gold in 20 and silver in 2005. It finished sixth in its first-ever appearance at the tournament in 2002.

On Sunday, Canada got goals from Dylan Olsen (Calgary, Alta./Camrose, AJHL), Zack Kassian (LaSalle, Ont./Peterborough, OHL), Landon Ferraro (Vancouver, B.C./Red Deer, WHL) and Peter Holland (Caldeon, Ont./Guelph, OHL) to open up a 4-1 lead late in the second period before the Finns made their comeback. Michael Zador (Toronto, Ont./Oshawa, OHL) made a remarkable 52 saves between the pipes for the Canadians.

Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team is made up of the best available players born in 1991 or later who aren’t competing in playoffs with their respective club teams. Many of the players who played for Canada at the 2009 IIHF World Under-18 Championship will be among the top selections at the 2009 NHL Entry Draft in June.


MONDAY, Canada’s players and staff are scheduled to arrive at various destinations on Monday. Following are the arrival times for the players and staff at their final destinations. NOTE: All times listed are local times.

Regina, Sask. / NW 1845 / 10:09 a.m.

Garrett Mitchell

Winnipeg, Man. / NW 3611 / 10:28 a.m.

Al Murray (Head Scout)

Saskatoon, Sask. / NW 1845 / 11:51 a.m.

Duane Bartley (Athletic Therapist)

Portland, Ore. / NW 0593 / 1:06 p.m.

Mike Johnston (Head Coach)

Calgary, Alta. / NW 1543 / 1:16 p.m.

Landon Ferraro, Dylan Olsen

Edmonton, Alta. / NW 1019 / 1:17 p.m.

Roger Castle (Education Co-Ordinator)

Toronto, Ont. / NW 2883 / 1:19 p.m.

Peter Holland, Steve Spott (Assistant Coach), Troy Smith (Video Coordinator), Ron Tugnutt (Goaltending Consultant)

Saskatoon, Sask. / United 6306 / 1:55 p.m.

Brayden McNabb

Toronto, Ont. / AC 7942 / 2:00 p.m.

Tim Rindlisbacher (Team Doctor), Michael Zador

Winnipeg, Man. / UA 6403 / 2:16 p.m.

Cody Eakin, Byron Froese

Toronto, Ont. / UA 0578 / 3:58 p.m.

Kyle Clifford, Taylor Doherty, Joey Hishon, John McFarland, Bryce O’Hagan, Ryan O’Reilly, Ethan Werek

Saskatoon, Sask. / WJ 107 / 4:02 p.m.

Stefan Elliott, Curtis Hamilton

Ottawa, Ont. / AC 0456 / 4:10 p.m.

Erik Gudbranson

Ottawa, Ont. / UA 7596 / 4:36 p.m.

Calvin de Haan

Ottawa, Ont. / US 3490 / 5:08 p.m.

Simon Després

Sault Ste. Marie, Ont. / AC 7793 / 5:47 p.m.

Gerry Liscumb Jr. (Media Relations)

Prince George, B.C. / AC 8207 / 6:05 p.m.

Brett Connolly

Windsor, Ont. / AC 7759 / 7:19 p.m.

Zack Kassian

Toronto, Ont. / UA 0640 / 11:30 p.m.

Brian Miller (Equipment Manager)

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017 HCF: Hitting the links for hockey
Hitting the links for hockey
2017 HCF: Canadian hockey comes together at gala
A who's-who of hockey, including the Order of Hockey in Canada honourees, members of Canada's gold medal-winning National Sledge Team and Team Canada alumni.
2017 NST: Gangneung gold celebrated in Saskatoon
Gangneung gold celebrated in Saskatoon
2017 OHC: 2017 recipients honoured at HCF gala
2017 OHC recipients honoured at HCF gala