Game Summary
United States  4 -  Canada  5
 

Matchup: USA 4 vs. Canada 5, 3:30 p.m., MTS Centre | IIHF Summary

SHOOTOUT MADNESS: WICKENHEISER LIFTS CANADA OVER USA

By Lucas Aykroyd

The opening game of the Playoff Round at Winnipeg’s MTS Centre on Saturday was a true see-saw struggle. To the delight of the sell-out crowd, a pink-clad Canadian squad rallied from a 4-2 second-period deficit to earn a 5-4 shootout victory over the archrival USA. Hayley Wickenheiser scored the decisive goal.

Shooting fourth after Natalie Darwitz and Julie Chu had failed to score for the USA and Sarah Vaillancourt likewise for Canada, Wickenheiser skated in with a series of dekes and then beat USA netminder Jessie Vetter five-hole. Gigi Marvin missed her chance to keep the Americans alive by firing the puck over the crossbar.

“I think it was a great game for the fans, but from our standpoint, it wasn’t our best game,” said Wickenheiser, Team Canada’s captain. “We came out of it with a win, but we still have a lot of work to do. Sure, you gotta score to win, but I don’t want to be ‘winning games’ for us. I want [all] four lines to be rolling. I think it’s always a team effort, but when you get into a shootout, anything can happen.”

It was the first shootout in a non-elimination or non-placement game in the history of IIHF women’s competition.

This was the most anticipated game of the tournament to date, and if it was a preview of the gold medal game, women’s hockey fans are in for an action-packed doozy.

“I thought our defence handled the pressure well,” said Head Coach Melody Davidson. “They did some good things, but it wasn’t so much about our defence. Sometimes it was our wingers on the wall, just making better decisions. We had our ups and downs, but overall, I was OK with what we were doing.”

Under the new IIHF three-point system, Canada receives two points for this shootout win and the USA gets one point for the loss. The result is an important step toward a gold medal game berth for Canada, but much still depends on what happens between the USA and Finland on Sunday and Canada and Finland on Monday.?
In regulation time, Wickenheiser paced Canada with a goal and two assists, while Gillian Apps had a goal and an assist, and Kelly Bechard and Sarah Vaillancourt also scored.

Natalie Darwitz and Krissy Wendell had a goal and an assist apiece for the Americans, while Jenny Potter and Gigi Marvin added singles.

“It’s a huge rivalry, and we have work to do,” said Potter. “We can’t come out flat like that. We have to come out and be all over them to win battles. They’re a good team.”

The first IIHF World Women’s Championship meeting between these two teams since the 2005 final featured a youth-on-youth matchup of goalies, with Canada’s 24-year-old Charline Labonté versus the USA’s Vetter, age 21. Final shots favoured Canada 31-29.

“Playing the US is always a good game, always good times,” said Labonté. “Those are the kinds of games we want to play. But this was a weird game. It was either garbage goals or beautiful goals. I don’t think I gave up any bad goals, and I don’t think [Vetter] did either.”

The American power play, which entered this game clicking at a tournament-best 71.4 percent, managed one goal on three power play opportunities.

The attendance at the USA-Canada game set a new IIHF single-game record of 15,003.

The teams started off skating at a tempo previously unparalleled in this tournament, and tape-to-tape passes and ramped-up physical play were also on display.

Canada jumped into a 1-0 lead at 1:21 when Kelly Bechard went hard to the net and tipped in a feed from Katie Weatherston past Vetter’s left skate.

At 3:19, Labonte showed she was ready to play, flashing the leather to thwart Jenny Potter when the American forward broke into the Canadian zone and snapped a quick shot on goal.

The USA went to the power play a minute later after Gillian Apps was nabbed for hooking, but the best opportunity went to Canada shorthanded, as Sarah Vaillancourt got a step on USA blueliner Angela Ruggiero and nearly got a full breakaway, with Gina Kingsbury following up unsuccessfully on the rebound. Ruggiero’s hooking minor on the play nullified the American advantage.

At 7:49, Jenny Potter created the USA’s 1-1 tying goal off the rush, as she fed the puck left to Kristin King and then cashed in the rebound with a half-empty net after Labonté made the original stop.

The teams traded quality chances past the midway point of the period, and both goalies came up big. Hayley Wickenheiser raced down right wing and fed a trailing Tessa Bonhomme in the slot for a chance Vetter stopped, and the Americans came right back, with Erika Lawler setting up Natalie Darwitz and forcing Labonté to slide across.

The Americans grabbed a 2-1 lead at 17:47 when Darwitz circled into the slot and unleashed a high wrister that was tipped by Krissy Wendell and beat Labonté high over the glove through traffic.

Canada drew even early in the second period on a two-man advantage, as the USA ran into penalty trouble with three consecutive minors. Wickenheiser’s blueline drive was stopped by Vetter, but she couldn’t control the rebound, and Vaillancourt batted it high into the net at 3:21.

At 6:52, the Americans made it a 3-2 lead when Meghan Duggan fed Gigi Marvin in the faceoff circle to Labonte’s left, and Marvin zinged a wrister high past the Canadian goalie on the short side.

Just over two minutes later, it was 4-2 when the Americans stormed the Canadian net during a man advantage, and Darwitz and Wendell were the catalysts again. Darwitz fed Wendell cross-crease, and Labonté barely stopped the puck with her glove as it trickled behind her, but Darwitz was able to tuck in the rebound.

Canada could have collapsed, but it didn’t. The crowd’s chants of “Go Canada Go” seemed to inspire the host team.

At 12:23, Canada cut the deficit to 4-3 when Gillian Apps caused an American turnover in the defensive zone and fed Wickenheiser perfectly on a 2-on-1 down low, enabling the captain to hesitate and then fire a perfect shot glove side. Then at 14:57, the Canadians tied it up when Wickenheiser’s shot from the faceoff circle to Vetter’s right deflected to Apps, who had the open side of the net to bang in the puck.

Labonté made a brilliant save on an American shorthanded 2-on-1 late in the second period. Erika Lawler backhanded the puck across to Gigi Marvin, and the Canadian netminder flung her arm down to block Marvin’s attempt.

The physicality, stickwork and pace really picked up in the third period, with almost no whistles in the first half. Canada went to the power play at 8:20 when Darwitz illegally creamed Wickenheiser inside the American blueline. Vetter foiled Daniele Goyette on a good close-in chance, and deflected away a Colleen Sostorics blast from the line.

The USA had a great chance to get the go-ahead goal when Apps was sent off for hooking, again, at 16:08. Canada’s plight worsened at 17:23 when Bechard pushed Darwitz into the sideboards from behind, putting the Americans on a two-man advantage.

The Americans called a time-out to formulate strategy, and their power play subsequently exerted enormous pressure. But Labonté proved equal to the test, stoning Darwitz by her right post, Molly Engstrom from the blueline, and Wendell in close by the other post. The teams skated furiously as regulation time wound down.

Canada couldn’t capitalize on two big chances in overtime. The USA’s Jenny Potter stopped skating and hooked Caroline Ouellette in the neutral zone at 3:25 of the extra frame. During the ensuing man advantage, Vetter made her best stop on Jennifer Botterill after Jayna Hefford’s cross-crease feed. With 1:08 left in the 10-minute overtime, Potter took a kneeing penalty, but Canada couldn’t get anything going.

Following the first period, 16 members of the gold medal-winning 1990 World Championship team were introduced to the crowd (excluding Vicky Sunohara), along with Scott McMaster, whose father Dave (now deceased) coached that team, and members of the 1990 staff. A big-screen video montage of 1990 highlights got a big round of applause.

The Player of the Game for Canada was, naturally, Hayley Wickenheiser, while Natalie Darwitz was chosen for the USA.

---

USA: With 13 consecutive losses to Team Canada, the Americans can’t be feeling overly cocky as they head into this key Playoff Round encounter. However, their last win came right here in Winnipeg on New Year’s Day 2006, and they are the defending world champions from 2005. In addition, Mark Johnson’s squad has performed admirably so far in back-to-back victories over Kazakhstan (9-0) and China (9-1). With skilled forwards like Natalie Darwitz and Sarah Parsons leading the charge, the USA’s most dangerous weapon may be its power play, which has clicked at a whopping 71.4 percent so far (five goals on seven man advantages). Top defenceman Angela Ruggiero has demonstrated that her remedy for getting booted off The Apprentice is to rack up points versus opposing hockey nations, as she’s picked up a goal and three assists to go with her +5 plus-minus rating. Fellow blueliner Caitlin Cahow isn’t far behind with two goals and an assist, and ditto for Molly Engstrom (a goal and two assists). Canada will have to watch out for the American defence’s ability to join the rush and pinch in from the point. There’s really not much to judge about the quality of the goaltending so far, since veteran Chanda Gunn and newcomer Jessie Vetter have only faced 14 shots apiece in their individual starts. It would seem logical for Gunn to get the call today, since she’s the one who backstopped the Americans to the 2005 title with a sparkling 0.52 GAA. She also has something to prove after being outdueled in the semi-final shootout versus Sweden at the Turin Olympics.

Canada: The Canadians have been excellent so far, but there’s still a sense that they can take their game to another level. Scoring 17 goals in two games on 133 shots is nothing to complain about; still, Head Coach Melody Davidson knows those results came against lower-level competition, and the Americans aren’t going to hand out any freebies. The duo of Hayley Wickenheiser and Danielle Goyette, ranked 1-2 in tournament scoring, has done everything that could be expected so far. Wickenheiser may have a shot at equalling her 2006 record of 17 points in one tournament (the Turin Olympics), and she has been beautifully relentless in her pursuit of the puck and determination to find the holes. With two goals and an assist, Jennifer Botterill has also clearly fed off the energy of playing in front of family and friends in Winnipeg. Whether you’re talking Meghan Agosta, Katie Weatherston, or Jayna Hefford, there’s offensive potential on every Canadian line. The defence has been impeccable to date, helping the team surrender zero power play goals, and Delaney Collins, Colleen Sostorics, and Tessa Bonhomme have been particularly impressive. Canada’s goaltending will be tested for the first time after giving up a paltry 22 shots on goal through two games. Getting up for this game emotionally won’t be a problem. Really, in the last couple of days, players on both teams have bandied about words like “hate” and “enemy” more freely than your average NHLer does prior to a playoff series. The pro-Canadian crowd will ramp up the intensity. It’ll be a classy, skillful battle, but a battle nonetheless. Unless the Finns can pull off an upset, the winner of this game will probably end up topping the group.

Lucas Aykroyd

 

Game Information
Game Number 11  Round Playoff
Arena MTS Centre City, Country Winnipeg, Man., Canada
Month / Day / Year 04/07/2007 Time (local) 03:30 PM CT
Attendance 15003 Game Status Final in Shootout

Box Score   1     2     3   OT1 SO Total
United States (USA) 2 2 0 0 0 4
Canada (CAN) 1 3 0 0 1 5
Goals/Penalties
First Period
Goals:
   01:21 CAN 24 Kelly Béchard
   07:49 USA 12 Jenny Potter (19 Kristin King)
   17:47 USA 7 Krissy Wendell (20 Natalie Darwitz)

Penalties:
   04:08 CAN 10 Gillian Apps (Hooking)
   07:49 USA 4 Angela Ruggiero (Hooking)

Second Period
Goals:
   03:21 CAN 26 Sarah Vaillancourt (22 Hayley Wickenheiser) PP2
   06:52 USA 18 Gigi Marvin (10 Meghan Duggan, 3 Jinelle Zaugg)
   11:06 USA 20 Natalie Darwitz (7 Krissy Wendell) PP2
   12:23 CAN 22 Hayley Wickenheiser (10 Gillian Apps)
   14:57 CAN 10 Gillian Apps (22 Hayley Wickenheiser)

Penalties:
   00:27 USA 12 Jenny Potter (Bodychecking)
   02:02 USA 18 Gigi Marvin (Hooking)
   02:43 USA 4 Angela Ruggiero (Tripping)
   09:47 CAN 11 Cheryl Pounder (High Sticking)
   16:20 USA 4 Angela Ruggiero (Hooking)

Third Period
Goals:

Penalties:
   04:13 CAN 25 Tessa Bonhomme (Holding)
   08:20 USA 20 Natalie Darwitz (Charging)
   16:08 CAN 10 Gillian Apps (Hooking)
   17:23 CAN 24 Kelly Béchard (Checking from Behind)
   17:23 CAN 24 Kelly Béchard (10-Minute Misconduct)

Overtime

Penalties:
   03:25 USA12 Jenny Potter (Hooking)
   08:52 USA12 Jenny Potter (Kneeing)


Goaltenders
United States
31 Jessie Vetter On 1/00:00   Off 4/10:00
Canada
32 Charline Labonté On 1/00:00   Off 4/10:00

Shots on Goal   1     2     3   OT1 Total
United States 10 6 9 4 29
Canada 8 12 6 4 30

Shootout Summary
Player Goaltender Goal/Save
20 Natalie Darwitz
(United States)
32 Charline Labonté
(Canada)
Save
26 Sarah Vaillancourt
(Canada)
31 Jessie Vetter
(United States)
Save
13 Julie Chu
(United States)
32 Charline Labonté
(Canada)
Save
22 Hayley Wickenheiser
(Canada)
31 Jessie Vetter
(United States)
Goal
18 Gigi Marvin
(United States)
32 Charline Labonté
(Canada)
Save

Player of Game
United States 20 Natalie Darwitz
Canada 22 Hayley Wickenheiser
Officials
Referee HIRVONEN Anu (FIN)
Lines People FLOEDEN Annika (SWE), MATTILA Sanna (FIN)

Sommaire du Match
États-Unis  4 -  Canada  5
 

Affrontement : États-Unis 4 contre Canada 5, 15 h 30, Centre MTS | Sommaire de l'IIHF

VICTOIRE EN TIRS DE BARRAGE DU CANADA SUR LES ÉTATS-UNIS; WICKENHEISER DOMINE

Par Lucas Aykroyd

Il aura fallu des tirs de barrage pour décider l’issue du premier match de la ronde éliminatoire au Centre MTS de Winnipeg samedi. Au grand plaisir de la salle comble, la formation canadienne vêtue de rose a remonté la pente après avoir accusé un retard de 4 -2 pour l’emporter 5 -4 en tirs de barrage sur sa grande rivale des États-Unis. Hayley Wickenheiser a marqué le but décisif.

Effectuant le quatrième tir après que Natalie Darwitz et Julie Chu des États-Unis et Sarah Vaillancourt du Canada eurent raté leur tir, Wickenheiser s’est avancée, a effectué plusieurs feintes et a déjoué la gardienne américaine Jessie Vetter entre les jambières. Gigi Marvin a raté l’occasion de garder les Américaines en vie en décochant un tir par-dessus la barre horizontale.

« Je pense que ce fut un excellent match pour les partisans, mais pour nous, ça n’a pas été notre meilleur match », a déclaré Wickenheiser, la capitaine d’Équipe Canada. « Nous avons obtenu une victoire, mais il nous reste encore beaucoup de travail à faire. Il va sans dire qu’il faut marquer pour gagner, mais je ne veux pas « gagner des matchs » pour l’équipe. Je veux que [tous] nos quatre trios fonctionnent. Je pense qu’il faut toujours un effort collectif, mais quand il s’agit de tirs de barrage, n’importe quoi peut arriver. »

Ce fut le premier match décidé en tirs de barrage, autre qu’un match éliminatoire ou de classement, de l’histoire du hockey féminin de l’IIHF.

Ce match était le match le plus attendu du tournoi jusqu’à présent, et s’il s’agissait d’un aperçu du match pour la médaille d’or, les partisans du hockey féminin auront droit à un spectacle enlevant.

« Je pense que notre défensive a bien réagi à la pression », a déclaré l’entraîneure-chef Melody Davidson. « Elles ont fait de belles choses, mais ce n’étaient pas toujours nos défenseures. Parfois, c’étaient nos ailiers le long de la bande ou simplement de bonnes prises de décisions. Nous avons eu des hauts et des bas, mais dans l’ensemble, je suis satisfaite de ce que nous avons fait. »

En vertu du nouveau système de trois points de l’IIHF, le Canada récolte deux points pour la victoire en tirs de barrage et les États-Unis obtiennent un point pour la défaite. Le résultat est important pour l’obtention d’une place dans le match pour la médaille d’or pour le Canada, mais tout dépendra de ce qui se produira lors du match entre les États-Unis et la Finlande, dimanche, et entre le Canada et la Finlande, lundi.

En temps réglementaire, Wickenheiser a pris les choses en main en cumulant un but et deux aides, tandis que Gillian Apps a eu un but et une aide. Kelly Béchard et Sarah Vaillancourt ont aussi marqué. ?
Natalie Darwitz et Krissy Wendell ont réussi un but et une aide pour les Américaines, tandis que Jenny Potter et Gigi Marvin ont chacune marqué un but.

« C’est une énorme rivalité, et nous devons travailler », a expliqué Potter. « Nous ne pouvons pas arriver à plat comme ça. Nous devons arriver et les surveiller de très près pour remporter les batailles. Elles forment une bonne équipe. »

Le premier affrontement à un Championnat mondial féminin de l’IIHF entre ces deux formations depuis la finale de 2005 mettait en vedette deux jeunes gardiennes. Charline Labonté, la gardienne canadienne est âgée de 24 ans, tandis que Jessie Vetter, la gardienne américaine est âgée de 21 ans. Le Canada a dominé au chapitre des tirs au but 31 -29.

« Jouer contre les États-Unis, c’est toujours un bon match, c’est toujours amusant », a déclaré Labonté. « C’est le genre de matchs que l’on veut jouer. Mais celui-ci a été bizarre. Les buts ont été soient très laids, soient très beaux. Je ne pense pas avoir concédé de mauvais buts, et je pense que [Vetter] non plus. »

Le jeu de puissance des Américaines, qui était le meilleur du tournoi avant ce match à 71,4 pour cent, a réussi un but en trois supériorités numériques.

L’assistance au match opposant le Canada et les États-Unis était de 15 003, un nouveau record pour un match de l’IIHF.

On n’avait pas vu un match d’aussi vive allure du tournoi. Les passes précises et le jeu robuste étaient aussi au rendez-vous.

Le Canada a pris une avance de 1 -0 à 1:21 lorsque Kelly Béchard a foncé vers le filet et a dévié la passe de Katie Weatherston au-delà du patin gauche de Vetter.

À 3:19, Labonté nous a prouvé qu’elle était prête lorsqu’elle a dérobé un but à Jenny Potter, après que l’avant américaine se fut avancée en zone du Canada pour décocher rapidement un tir au but.

Les États-Unis ont profité d’un avantage numérique une minute plus tard après que Gillian Apps fut chassée pour avoir accroché, mais c’est le Canada qui a eu la plus belle occasion de marquer lorsque Sarah Vaillancourt a devancé la défenseure américaine Angela Ruggiero avant de décocher son tir. Kingsbury a été incapable de marquer en s’emparant du rebond. La punition imposée à Ruggiero pour avoir accroché Vaillancourt a annulé la supériorité numérique des Américaines.

À 7:49, Jenny Potter a marqué le but égalisateur pour les États-Unis après qu’elle eut passé la rondelle à Kristin King avant de foncer vers le rebond et de tirer la rondelle dans un filet presque abandonné par Labonté qui avait effectué l’arrêt initial.
Les deux équipes ont eu de belles occasions de marquer au milieu de la période et les deux gardiennes ont dû s’illustrer. Hayley Wickenheiser s’est avancée à l’aile droite pour effectuer une passe à Tessa Bonhomme en zone privilégiée, mais Vetter a repoussé le tir. Puis ce fut au tour des Américaines de rater une belle occasion lorsqu’Erika Lawler a effectué une passe à Natalie Darwitz, mais Labonté a effectué une glissade pour bloquer le tir.

Les Américaines ont pris les devants 2 -1 à 17:47 lorsque Darwitz s’est faufilée en zone privilégiée et a décoché un haut tir du poignet que Krissy Wendell a dévié pour déjouer Labonté par-dessus la mitaine alors qu’il y avait de la circulation devant son filet.

Le Canada a nivelé la marque au début de la deuxième période pendant une supériorité numérique de deux joueuses lorsque les Américaines se sont vues imposer trois punitions mineures consécutives. Vetter a bloqué le tir de Wickenheiser à la ligne bleue, mais elle n’a pu contrôler le rebond et Vaillancourt l’a dirigé dans le filet à 3:21.

À 6:52, les Américaines ont repris les devants 3 -2 lorsque Meghan Duggan a effectué une passe à Gigi Marvin dans le cercle de mise au jeu à la gauche de Labonté. Marvin a effectué un tir du poignet par-dessus la gardienne canadienne du côté rapproché.

Un peu plus de deux minutes plus tard, les Américaines ont porté la marque à 4 -2 en fonçant vers le filet canadien pendant un avantage numérique. Darwitz et Wendell ont à nouveau été les catalyseurs. Darwitz a effectué une passe à Wendell de l’autre côté de l’enclave et Labonté a eu peine à ralentir la rondelle avec sa mitaine ce qui a permis à Darwitz de marquer en s’emparant du rebond.

Le Canada aurait pu s’effondrer, mais il ne l’a pas fait. Les chants de la foule « Go Canada Go » ont semblé inspirer l’équipe hôtesse.

À 12:23, le Canada a réduit l’écart à 4 -3 quand Gillian Apps a créé un revirement en zone défensive avant d’effectuer un 2 contre 1 parfait avec Wickenheiser dans le bas de la zone, permettant à la capitaine d’hésiter un instant avant d’effectuer un tir parfait du côté de la mitaine. Puis à 14:57, les Canadiennes ont nivelé la marque lorsque le tir de Wickenheiser du cercle de mise au jeu à la droite de Vetter a dévié sur Apps qui a tiré la rondelle dans l’espace libre.

Labonté a réalisé un arrêt spectaculaire lorsque les Américaines se sont avancées à 2 contre 1 en désavantage numérique vers la fin du deuxième tiers. Erika Lawler a effectué une passe arrière à Gigi Marvin de l’autre côté et la gardienne canadienne a allongé le bras pour repousser le tir de Marvin.

Le jeu robuste, le maniement de la rondelle et l’allure du match se sont nettement accentués en troisième période. Il n’y a eu presque aucun arrêt du jeu au cours des dix premières minutes. Le Canada a profité d’un avantage numérique à 8:20 lorsque Darwitz a effectué une mise en échec non réglementaire sur Wickenheiser au-delà de la ligne bleue américaine. Vetter a d’abord repoussé le tir de Danielle Goyette décoché à bout portant puis celui de Colleen Sostorics de la ligne bleue.

Les États-Unis ont eu une superbe occasion de reprendre l’avance lorsqu’Apps a été chassée pour avoir accroché, encore une fois, à 16 :08. Les problèmes du Canada se sont aggravés à 17 :23 lorsque Béchard a poussé Darwitz par-derrière contre la bande, conférant ainsi un avantage de deux joueuses aux Américaines.

Les Américaines ont demandé un temps d’arrêt pour préparer leur stratégie, puis leur jeu de puissance a exercé une pression énorme. Mais Labonté a été à la hauteur, bloquant le tir de Darwitz près de son poteau droit, celui de Molly Engstrom de la ligne bleue et celui de Wendell à bout portant près de l’autre poteau. Les équipes ont patiné à une allure folle pendant que les dernières secondes s’écoulaient.

Le Canada n’ pas réussi à profiter de deux bonnes occasions de marquer pendant la prolongation. L’Américaine Jenny Potter a cessé de patiner et a accroché Caroline Ouellette en zone neutre à 3 :25 de la prolongation. Pendant l’avantage numérique qui a suivi, Vetter a effectué son plus bel arrêt du match devant Jennifer Botterill qui avait capté une passe transversale de Jayna Hefford. Alors qu’il restait 1:08 à la prolongation de 10 minutes, Potter a été chassée pour avoir donné du genou, mais le Canada n’a pu mettre fin au match.

Après la première période, 16 membres de l’équipe médaillée d’or du championnat mondial de 1990 ont été présentées à la foule (sauf Vicky Sunohara) avec Scott McMaster, dont le père Dave (maintenant décédé) avait été l’entraîneur de l’équipe, et des membres du personnel de l’équipe de 1990. Un montage vidéo des faits saillants de 1990 a été présenté sur l’écran géant ce qui a suscité les applaudissements de la foule.

La joueuse du match du Canada a été Hayley Wickenheiser, évidemment, tandis que Natalie Darwitz a été choisie pour les États-Unis.

---

États-Unis : Ayant subi 13 défaites consécutives aux mains d’Équipe Canada, les Américaines ne peuvent se permettre d’être arrogantes à l’aube de cet important match de la ronde éliminatoire. Toutefois, leur dernière victoire sur le Canada est survenue ici même, à Winnipeg, le 1er janvier 2006, et il ne faut pas oublier qu’elles sont championnes mondiales en titre. De plus, la formation de Mark Johnson a très bien joué jusqu’à présent, remportant deux victoires consécutives sur le Kazakhstan (9 -0) et la Chine (9 -1). Avec des avants talentueuses de la trempe de Natalie Darwitz et Sarah Parsons, l’arme la plus dangereuse des États-Unis pourrait bien être son jeu de puissance, qui a cumulé un impressionnant pourcentage d’efficacité de 71,4 jusqu’à ce jour (cinq buts en sept avantages numériques). Leur meilleure défenseure, Angela Ruggiero, a prouvé qu’après avoir été remerciée à l’émission « The Apprentice » elle était d’humeur à accumuler des points contre ses adversaires au hockey. Elle présente actuellement une fiche d’un but, de trois aides et de +5. Sa coéquipière à la ligne bleue, Caitlin Cahow la talonne de près avec deux buts et une aide tout comme Molly Engstrom (un but et deux aides). Le Canada devra se méfier de la capacité des défenseures américaines de se joindre à l’attaque et de s’avancer des points d’appui. Il est difficile d’évaluer le travail des gardiennes de but jusqu’à présent, car la vétérante Chanda Gunn et la recrue Jessie Vetter n’ont affronté que 14 tirs chacune au cours de leur match. Il serait logique de retrouver Gunn devant le filet aujourd’hui, car, après tout, c’est elle qui a aidé les Américaines à remporter le titre en 2005 avec une moyenne de buts alloués de 0, 52. Elle voudra aussi faire ses preuves après avoir perdu le duel contre la Suède aux Jeux olympiques de Turin.

Canada : Jusqu’à présent, les Canadiennes ont excellé, mais on a l’impression qu’elles peuvent rehausser leur jeu d’un cran. Marquer 17 buts en deux matchs sur 133 tirs est pas mal, et les Américaines ne leur feront pas de cadeaux. Le tandem de Hayley Wickenheiser et Danielle Goyette, classées au premier et au deuxième rang des pointeuses du tournoi, a tout fait ce que l’on était en droit de s’attendre de leur part. Wickenheiser pourrait bien égaler le record de 17 points qu’elle a établi en 2006 en un seul tournoi (aux Jeux olympiques de Turin), et elle a fait preuve d’une ténacité remarquable dans sa poursuite de la rondelle et sa recherche de failles chez les adversaires. Avec deux buts et une aide à sa fiche, il est clair que Jennifer Botterill a puisé de l’énergie dans le fait qu’elle joue devant sa famille et ses amis ici à Winnipeg. Que ce soit Meghan Agosta, Katie Weatherston ou Jayna Hefford, chaque trio offensif du Canada présente une menace de marquer. La défensive a été impeccable jusqu’à présent, aidant l’équipe à n’accorder aucun but en désavantage numérique, et Delaney Collins, Colleen Sostorics et Tessa Bonhomme en ont impressionné plusieurs. Les gardiennes de but du Canada seront mises à l’épreuve pour la première fois du tournoi après avoir affronté seulement 22 tirs au but en deux matchs. Il ne sera pas difficile de motiver les joueuses pour ce match. Dans les faits, au cours de derniers jours, les joueuses des deux formations ont utilisé des mots comme « haine » et « ennemie » beaucoup plus souvent que ne le font les joueurs de la LNH avant une série éliminatoire. La foule procanadienne fera augmenter l’intensité. Ce sera une lutte disputée avec classe et habileté, mais ce sera néanmoins une lutte. À moins que les Finlandaises créent un revirement, l’équipe qui remportera cette rencontre terminera probablement au sommet du groupe.

Lucas Aykroyd

 

Renseignements sur le match
Numéro de match 11  Ronde Éliminatoire
Aréna MTS Centre Ville, Pays Winnipeg, Man., Canada
Moi / Jour / Année 04/07/2007 Heure (local) 15h30 CT
Assistance 15003 Statut de jeu Finale en fusillade

Compte   1     2     3   Pro.1 SO Totale
États-Unis (USA) 2 2 0 0 0 4
Canada (CAN) 1 3 0 0 1 5
Buts/Pénalités
Première Période
Buts:
   01:21 CAN 24 Kelly Béchard
   07:49 USA 12 Jenny Potter (19 Kristin King)
   17:47 USA 7 Krissy Wendell (20 Natalie Darwitz)

Pénalités:
   04:08 CAN 10 Gillian Apps (Accrocher)
   07:49 USA 4 Angela Ruggiero (Accrocher)

Deuxieme Période
Buts:
   03:21 CAN 26 Sarah Vaillancourt (22 Hayley Wickenheiser) AN2
   06:52 USA 18 Gigi Marvin (10 Meghan Duggan, 3 Jinelle Zaugg)
   11:06 USA 20 Natalie Darwitz (7 Krissy Wendell) AN2
   12:23 CAN 22 Hayley Wickenheiser (10 Gillian Apps)
   14:57 CAN 10 Gillian Apps (22 Hayley Wickenheiser)

Pénalités:
   00:27 USA 12 Jenny Potter (Mise en échec corporelle)
   02:02 USA 18 Gigi Marvin (Accrocher)
   02:43 USA 4 Angela Ruggiero (Faire trébucher)
   09:47 CAN 11 Cheryl Pounder (Bâton élevé)
   16:20 USA 4 Angela Ruggiero (Accrocher)

Troisième Période
Buts:

Pénalités:
   04:13 CAN 25 Tessa Bonhomme (Retenir)
   08:20 USA 20 Natalie Darwitz (Assaut)
   16:08 CAN 10 Gillian Apps (Accrocher)
   17:23 CAN 24 Kelly Béchard (Mise en échec par-derrière)
   17:23 CAN 24 Kelly Béchard (10 Minutes d'inconduite)

Prolongation

Pénalités:
   03:25 USA12 Jenny Potter (Accrocher)
   08:52 USA12 Jenny Potter (Donner du genou)


Gardiens de but
États-Unis
31 Jessie Vetter Entrée 1/00:00   Sortie 4/10:00
Canada
32 Charline Labonté Entrée 1/00:00   Sortie 4/10:00

Tirs au but   1     2     3   Pro.1 Totale
États-Unis 10 6 9 4 29
Canada 8 12 6 4 30

Sommaire de la fusillade
Joueur Guardien de but But/Échec
20 Natalie Darwitz
(États-Unis)
32 Charline Labonté
(Canada)
Échec
26 Sarah Vaillancourt
(Canada)
31 Jessie Vetter
(États-Unis)
Échec
13 Julie Chu
(États-Unis)
32 Charline Labonté
(Canada)
Échec
22 Hayley Wickenheiser
(Canada)
31 Jessie Vetter
(États-Unis)
But
18 Gigi Marvin
(États-Unis)
32 Charline Labonté
(Canada)
Échec

Joueur du match
États-Unis 20 Natalie Darwitz
Canada 22 Hayley Wickenheiser
Officiels
Arbitre HIRVONEN Anu (FIN)
Juges de lignes FLOEDEN Annika (SWE), MATTILA Sanna (FIN)