Game Summary
Finland  0 -  Sweden  1
 

Matchup: Finland 0 vs. Sweden 1, 3:30 p.m., MTS Centre | IIHF Summary

SWEDEN SURVIVES FINLAND TO BAG BRONZE

By Derek Jory

It may not be gold, but Team Sweden is ecstatic nonetheless.

Despite a third-period injury to star goalie Kim Martin, Sweden captured the bronze medal at the 2007 IIHF World Women’s Championship with a 1-0 victory over rival Team Finland Tuesday afternoon at the MTS Centre.

The winning goal came from Maria Rooth just 2:37 into the third period when Erika Holst’s hard work in the Finnish zone resulted in a turnover. Holst fired a harmless-looking backhander on net, which Rooth tipped along the way, fooling Finnish goalie Noora Raty as the puck snuck between her pads. It was a lucky goal for the Swedes, but it was all they’d need.

With 6:30 remaining in the game, Martin got knocked over in front of the Swedish net and had to leave the game on a stretcher after facing 25 shots. Paramedics paid special attention to her left leg. Backup Sara Grahn came in to replace her, and made three stops to preserve the victory.

An announced crowd of 8,555 watched as Tre Kronor won its second-ever bronze medal, (the first also coming against Finland in 2005), although many fans were dressed in red and white in anticipation of the gold medal game between Canada and the USA to follow.

It was the second meeting between these two Scandinavian rivals in the championship, and it was similar to Finland’s 1-0 overtime win in the Preliminary Round, except for the final result.

Finland’s total lack of offensive confidence was why it had to settle for fourth in this tournament. Here, the Finns failed to score for the third consecutive game, and they never scored a regulation-time goal after Nora Tallus’s marker at 8:28 of the third period in a tournament-opening 4-0 win over Russia on April 4.

Raty, who had another strong game, made 27 saves in the Finnish nets.

This was the latest in a long string of bitter Finnish losses to Sweden in international hockey. Last year’s 3-2 loss in the men’s Olympic hockey gold medal game was the most high-profile example.

Sweden now retains third place in the IIHF Women’s World Rankings with 2,825 points, while Finland stays in fourth with 2,755 points.

The game started out as a tight-checking affair, with Finland dictating the pace early on. The teams exchanged chances, but it wasn’t until late in the period that either side showed any real life. Finland’s Tallus streaked down the right side, dangled around a Swedish defender, and fired a rocket shot at Martin, but Martin stoned her with the glove.

The second period was almost a carbon copy of the first, except that Sweden came out with more jump, testing Raty early and often. The 17-year-old was prepared for the challenge, though, with impressive saves on Katarina Timglas and Jenni Asserholt from in close.

Raty brought Finnish fans to their feet late in the period with easily one of the nicest saves of the tournament. A Swedish 2-on-1 saw Timglas float a perfect pass to Pernilla Winberg, but Raty demonstrated her athleticism, doing the splits to stop the shot on the right side of her net.

Past the midway point of the second period, Winberg almost got loose on a breakaway, but Finnish blueliner Heidi Peltarri checked her from behind and stripped her of the puck. At the other end, Martin repeatedly stymied Finland’s long-range shots.

Then, just before the halfway mark of the third, with Sweden nursing a one-goal lead, Asserholt fed Danijella Rundqvist neatly on a 3-on-1 rush. This could have given Sweden a two-goal lead, but Rundqvist put the puck wide.

The physical play picked up as the final minutes ticked down. When Jenni Hiirikoski was called for bodychecking with 44 seconds left, it killed off Finland’s last hopes of an equalizer.

After the final siren, the Swedes hugged in a tight-locked circle in front of their net, threw away their sticks and gloves in celebration, and saluted the crowd with unison bows.

Rob van Rijswijk, event director of the International Ice Hockey Federation, assisted with presenting the bronze medals to Team Sweden.

The Swedes were still taking their post-game celebration photos at centre when Kim Martin came hobbling out on crutches. The team greeted her with cheers, and Erika Holst and Nanna Jansson skated over to her, picked her up, and carried her back to pose mid-photo with the team’s commemorative silver plate.

The Player of the Game for Finland was Noora Raty, and for Sweden it was Jenni Asserholt.

Finland’s best players of the tournament were named: Raty, Saija Sirvio, and Jenni Hiirikoski. For Sweden, it was Gunilla Andersson, Joa Elfsberg, and Pernilla Winberg.

In the past, Finland was consistently the third-best team in international women’s hockey, but after losing back-to-back World Championship bronze medal games to Sweden (not to mention fourth-place finishes in the last two Olympics), the Finns have taken a big step backwards. The Swedes, however, have shown steady improvement, and this win is a big one for their program.

TRE KRONOR CELEBRATES WHILE FINNS FEEL FORLORN

Earning three medals in three consecutive IIHF women’s tournaments has Team Sweden feeling pretty good about itself. On April 10, HockeyCanada.ca’s reporters caught up with both the victorious Swedes and the vanquished Finns to get full reaction after Sweden’s 1-0 win in the bronze medal game in Winnipeg.

Pernilla Winberg, Sweden: I’m really happy about it, and I’m proud of our team. We played pretty good, but we could have played better. It was just one goal, but that’s the most important thing. It means a lot. Most people know about us at home, and it’s really important for us to do something for our country.

Joa Elfsberg, Sweden: It was such a relief because we had a bronze medal [in 2005], but I wasn’t on the team. So this is my first. For the team it’s our second, so I really, really wanted this one. I am so tired! It was like the third game in three days.

Kim Martin, Sweden: [Regarding my late-game injury], it was my ACL or MCL. I’m not sure which. I don’t know what happened, if somebody pushed me, or if I fell. They don’t know yet, because it hurts too much to look at it, so we will see, but something is not right. Anyway, I love this team, we’re always doing our best all the time and never give up. It’s amazing how we can fight. It was such a close game and we were tired, and so was Finland, but I think we kept going out strong. Finland was better in the first period, but I think we took over and had great scoring opportunities. So I just love this. [As for the medal], it’s really important, especially when we took one at the Olympics, and keep on wining medals. It’s really good for women’s hockey back home.

Peter Elander, Head Coach, Sweden: I’m really proud of the team. We came together as a group. One girl was born in ’91, another born in ’75. There’s an age difference. It’s huge, but we still enjoy being together, and have respect for each other. So I think that’s the key. And Pernilla Winberg, who’s 18 years old, she was involved so much offensively. I don’t know how many points Hayley [Wickenheiser] had when she was 18, but I’m really proud of the team. I feel bad for [Kim] Martin, getting injured in the last five minutes of the game. Grahn stepped in for the last couple of minutes and made [a couple] of saves directly. She’s 18 years old, and I think she was nervous. [This year’s schedule] was opposite to the Halifax schedule [in 2004], where we played Canada and the US back-to-back and had no legs for the bronze medal game. You could see the same pattern here. Finland didn’t have legs in this case. There has to be some meeting about the scheduling. Otherwise it’s unfair competition.

Noora Raty, Finland: Our shots weren’t good enough. We have to get better shots. With only one goal let in, we should have won. We’re disappointed because we went hard and we were focused.

Hannu Saintula, Head Coach, Finland: I think we have to focus our energy on the future. The last four games we didn’t score any goals in regulation time. We have to understand that you can’t win games if you can’t score any goals. That’s our problem at this point. We have a couple other problems with player injuries, but this is not the right time to talk about these things. We have to think about how we can play a little better offensively.

---

Finland: Finland’s last game against the Swedes came Thursday night when it won in overtime with a single goal. Since then, the Finns have been shut out in their last two games against the USA and Canada. But in the bronze medal game, they’ve had more success historically than the archrival Swedes. Since 1990, the Finns have won World Championship bronze seven times. Netminder Noora Raty is almost a sure bet to start between the pipes. The poised 17-year-old is the only goalie Finland has used in this tournament, and has made 112 saves. But that number, which has swelled against the likes of Canada and the USA, might suggest a problem on the blueline. That’s especially true since Finland may be without veteran defenceman Kati Kovalainen, who left the game yesterday late in the third period with an unexplained injury. Saija Sirvio and the others will have to pick up their game to keep control of their end versus some of the larger Swedish forwards like Erika Holst and Maria Rooth. And to be blunt, the team needs more scoring from its forwards. In four games, they’ve scored just five goals, and they’ve been blanked in their last two outings. Mari Pehkonen and Mari Saarinen lead the team with a goal and an assist apiece, but others need to contribute more. They should be able to generate more scoring opportunities against a fellow second-tier team like Sweden. If Raty puts in another strong performance and the forwards can solve Sweden’s goaltending, the Finns just might take home their eighth bronze. Their motivation will be high, but they’ll also need to respond properly if things don’t go their way at the outset.

Sweden: The Swedes posted a record of three wins and one loss in Preliminary and Playoff Round action. Of course, the loss to Finland is the one thing they don’t want to repeat when a medal’s on the line. Since the start of the new millennium, the rivals have faced off against each other in a World Championship bronze medal game three times, the only exception coming in 2001 (where Russia beat Finland). The Swedes were overjoyed to win 5-2 on home ice in 2005 after losing to the Finns in 2000 and 2004. Sweden’s netminders have split duties in Winnipeg, and it’s harder to anticipate who will start today than one would have guessed before this tournament, given that Kim Martin was the Tre Kronor hero of the 2006 Turin Olympics, and has been considered by some to be the best female goalie in the world. Martin played well against the Finns on Thursday, stopping 25 shots before letting in the OT game-winner. But Sara Grahn’s been solid in her two games, and has a slightly better save percentage. The blueline corps, meanwhile, has also provided a solid performance. Playing in her record 12th World Championship, Gunilla Andersson is Sweden’s top-ranked defenceman, and she’s second among tournament defence scoring leaders. The Swedish forwards have dished up a balanced attack, but there are a few shining stars. Pernilla Winberg’s emerged as the overall team scoring leader with five goals and three assists. As expected, veterans Maria Rooth and Erika Holst have also come out strong, but they will have to keep it up against the Finns. The Swedes will have to be a little more aggressive on balance than they were in their last game against Finland if they want to repeat their 2005 bronze medal performance. And they may have found the offensive confidence they needed in their lopsided wins over China and Switzerland.

Carie Willson

 

Game Information
Game Number 19  Round Bronze Medal
Arena MTS Centre City, Country Winnipeg, Man., Canada
Month / Day / Year 04/10/2007 Time (local) 03:30 PM CT
Attendance 8444 Game Status Final

Box Score   1     2     3   Total
Finland (FIN) 0 0 0 0
Sweden (SWE) 0 0 1 1
Goals/Penalties
First Period
Goals:

Penalties:
   04:29 SWE 17 Ann-Louise Edstrand (Interference)
   06:46 SWE 2 Elin Holmlöv (High Sticking)
   09:26 FIN 18 Nora Tallus (Bodychecking)
   10:59 SWE 22 Emma Eliasson (Bodychecking)

Second Period
Goals:

Penalties:
   04:20 FIN 25 Mari Pehkonen (Tripping)
   05:41 FIN 15 Satu Hoikkala (Tripping)
   08:08 SWE 8 Erika Holst (Tripping)
   14:22 SWE 10 Emilia Andersson (Tripping)
   16:39 SWE 2 Elin Holmlöv (Slashing)
   19:20 FIN 27 Katariina Soikkanen (Tripping)

Third Period
Goals:
   02:37 SWE 7 Maria Rooth (8 Erika Holst)

Penalties:
   03:23 FIN 3 Emma Laaksonen (Bodychecking)
   07:21 SWE 3 Frida Nevalainen (Tripping)
   13:18 SWE 16 Pernilla Winberg (High Sticking)
   19:16 FIN 6 Jenni Hiirikoski (Bodychecking)


Goaltenders
Finland
1 Noora Räty On 1/00:00   Off 3/20:00
Sweden
30 Kim Martin On 1/00:00   Off 3/13:30
1 Sara Grahn On 3/13:30   Off 3/20:00

Shots on Goal   1     2     3   Total
Finland 10 10 8 28
Sweden 5 11 9 25

Player of Game
Finland 1 Noora Räty
Sweden 4 Jeni Asserholt
Officials
Referee WRAZIDLO Leah (USA)
Lines People BONIFACE Anne Sophie (FRA), RUMBLE Kerri (CAN)

Sommaire du Match
Finlande  0 -  Suède  1
 

Affrontement : Finlande 0 contre Suède 1, 15 h 30, Centre MTS | Sommaire de l'IIHF

LA SUÈDE RÉSISTE À LA FINLANDE ET REMPORTE LE BRONZE

Par Derek Jory

Ce n’est peut-être pas l’or, mais Équipe Suède est tout de même au comble du bonheur.

Malgré une blessure en troisième période à la gardienne étoile Kim Martin, la Suède a remporté la médaille de bronze du Championnat mondial féminin 2007 de l’IIHF en battant sa grande rivale, Équipe Finlande, 1 -0, mardi après-midi au Centre MTS.

Le but gagnant a été marqué par Maria Rooth à 2:37 de la troisième période lorsque le travail acharné d’Erika Holst dans la zone finlandaise a créé un revirement. Holst a décoché un tir du revers inoffensif vers le filet, mais Rooth l’a dévié de sa trajectoire ce qui a déjoué Noora Raty et la rondelle s’est faufilée entre ses jambières. Ce fut un but chanceux pour les Suédoises, mais ce fut suffisant.

Alors qu’il restait 6:30 au match, Martin a été bousculée devant le filet suédois et elle a dû quitter le match sur une civière après avoir affronté 25 tirs. Les ambulanciers ont accordé une attention particulière à sa jambe gauche. La gardienne substitut Sarah Grahn l’a remplacée et a effectué trois arrêts pour préserver la victoire.

La foule de 8 555 spectateurs a vu le Tre Konor remporter sa deuxième médaille de bronze de tous les temps (la première, également aux dépens de la Finlande, en 2005). Plusieurs spectateurs étaient vêtus de rouge et blanc en prévision du match de la médaille d’or opposant le Canada et les États-Unis qui allait suivre celui-ci.

C’était le deuxième affrontement du championnat entre ces rivales scandinaves, et celui-ci était semblable au premier que la Finlande avait remporté 1 -0 en prolongation en ronde préliminaire, à l’exception évidemment du résultat final.

Le manqué total de confiance de la Finlande à l’offensive est la raison pour laquelle l’équipe termine au quatrième rang. Les Finlandaises n’ont pas marqué en trois matchs consécutifs et elles n’ont jamais inscrit un but en temps réglementaire depuis celui marqué par Nora Tallus à 8:28 de la troisième période lors de leur premier match du tournoi, une victoire de 4 -0 sur la Russie, le 4 avril.

Raty, qui a disputé un autre excellent match, a effectué 27 arrêts devant le filet finlandais.

Ce fut la dernière d’une longue série de défaites amères de la Finlande face à la Suède au hockey international. La défaite de 3 -2 de l’équipe olympique masculine l’an dernier à Turin dans le match pour la médaille d’or est l’exemple le plus frappant.

La Suède conserve donc son troisième rang au classement mondial féminin de l’IIHF avec 2 825 points, tandis que la Finlande demeure au quatrième rang avec 2 755 points.

Au début du match, le marquage des joueuses était très serré et la Finlande a imposé l’allure du match. Les deux équipes ont eu des occasions de marquer, mais ce ne fut que vers la fin de la période que les équipes ont montré de vrais signes de vie. La Finlandaise Tallus s’est avancée à l’aile droite, a contourné une défenseure suédoise et a décoché un puissant tir vers Matin, tir que la gardienne a capté dans sa mitaine.

La deuxième période a été presque identique à la première, sauf que la Suède avait plus d’énergie, mettant Raty à l’épreuve tôt et plus souvent. La gardienne de 17 ans a été à la hauteur, effectuant des arrêts spectaculaires sur des tirs à bout portant de Katarina Timglas et Jenni Asserholt.

Les partisans de la Finlande se sont levés vers la fin de la période pour applaudir un des plus beaux arrêts du tournoi. Lors d’un 2 contre 1 dans le bas, Timglas a effectué une passe parfaite à Pernilla Winberg, mais Raty a prouvé sa grande forme en faisant le grand écart pour bloquer la rondelle qui se dirigeait vers le côté droit de son filet.

Vers le milieu de la deuxième période, Winberg a failli s’échapper, mais la défenseure finlandaise Heidi Peltarri l’a mise en échec par derrière et lui a dérobé la rondelle. À l’autre extrémité, Martin a constamment repoussé les tirs de loin de la Finlande.

Puis, un peu avant la moitié du dernier tiers, pendant que la Suède protégeait son avance d’un but, Asserholt a passé la rondelle à Daniela Diaz lors d’un 3 contre 1. La Suède aurait pu doubler son avance à 2 -0, mais Rundqvist a raté la cible.

Le jeu est devenu plus robuste au cours des dernières minutes. Lorsque Jenni Hiirikoski a été chassée pour mise en échec corporelle avec 44 secondes à jouer dans le match, la Finlande a perdu tout espoir de marquer le but égalisateur.

Après la dernière sirène, les Suédoises ont formé un cercle devant leur filet. Elles ont lancé leurs bâtons et leurs gants dans les airs et ont salué la foule en faisant une révérence.

Rob van Rijswijk, directeur des événements de la Fédération internationale de hockey sur glace, a pris part à la remise des médailles de bronze à Équipe Suède.

Les Suédoises étaient encore en train de poser pour des photos d’après-match lorsque Kim Martin s’est approchée en béquilles. L’équipe l’a applaudie et Erika Holst et Nanna Jansson se sont dirigées vers elle, l’ont ramassée et l’ont transportée pour qu’elle prenne place parmi ses coéquipières en tenant l’assiette commémorative argentée.

Noora Raty a été la joueuse du match de la Finlande et Jenni Asserholt a été la joueuse du match de la Suède.

On a procédé à la nomination des meilleures joueuses du tournoi pour la Finlande. Il s’agit de Raty, Saija Sirvio et Jenni Hiirikoski. Les meilleures joueuses de la Suède furent Gunilla Andersson, Joa Elfsberg et Pernilla Winberg.
Par le passé, la Finlande était constamment la troisième meilleure équipe au hockey féminin international, mais après avoir perdu deux matchs consécutifs pour la médaille de bronze à la Suède (sans parler de sa quatrième place aux deux derniers Jeux olympiques), les Finlandaises ont régressé de façon importante. Les Suédoises, cependant, ont montré une amélioration constante, et cette victoire est une étape importante pour leur programme.

LE TRE KONOR CÉLÈBRE PENDANT QUE LES FINLANDAISES SONT DÉSESPÉRÉES

Équipe Suède est au septième ciel après avoir remporté trois médailles à trois championnats mondiaux consécutifs de l’IIHF. Le 10 avril, les reporteurs de HockeyCanada.ca ont rencontré les Suédoises victorieuses et les Finlandaises perdantes pour connaître leur réaction à la suite de la victoire de 1 -0 de la Suède dans le match pour la médaille de bronze.

Pernilla Winberg, Suède : Je suis vraiment contente, et je suis fière de notre équipe. Nous avons bien joué, mais nous aurions pu faire mieux. Ce n’était qu’un but, mais c’est ce qu’il y a de plus important. Ça veut dire beaucoup. La plupart des gens ont entendu parler de nous chez nous, et c’est vraiment important pour nous de faire quelque chose pour notre pays.

Joa Elfsberg, Suède : Ce fut un tel soulagement parce que nous avions une médaille de bronze [en 2005], mais je ne faisais pas partie de l’équipe. Alors, celle-ci est ma première. Pour l’équipe, c’est la deuxième, alors je la voulais vraiment celle-ci. Je suis si fatiguée! C’était notre troisième match en trois jours.

Kim Martin, Suède : [Concernant ma blessure en fin de match], c’est mon ligament croisé antérieur ou mon ligament latéral interne du genou. Je ne sais pas lequel. Je ne sais pas ce qui s’est produit, si quelqu’un m’a poussé ou si je suis tombée. Ils ne savent pas encore, parce que ça fait trop mal pour l’examiner. On va attendre. Mais quelque chose ne va pas. De toute façon, j’adore cette équipe. Nous faisons toujours de notre mieux et nous n’abandonnons jamais. C’est fantastique la façon dont nous bataillons. C’était un match tellement serré et nous étions fatiguées, et la Finlande aussi, mais je pense que nous avons continué de travailler fort. La Finlande a été meilleure que nous en première période, mais je pense que nous avons pris le contrôle et que nous avons eu de bonnes occasions de marquer. J’aime ça. [Quant à la médaille], c’est vraiment important, surtout que nous en avions gagné une aux Olympiques, nous devons continuer de gagner des médailles. C’est vraiment bon pour le hockey féminin chez nous.  

Peter Elander, entraîneur-chef, Suède : Je suis vraiment fier de l’équipe. Nous avons formé un groupe uni. Une fille est née en 1995, une autre en 1975. Il y a une différence d’âge. C’est énorme, mais nous aimons être ensemble et nous nous respectons les uns les autres. Je pense que c’est ça la clé. Et Pernilla Winberg, qui a 18 ans, a tellement participé à l’offensive. Je ne sais pas combien de points Hayley [Wickenheiser] avait à 18 ans, mais je suis vraiment fier de l’équipe. Je me sens mal pour [Kim] Martin, blessée au cours des cinq dernières minutes du match. Grahn a pris la relève pendant les dernières minutes et a bloqué [quelques] tirs directs. Elle a 18 ans, et je pense qu’elle était nerveuse. [Le calendrier cette année] était à l’opposé du calendrier de Halifax [en 2004], où nous avons affronté le Canada et les États-Unis un après l’autre et nous n’avions plus de jambes pour le match pour la médaille de bronze. Le même schéma s’est répété ici, mais cette fois-ci, c’est la Finlande qui n’avait plus de jambes. On devra avoir une réunion à propos du calendrier. Autrement, la compétition est injuste.

Noora Raty, Finlande : Nos tirs n’étaient pas assez bons. Nous devons améliorer nos tirs. Ayant accordé un seul but, nous aurions dû gagner. Nous sommes déçues parce que nous avons travaillé fort et que nous étions concentrées.

Hannu Saintula, entraîneur-chef, Finlande : Je pense que nous devons concentrer notre énergie sur le futur. Au cours de nos quatre derniers matchs, nous n’avons marqué aucun but en temps réglementaire. Nous devons comprendre qu’il est impossible de gagner des matchs si on est incapable de marquer. C’est notre problème en ce moment. Nous avons quelques autres problèmes avec des joueuses de blessées, mais ce n’est pas le moment pour parler de ces choses-là. Nous devons penser à une façon de mieux jouer offensivement.

---

Finlande : À son dernier match contre la Suède, jeudi soir, la Finlande a inscrit une victoire de 1 -0 en prolongation. Depuis ce match, la Finlande a été blanchie à ses deux derniers matchs contre le Canada et les États-Unis. Mais lors de matchs pour la médaille de bronze, elles ont connu plus de succès que leurs grandes rivales de la Suède au fil des ans. Depuis 1990, les Finlandaises ont remporté le bronze au championnat mondial à sept reprises. La gardienne Noora Raty sera probablement devant le filet. La jeune femme de 17 ans, qui est d’un grand calme, est la seule gardienne à qui la Finlande a fait appel à ce tournoi, et elle a effectué 112 arrêts. Mais ce nombre, qui a augmenté considérablement lors des matchs contre le Canada et les États-Unis, laisse peut-être sous-entendre une faiblesse à la ligne bleue. Cela sera surtout vrai si la défenseure d’expérience Kati Kavalainen est absente ce soir après avoir quitté le match d’hier vers la fin de la troisième période avec une blessure inexpliquée. Saija Sirvio et les autres devront rehausser leur jeu d’un cran si elles veulent exercer le contrôle dans leur propre extrémité face à certaines avants suédoises plus imposantes, comme Erika Holst et Maria Rooth. Et parlons franchement, les avants doivent marquer plus souvent. En quatre matchs, elles n’ont marqué que cinq buts, et elles ont été blanchies à leurs deux derniers matchs. Mari Pehkonen et Mari Saarinen sont au premier rang des pointeuses avec chacune un but et une aide, mais les autres doivent faire plus. Elles devraient être capables de créer plus d’occasions de marquer face à une équipe comme la Suède. Si Raty offre une autre belle performance et si les avants parviennent à déjouer la gardienne suédoise, les Finlandaises pourraient bien remporter leur huitième médaille de bronze. Elles seront très motivées, mais elles devront aussi réagir correctement si les choses ne tournent pas comme elles le voudraient en début de rencontre.

Suède : Les Suédoises ont cumulé une fiche de trois victoires et une défaite en ronde préliminaire et éliminatoire. Évidemment, la défaite à la Finlande est une chose qu’elles ne veulent pas répéter lorsqu’une médaille est en jeu. Depuis le début du nouveau millénaire, ces rivales se sont affrontées trois fois pour la médaille de bronze au championnat mondial, la seule exception survenant en 2001 (lorsque la Russie a battu la Finlande). Les Suédoises ont été ravies de leur victoire de 5 -2, à domicile, en 2005 après les défaites subies en 2000 et 2004. Les gardiennes suédoises se sont partagé la tâche à Winnipeg, et il est difficile de prévoir qui sera devant le filet cet après-midi. Au début du tournoi, tous auraient prédit que Kim Martin serait devant le filet. Après tout, elle a été l’héroïne du Tre Konor aux Jeux olympiques de 2006 à Turin, et plusieurs la considèrent comme la meilleure gardienne au monde. Martin a bien fait contre la Finlande, jeudi, repoussant 25 tirs avant d’accorder le but gagnant en prolongation. Mais Sarah Grahn a bien fait elle aussi à ses deux matchs et son pourcentage d’arrêt est légèrement supérieur à celui de Martin. Les défenseures ont elles aussi fait du bon travail. Prenant part à son 12e championnat mondial, Gunilla Andersson est la meilleure défenseure de son équipe, et elle occupe le deuxième rang des pointeuses parmi les défenseures du tournoi. Les avants suédoises ont présenté une offensive équilibrée, mais il y a quelques joueuses étoiles. Pernilla Winberg est en tête des pointeuses de l’équipe avec cinq buts et trois aides. Comme prévu, les vétérantes Maria Rooth et Erika Holst ont aussi connu un excellent tournoi, mais elles devront continuer de la sorte contre les Finlandaises. Dans l’ensemble, la Suède devra être plus agressive qu’à son dernier match contre la Finlande si elle veut remporter une autre médaille de bronze. Qui sait? Les Suédoises ont peut-être développé la confiance nécessaire à l’offensive après avoir remporté facilement leurs matchs contre la Chine et la Suisse.

Carie Willson

 

Renseignements sur le match
Numéro de match 19  Ronde Médaille bronze
Aréna MTS Centre Ville, Pays Winnipeg, Man., Canada
Moi / Jour / Année 04/10/2007 Heure (local) 15h30 CT
Assistance 8444 Statut de jeu Finale

Compte   1     2     3   Totale
Finlande (FIN) 0 0 0 0
Suède (SWE) 0 0 1 1
Buts/Pénalités
Première Période
Buts:

Pénalités:
   04:29 SWE 17 Ann-Louise Edstrand (Obstruction)
   06:46 SWE 2 Elin Holmlöv (Bâton élevé)
   09:26 FIN 18 Nora Tallus (Mise en échec corporelle)
   10:59 SWE 22 Emma Eliasson (Mise en échec corporelle)

Deuxieme Période
Buts:

Pénalités:
   04:20 FIN 25 Mari Pehkonen (Faire trébucher)
   05:41 FIN 15 Satu Hoikkala (Faire trébucher)
   08:08 SWE 8 Erika Holst (Faire trébucher)
   14:22 SWE 10 Emilia Andersson (Faire trébucher)
   16:39 SWE 2 Elin Holmlöv (Coup de bâton)
   19:20 FIN 27 Katariina Soikkanen (Faire trébucher)

Troisième Période
Buts:
   02:37 SWE 7 Maria Rooth (8 Erika Holst)

Pénalités:
   03:23 FIN 3 Emma Laaksonen (Mise en échec corporelle)
   07:21 SWE 3 Frida Nevalainen (Faire trébucher)
   13:18 SWE 16 Pernilla Winberg (Bâton élevé)
   19:16 FIN 6 Jenni Hiirikoski (Mise en échec corporelle)


Gardiens de but
Finlande
1 Noora Räty Entrée 1/00:00   Sortie 3/20:00
Suède
30 Kim Martin Entrée 1/00:00   Sortie 3/13:30
1 Sara Grahn Entrée 3/13:30   Sortie 3/20:00

Tirs au but   1     2     3   Totale
Finlande 10 10 8 28
Suède 5 11 9 25

Joueur du match
Finlande 1 Noora Räty
Suède 4 Jeni Asserholt
Officiels
Arbitre WRAZIDLO Leah (USA)
Juges de lignes BONIFACE Anne Sophie (FRA), RUMBLE Kerri (CAN)