Red 6 - White 2

KOHANCHUK SCORES TWICE, SZABADOS STOPS 37 PUCKS FOR RED’S 6-2 COMEBACK WIN

CALGARY, Alta. – Shannon Szabados (Edmonton, Alta./Northern Alberta Institute of Technology/ACAC) stood on her head Thursday night, making an impressive 37 saves to help Red stage a serious comeback by snagging a 6-2 win over White in Canada’s National Women’s Program Red-White Series, taking place this week at Hockey Canada’s home arena.

It was a huge win after a tough loss Wednesday evening, when White topped Red 3-1 to open the series featuring the top 40 female hockey players from across the country.

It was White to crack the scoreboard first Thursday, with Gillian Apps (Unionville, Ont./Brampton, CWHL) putting the puck behind Szabados at 14:44 in the first. But it was a short-lived lead, and the only one of the game for White, as Jayna Hefford (Kingston, Ont./Brampton, CWHL) tied it up less than a minute later for Red. Jenelle Kohanchuk (Winnipeg, Man./Boston University, HE) quickly broke the tie and sealed the lead for Red, scoring her first of the night on an assist from Melodie Daoust (Valleyfield, Que./McGill University, CIS) to make it 2-1 going into the intermission.

Daoust continued to show off some stellar stick work in the second, feeding Brigette Lacquette (Waterhen, Man./University of Minnesota Duluth, WCHA) at 3:19 to widen the gap to 3-1 over White, and a few minutes later helping out Kohanchuk again, who made it 4-1 at 7:21 in the period. White battled hard to solve Szabados, but the crafty netminder protected her net at all costs, and Rebecca Johnston (Sudbury, Ont./Toronto, CWHL) made it even harder for the opposition by putting an unassisted puck into the net at 8:45 to make it 5-1 midway through the middle frame.

White was able to hold off Red through the latter half of the second period, and flew out onto the ice in the third with fire beneath their skates. Their hard work paid off when White was sent to the box, and blueliner Lauriane Rougeau (Beaconsfield, Que./Cornell University, ECAC) was able to step up on the power play and narrow the scoresheet to 5-2, although still in favour of Red.

But in the end the night belonged to Red, with Haley Irwin (Thunder Bay, Ont./Montreal, CWHL) sealing the deal at 9:11 in the third, and notching her third point of the night. Red skated away with the 6-2 win, and tied up the intrasquad series at one game apiece.

Want to find out which team will claim series victory at Canada’s National Women’s Program Red-White Series? Come out to the Markin MacPhail MacPhail Centre in Calgary to catch the final game live at 10 a.m. MT on Saturday, Aug. 24, or if you can’t be there, follow all of the action from the rink at www.Twitter.com/HC_Women.
---

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Game #/No. de match 2 Round/Ronde -
Arena/Aréna Markin MacPhail Centre – Rink A Location/Lieu Calgary, Alta.
Date Thursday, August 22, 2013
Time/Heure 7 p.m. MT

 

Box Score/Compte 1 2 3 Total
RED 2 3 1 6
WHT
1 0 1 2

 

Goals & Penalties/Buts et punitions
First Period/Première période
Goals/Buts :
14:44 WHT Gillian Apps (Kimberly Newell, Vicki Bendus)
15:26 RED Jayna Hefford (Marie-Philip Poulin)
16:32 RED Jenelle Kohanchuk (Melodie Daoust, Haley Irwin)

Penalties/Pénalités :
04:52 RED Meaghen Mikkelson (Body-checking/Mise en echec corporelle)
08:33 RED Tara Watchorn (Hooking/Accrocher)
Second Period/Deuxième période
Goals/Buts :
03:19 RED Brigette Lacquette (Melodie Daoust, Jocelyne Larocque)
07:21 RED Jenelle Kohanchuk (Melodie Daoust, Haley Irwin)
08:45 RED Rebecca Johnston

Penalties/Pénalités :
10:33 RED Melodie Daoust (Holding/Retenir)
16:58 WHT Caroline Ouellette (Slashing/Coup de bâton)
Third Period/Troisième période
Goals/Buts :
04:01 WHT Lauriane Rougeau (Caroline Ouellette, Vicki Bendus) PP/AN
09:11 RED Haley Irwin (Nicole Kosta, Laura Fortino)

Penalties/Pénalités :
02:45 RED Tara Watchorn (Boarding/Donner de la bande)
10:56 RED Jennifer Wakefield (Interference/Obstruction)

 

Goaltenders/Gardiennes de but
RED Shannon Szabados
WHT Kimberly Newell

 

Shots on Goal/Tirs au but 1 2 3 Total
RED 8 7 7 22
WHT 12 17 10 39

Rouges 6 - Blancs 2

DEUX BUTS DE KOHANCHUK ET 37 ARRÊTS DE SZABADOS PERMETTENT AUX ROUGES DE RÉPLIQUER AVEC UN GAIN DE 6-2

CALGARY, Alb. – Shannon Szabados (Edmonton, Alb./Northern Alberta Institute of Technology/ACAC) a été étincelante jeudi soir, réalisant 37 arrêts pour aider les Rouges à rebondir avec force en l’emportant 6-2 contre les Blancs dans la série Rouges-Blancs du Programme national féminin du Canada, qui se tient cette semaine, au domicile de Hockey Canada.

Il s’agit d’une grosse victoire pour les Rouges après un dur revers subi mercredi soir face aux Blancs, 3-1, en lever de rideau de cette série mettant en vedette les 40 meilleures joueuses de hockey du pays.

Les Blancs ont ouvert la marque jeudi, alors que Gillian Apps (Unionville, Ont./Brampton, LCHF) a battu Szabados à 14 min 44 s du premier vingt. Toutefois, cette avance aura été de courte durée et la seule des Blancs dans la partie. Jayna Hefford (Kingston, Ont./Brampton, LCHF) a créé l’égalité moins d’une minute plus tard pour les Rouges. Jenelle Kohanchuk (Winnipeg, Man./Université de Boston, HE) a rapidement brisé cette égalité et donné une avance de 2-1 aux Rouges avant le premier entracte, inscrivant son premier de la soirée, aidée de Mélodie Daoust (Valleyfield, Qc/Université McGill, SIC).

Daoust a poursuivi sa brillante démonstration avec son bâton au deuxième tiers, alimentant Brigette Lacquette (Waterhen, Man./Université de Minnesota Duluth, WCHA) à 3 min 19 s, pour accroître l’écart à deux buts. Quelques minutes plus tard, Daoust a participé au but de Kohanchuk, portant le compte à 4-1 à 7 min 21 s de la période. Les Blancs ont bataillé avec force pour résoudre l’énigme Szabados, mais la gardienne rusée a tout fait pour protéger son filet. Rebecca Johnston (Sudbury, Ont./Toronto, LCHF) a compliqué les choses pour les Blancs en comptant sans aide et c’était 5-1 à mi-chemin dans la rencontre.

Les Blancs ont été en mesure de contrer les Rouges au cours de la seconde moitié de la deuxième période et ont patiné avec vigueur au troisième tiers. Leur travail ardu a porté ses fruits, alors que la défenseure Lauriane Rougeau (Beaconsfield, Qc/Université Cornell, ECAC) a été en mesure de réduire l’écart à trois filets pendant un jeu de puissance.

Toutefois, le reste de la soirée a été l’affaire des Rouges. Haley Irwin (Thunder Bay, Ont./Montréal, LCHF) a fermé les livres à 9 min 11 s de la troisième période, récoltant un troisième point dans la partie. Les Rouges l’ont emporté 6-2, créant l’égalité 1-1 dans cette série intraéquipe.

Vous aimeriez savoir qui remportera cette série Rouges-Blancs du Programme national féminin du Canada? Rendez-vous au Markin MacPhail MacPhail Centre de Calgary pour le dernier duel le samedi 24 août à 10 h HR. Si vous ne pouvez être là, suivez l’action au www.Twitter.com/HC_Féminin.
---

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Game #/No. de match 2 Round/Ronde -
Arena/Aréna Markin MacPhail Centre – Rink A Location/Lieu Calgary, Alb.
Date Jeudi 22 août 2013 Time/Heure 7:00 p.m. MT

 

Box Score/Compte 1 2 3 Total
RED 2 3 2 6
WHT
1 0 1 2

 

Goals & Penalties/Buts et punitions
First Period/Première période
Goals/Buts :
14:44 WHT Gillian Apps (Kimberly Newell, Vicki Bendus)
15:26 RED Jayna Hefford (Marie-Philip Poulin)
16:32 RED Jenelle Kohanchuk (Melodie Daoust, Haley Irwin)

Penalties/Pénalités :
04:52 RED Meaghen Mikkelson (Body-checking/Mise en echec corporelle)
08:33 RED Tara Watchorn (Hooking/Accrocher)
Second Period/Deuxième période
Goals/Buts :
03:19 RED Brigette Lacquette (Melodie Daoust, Jocelyne Larocque)
07:21 RED Jenelle Kohanchuk (Melodie Daoust, Haley Irwin)
08:45 RED Rebecca Johnston

Penalties/Pénalités :
10:33 RED Melodie Daoust (Holding/Retenir)
16:58 WHT Caroline Ouellette (Slashing/Coup de bâton)
Third Period/Troisième période
Goals/Buts :
04:01 WHT Lauriane Rougeau (Caroline Ouellette, Vicki Bendus) PP/AN
09:11 RED Haley Irwin (Nicole Kosta, Laura Fortino)

Penalties/Pénalités :
02:45 RED Tara Watchorn (Boarding/Donner de la bande)
10:56 RED Jennifer Wakefield (Interference/Obstruction)

 

Goaltenders/Gardiennes de but
RED Shannon Szabados
WHT Kimberly Newell

 

Shots on Goal/Tirs au but 1 2 3 Total
RED 8 7 7 22
WHT 12 17 10 39