Game Summary
Canada 4 - United States 3 (OT)
 

WARD SCORES OVERTIME WINNER AS CANADA WINS UNDER-22 SERIES

PIERREFONDS, QC – Another day, another comeback for Canada’s National Women’s Under-22 Team.

Catherine Ward (Montreal, QC/McGill University, CIS) scored 48 seconds into overtime as Canada fought back from a 3-0 deficit late in the second period to score a 4-3 win over the USA on Saturday morning in the third and final game of the series between the two women’s hockey rivals.

Canada also fought back from a three-goal deficit in Wednesday night’s series opener, a game it lost 4-3 in a shootout. It evened the series with a 7-2 win on Friday night.

The Canadians have now won seven of the last nine games against the USA, with the only two losses coming in extra time – one in overtime in 2006 and Wednesday night’s shootout loss. Canada has not lost to the Americans in regulation time since August 23, 2003.

After an end-to-end opening 10 minutes that saw both teams denied on scoring chances, it was the Americans who got on the board first as Sam Faber beat Canadian goaltender Christina Kessler (Oakville, ON/Harvard University, CIS), and Crysti Howser made it 2-0 just 2:29 later.

Canada came out with jump in the second period, outshooting the Americans 15-6, but the USA would push their lead to 3-0 at the 15:20 mark as Jocelyne Lamoureux beat Liz Knox (Stouffville, ON/Wilfrid Laurier University, CIS), who had replaced Kessler at the midway point of the period.

Facing another three-goal deficit, the Canadians used their powerplay to get back into the game as Jennifer Wakefield (Pickering, ON/University of New Hampshire, HE) got Canada on the board, cruising through the slot and snapping a shot past American netminder Molly Schaus 68 seconds after Lamoureux’s goal.

Fifty seconds later, with Canada enjoying another man advantage, Emmanuelle Blais (Montreal, QC/University of Minnesota-Duluth, WCHA) picked up the rebound off a shot from Haley Irwin (Thunder Bay, ON/University of Minnesota-Duluth, WCHA) and beat Schaus to cut the American lead to one at 3-2 heading to the second intermission.

Riding a wave of momentum entering the third period, Canada drew a pair of American penalties on the same play early in the frame and enjoyed a two-man advantage for a full two minutes.

Lauriane Rougeau (Beaconsfield, QC/St-Jérôme, Collégial AA) made sure the opportunity would not go to waste, snapping a shot from the point that found its way through traffic and past Schaus for the third Canadian goal in 7:01, completing the comeback and pulling Canada even at 3-3.

Neither team could break the deadlock in the final 16 minutes, sending the game to overtime where Ward struck quickly, sneaking in from her blueline position and poking a loose puck past Schaus for the game winner.

Canada outshot the Americans 36-25 overall.

Canada’s National Women’s Under-22 Team will return to the ice next in January, when it travels to Ravensburg, Germany for the 2009 MLP Cup (formerly the Air Canada Cup), a tournament Canada has won six consecutive years.

The roster for the MLP Cup will be announced in December.

 

Game Information/Reseignements sur le match
Event/Événement Series vs. USA Location/Emplacement Pierrefonds, QC
Date Sat. Aug. 23, 2008 Arena/Aréna Pierrefonds Sportplexe
Time/Heure 09:30 ET Attendance/Assistance 352
Round/Ronde Exhibition Game # 3

 

Box Score/Compte

1

2

3

Final OT

CAN

-

2

1

4

USA

2

1

0

3

 

Goals/Penalties
First Period/Première période

Goals/Buts :
14:25 USA Faber (M. Lamoureux, Schleper)
16:54 USA Howser (Bellamy)

Penalties/Pénalités :
2:15 CAN Birchard (Boarding/Assaut)
4:52 USA Prough (Interference/Obstruction)
10:26 USA Faber (Hooking/Accrocher)
17:06 CAN Wakefield (Hooking/Accrocher)

Second Period/Deuxième période

Goals/Buts :
15:30 USA J. Lamoureux (M. Lamoureux, Marvin) PP
16:38 CAN Wakefield (Smith) PP
17:28 CAN Blais (Irwin, Rougeau) PP

Penalties/Pénalités :
2:00 USA Schleper (Bodychecking/Mise en échec)
2:22 CAN Karpenko (Tripping/Trébucher)
8:07 USA Stack (Highsticking/Bâton élevé)
13:39 CAN Karpenko (Interference/Obstruction)
16:04 USA Fardelmann (Hooking/Accrocher)
17:09 USA Marvin (Hooking/Accrocher)

Third Period/Troisième période

Goals/Buts :
03:39 CAN Rougeau (Fridfinsson) PP2

Penalties/Pénalités :
01:18 CAN Bettez (Hooking/Accrocher)
02:44 USA Fardelmann (Roughing/Rudesse)
02:44 USA Bellamy (Roughing after the whistle/Rudesse après l’arrêt du jeu)
16:28 CAN Fridfinsson (Tripping/Trébucher)

Overtime/Prolongation

Goals/Buts :
0:48 CAN Ward (Johnston, Bendus)

Penalties/Pénalités :
None/Aucun

 

Goaltenders CAN Christina Kessler
Liz Knox (2nd/10:10)
Gardiens de but USA Molly Schaus

Shots on Goal Team 1 p 2 p 3 p Ttl in OT
Shots on Goal CAN 8 15 13 36
Tirs au but USA 13 6 6 25

Referee/Arbitre Mélanie Bordeleau
Linesmen/Juges des lignes Denise Caughey, Hélène Roy

Sommaire du Match
Canada 4 - United States 3 OT
 

WARD COMPTE EN PROLONGATION POUR DONNER AU CANADA LA VICTOIRE DANS LA SÉRIE DES MOINS DE 22 ANS

PIERREFONDS (PQ) – Et d’une autre remontée spectaculaire pour l’équipe nationale féminine des moins de 22 ans du Canada.

Catherine Ward (Montreal, Qc./McGill, USIC) a compter après 48 secondes de jeu en prolongation pour compléter une remontée spectaculaire d’un déficit de 3-0 tard en deuxième période, méritant une victoire de 4-3 contre les États-Unis samedi matin dans le troisième et ultime match de la série entre les deux rivaux de hockey féminin.

Le Canada avait également effectué une remontée de trois buts lors du match d’ouverture mercredi soir, mais avait éventuellement perdu ce match 4-3 en tirs de barrage. Le Canada avait égalé la série avec une victoire de 7-2 vendredi soir.

Les canadiennes ont maintenant remporté sept de leur neuf derniers matchs contre les États-Unis, et les deux défaites sont venu en temps supplémentaire – en prolongation en 2006 et en tirs de barrage mercredi. Le Canada n’a pas perdu aux États-Unis en temps réglementaire depuis le 23 août 2003.

Après dix minutes disputées à vive allure pour débuter le match, ce sont les américaines qui ont ouvert la marque lorsque Sam Faber a déjoué la gardienne canadienne Christina Kessler (Oakville, Ont./Harvard, USIC), et Crysti Howser a porté la marque à 2-0 2 :29 plus tard.

Le Canada s’est lancé à l’attaque en deuxième, dominant au chapitre des lancers 15-6, mais les États-Unis out néanmoins ajouté à leur avance à 3-0, à 15:20, lorsque Jocelyne Lamoureux a déjoué Liz Knox (Stouffville, Ont./Wilfrid Laurier, USIC), qui avait remplacé Kessler au milieu de la deuxième période.

En retard de trois buts, les canadiennes ont profité d’avantages numériques pour réduire l’écart. Jennifer Wakefield (Pickering, Ont./ New Hampshire, HE) a inscrit le premier filet du Canada, saisissant une rondelle libre devant le filet et comptant au dépens de la gardienne américaine Molly Schaus seulement 68 secondes après le but de Lamoureux.

Cinquante secondes plus tard, de nouveau en attaque à cinq, Emmanuelle Blais (Montreal, Qc./ Minnesota-Duluth, WCHA) a saisi le retour d’un lancer de Haley Irwin (Thunder Bay, Ont./University of Minnesota-Duluth, WCHA) pour réduire l’écart à un seul but à l’entracte.

Avec le momentum, le Canada s’est lancé à l’attaque, incitant les États-Unis à prendre deux punitions lors de la même séquence, se dotant d’une supériorité de deux joueurs pendant deux pleines minutes.

Lauriane Rougeau (Beaconsfield, Qc/St-Jérôme, Collégial AA) n’a pas laissé passer cette opportunité, décochant un lancer rapide de la pointe qui s’est retrouvé dans le filet derrière Schaus, qui était voilé, pour un troisième but canadien à 7:01. Le remontée était complétée et le match était à 3-3.

Aucun but dans les 13 dernières minutes de jeu, forçant la tenue d’une période de prolongation. Rapidement, Ward y est allé du but vainqueur, quittant son poste à la ligne blue pour déposer une rondelle libre derrière Schaus.

Au total, le Canada a dominé au chapitre des lancers 36-25.

L’équipe nationale féminine des moins de 22 ans du Canada sera de nouveau en action en janvier, lorsqu’elle se transportera à Ravensburg, en Allemagne pour la Coupe MLP 2009 (anciennement la Coupe Air Canada), une tournoi que le Canada a remporté au cours des six dernières années.

Un alignement pour la Coupe MLP sera annoncé en décembre.

 

Game Information/Reseignements sur le match
Event/Événement Series vs. USA Location/Emplacement Pierrefonds, QC
Date Sat. Aug. 23, 2008 Arena/Aréna Pierrefonds Sportplexe
Time/Heure 09:30 ET Attendance/Assistance 352
Round/Ronde Exhibition Game # 3

 

Box Score/Compte

1

2

3

Final OT

CAN

-

2

1

4

USA

2

1

0

3

 

Goals/Penalties
First Period/Première période

Goals/Buts :
14:25 USA Faber (M. Lamoureux, Schleper)
16:54 USA Howser (Bellamy)

Penalties/Pénalités :
2:15 CAN Birchard (Boarding/Assaut)
4:52 USA Prough (Interference/Obstruction)
10:26 USA Faber (Hooking/Accrocher)
17:06 CAN Wakefield (Hooking/Accrocher)

Second Period/Deuxième période

Goals/Buts :
15:30 USA J. Lamoureux (M. Lamoureux, Marvin) PP
16:38 CAN Wakefield (Smith) PP
17:28 CAN Blais (Irwin, Rougeau) PP

Penalties/Pénalités :
2:00 USA Schleper (Bodychecking/Mise en échec)
2:22 CAN Karpenko (Tripping/Trébucher)
8:07 USA Stack (Highsticking/Bâton élevé)
13:39 CAN Karpenko (Interference/Obstruction)
16:04 USA Fardelmann (Hooking/Accrocher)
17:09 USA Marvin (Hooking/Accrocher)

Third Period/Troisième période

Goals/Buts :
03:39 CAN Rougeau (Fridfinsson) PP2

Penalties/Pénalités :
01:18 CAN Bettez (Hooking/Accrocher)
02:44 USA Fardelmann (Roughing/Rudesse)
02:44 USA Bellamy (Roughing after the whistle/Rudesse après l’arrêt du jeu)
16:28 CAN Fridfinsson (Tripping/Trébucher)

Overtime/Prolongation

Goals/Buts :
0:48 CAN Ward (Johnston, Bendus)

Penalties/Pénalités :
None/Aucun

 

Goaltenders CAN Christina Kessler Liz Knox (2nd/10:10)
Gardiens de but USA Molly Schaus

Shots on Goal Team 1 p 2 p 3 p Ttl in OT
Shots on Goal CAN 8 15 13 36
Tirs au but USA 13 6 6 25

Referee/Arbitre ---
Linesmen/Juges des lignes ---