Game Summary
Canada 7 - Finland 5
 

CANADA WINS OFFENSIVE SHOOTOUT TO CLAIM 2008 EUROPEAN AIR CANADA CUP

RAVENSBURG, Germany – For the sixth time in as many tries, Canada’s National Women’s Under-22 Team has won gold at the European Air Canada Cup, capping a perfect 2007-08 season for the team – a three-game sweep of the USA in August and a gold in Germany – the first time that has ever happened.

Canada topped Finland 7-5 in Sunday’s final to claim gold.

Despite early pressure in the Finnish zone in the opening minutes of play, the Canadians were not able to solve goaltender Maija Hassinen, and it was Finland who got on the scoreboard first when Venla Hiirikoski beat Canadian netminder Shannon Szabados (Edmonton, AB/Grant MacEwan College, ACAC) on a breakaway just 6:06 in.

The Finns upped the lead to 2-0 with a powerplay marker at 15:27, as Karolina Rantamaki found Mari Pehkonen waiting alone beside the Canadian gold. Szabados was able to make that save, but the rebound was cleared to Jenni Hiirikoski at the top of the circle, and she made no mistake.

Canada came out hungry at the start of the second period and got one back early, as Jesse Scanzano (Montreal, QC/Mercyhurst College, CHA) drove the rebound from a Cristin Allen (Pickering, ON/University of Connecticut, Hockey East) point shot between the pads of Hassinen on the powerplay at 4:53

Canadian determination was awarded again at 7:55 as Scanzano chased down a loose puck that had been headmanned by Dominique Thibault (L’Orignal, ON/University of Connecticut, Hockey East). Scanzano centred to Jennifer Wakefield (Pickering, ON/University of NewHampshire, Hockey East) who beat Haasinen to knot the game at 2-2.

Just 27 seconds later Canada generated another 2 on 1 rush and Valerie Chouinard (Matane, QC/Mercyhurst College, CHA) converted a pass from Meghan Agosta (Ruthven, ON/Mercyhurst College, CHA) to put Canada ahead for the first time, 3-2.

However, the lead was short lived as the Finns evened the score at 10:08 on the powerplay as Michelle Karvinen deflected an Emma Laaksonen shot past Szabados. The Finnish powerplay clicked again at 15:06 as Terhi Mertanen beat Szabados high to the glove side through a screen, but Canada capped off the scoring in a wild 20 minutes as Haley Irwin (Thunder Bay, ON/University of Minnesota-Duluth,WCHA) took a pass from Stephanie Jones (Grande Prairie, AB/Mercyhurst College, CHA) off the rush and beat Haasinen from the high slot to tie the score heading into the intermission.

The Agosta-Chouinard-Johnston trio started the third period for Canada and took only 10 seconds to restore the lead as Agosta snapped up a rebound off a shot from Chouinard and deposited it past Hassinen, but Finland tied the score quickly once again at 1:36 as Jenni Hiirikoski was able to poke an unsmothered rebound over to an open Emma Laaksonen in a goal-mouth scramble.

Catherine Ward (Montreal, QC/McGill University, CIS) put Canada ahead for good just past the seven-minute mark as she used a Finnish defender as a screen to blast a long slapshot past Hassinen, and Rebecca Johnston (Sudbury, ON/Cornell University, ECAC) rounded out the scoring and converted Canada’s touchdown at 18:48, scoring on a breakaway with a nifty deke.

Canada outshot Finland 13-5 in the decisive third period and 39-32 overall.

In addition to the gold medal and trophy, Canada will also bring home some individual hardware. Agosta, who led Canada, and the tournament, in scoring with 12 points (five goals, seven assists) in four games was named Top Forward and also earned a spot on the tournament all-star team, where she was joined by blueliner Melanie Gagnon (St. Adolph, MB/University of Minnesota, WCHA), who wrapped up her Under-22 career with her fifth gold medal.

 

Game Information/Reseignements sur le match
Event/Événement European Air Canada Cup Location/Emplacement Ravensburg, GER
Date Sun. Jan. 6, 2008 Arena/Aréna Ravensburg Arena
Time/Heure 20:00 (local) Attendance/Assistance -,---
Round/Ronde Gold Medal Game # 10

 

Box Score/Compte

1

2

3

Final

CAN

0

4

3

7

FIN

2

2

1

5

 

Goals/Penalties
First Period/Première période

Goals/Buts :
FIN Venla Heikkilä (Mari Saarinen, Nina Tikkinen) 6:06
FIN Jenni Hiirikoski (Karoliina Rantamäki, Marik Pekhonen) 15:27 PP

Penalties/Pénalités :
CAN Mallory Deluce (Interference) 1:12
CAN Amanda Shaw (Tripping) 7:35
CAN Laura Fridfinnson (Hooking) 14:51

Second Period/Deuxième période

Goals/Buts :
CAN Jesse Scanzano (Cristin Allen, Jocelyne Larocque) 4:53 PP
CAN Jennifer Wakefield (Jesse Scanzano, Dominique Thibault) 7:55
CAN Valerie Chouinard (Meghan Agosta, Rebecca Johnston) 8:22
FIN Michelle Karvinen (Emma Laaksonen) 10:08 PP
FIN Terhi Mertanen (Venla Heikkilä) 15:06 PP
CAN Haley Irwin (Stephanie Jones) 18:38

Penalties/Pénalités :
FIN Emma Laaksonen (Tripping) 4:14
CAN Laura Fridfinnson (Interference) 9:51
CAN Jennifer Wakefield (High Sticking) 10:41
CAN Jennifer Wakefield (Tripping) 14:02

Third Period/Troisième période

Goals/Buts :
CAN Meghan Agosta (Valerie Chouinard, Rebecca Johnston) 0:10
FIN Emma Laaksonen (Jenni Hiirikoski, Mari Pehkonen) 1:36
CAN Catherine Ward (Meghan Agosta) 7:12
CAN Rebecca Johnston (Valerie Chouinard) 18:44

Penalties/Pénalités :
CAN Samantha Hunt (Hooking) 1:53
CAN Samantha Hunt (Hooking) 8:58
FIN Emma Laaksonen (Interference) 15:00

 

Goaltenders CAN Shannon Szabados
Gardiens de but FIN Maija Hassinen

Shots on Goal Team 1 p 2 p 3 p Ttl
Shots on Goal CAN - - - -
Tirs au but FIN - - - -

Referee/Arbitre ---
Linesmen/Juges des lignes ---

Sommaire du Match
Canada 7 - Finlande 5
 

LE CANADA REMPORTE UN CONCOURS OFFENSIF ET S’EMPARE DE LA COUPE AIR CANADA EUROPÉENNE 2008

RAVENSBURG, Allemagne – Pour la sixième fois en autant de tentatives, l’équipe nationale féminine des moins de 22 ans du Canada a remporté l’or à la Coupe Air Canada européenne mettant fin à une saison parfaite en 2007-08 – un balayage de trois matchs contre les États-Unis en août et une médaille d’or en Allemagne – pour la première fois de son histoire.

Le Canada a vaincu la Finlande 7 -5, dimanche, en finale pour gagner l’or.

Malgré une pression exercée tôt dans le match en zone finlandaise, les Canadiennes n’ont pu déjouer la gardienne Maija Hassinen, et ce fut la Finlande qui a ouvert la marque lorsque Venla Hiirikoski a trompé la gardienne canadienne Shannon Szabados (Edmonton, Alb./Collège Grant MacEwan, ACAC) lors d’une échappée à 6:06.

Les Finlandaises ont porté leur avance à 2 -0 pendant un avantage numérique à 15:27 lorsque Karolina Rantamaki a repéré Mari Pehkonen qui se tenait seule à côté du filet canadien. Szabados a pu effectuer l’arrêt, mais le rebond est allé directement à Jenni Hiirikoski au haut du cercle, et elle n’allait pas rater pareille occasion.

Le Canada était affamé au début de la deuxième période et il n’a pas tardé à réduire l’écart. Jesse Scanzano (Montréal, QC/Collège Mercyhurst, CHA) s’est emparée du rebond du tir de la pointe de Cristin Allen (Pickering, Ont./Université du Connecticut, Hockey East) et l’a tiré entre les jambières d’Hassinen pendant un avantage numérique à 4:53.

La détermination du Canada a de nouveau été récompensée à 7:55 lorsque Scanzano a récupéré une rondelle libre qui avait été passée à la joueuse en tête par Dominique Thibault (L’Orignal, Ont./Université du Connecticut, Hockey East). Scanzano a passé la rondelle au centre à Jennifer Wakefield (Pickering, Ont./Université du New Hampshire, Hockey East) qui a déjoué Hassinen pour niveler la marque, 2 -2.

Seulement 27 secondes plus tard, le Canada a créé un autre 2 contre 1 et Valérie Chouinard (Matane, QC/Collège Mercyhurst, CHA) a donné l’avance au Canada pour la première fois du match en portant la marque à 3 -2 après s’être emparée d’une passe de Meghan Agosta (Ruthven, ON/Collège Mercyhurst, CHA).

Toutefois, l’avance fut de courte durée, car les Finlandaises ont nivelé la marque à 10:08 pendant un avantage numérique lorsque Michelle Karvinen a dévié le tir d’Emma Laaksonen derrière Szabados. L’unité finlandaise affectée aux supériorités numériques a accompli sa mission à nouveau à 15 :06 quand Terhi Mertanen a déjoué Szabados d’un tir haut du côté de la mitaine pendant que la gardienne avait la vue voilée, mais le Canada a marqué à son tour pour mettre fin à une deuxième période mouvementée lorsque Haley Irwin (Thunder Bay, Ont./Université Minnesota-Duluth, WCHA) a capté une passe de Stephanie Jones (Grande Prairie, Alb./Collège Mercyhurst, CHA) pour déjouer Hassinen d’un tir du haut de la zone privilégiée et niveler la marque avant l’entracte.

Le trio Agosta-Chouinard-Johnston a entrepris la troisième période pour le Canada et il ne lui a fallu que dix secondes pour redonner l’avance aux siennes lorsqu’Agosta a récupéré le rebond d’un tir de Chouinard et l’a tiré derrière Hassinen. Mais la Finlande n’avait pas dit son dernier mot et elle n’a pas tardé à niveler la marque une autre fois à 1:36 lorsque Jenni Hiirikoski a pu pousser un rebond vers Emma Laaksonen pendant une mêlée devant le filet.

Catherine Ward (Montréal, QC/Université McGill, SIC) a donné l’avance au Canada pour de bon peu après la septième minute de jeu au dernier tiers lorsqu’elle s’est servie d’une défenseure finlandaise comme écran et a décoché un long tir frappé qui a déjoué Hassinen. Rebecca Johnston (Sudbury, Ont./Université Cornell, ECAC) a inscrit le dernier but de la rencontre à 18:48 en effectuant une superbe feinte lors d’une échappée.

Le Canada a obtenu 13 tirs au but contre 5 pour la Finlande au dernier tiers pour un total de 39 -32 dans le match.

En plus de la médaille d’or et du trophée, les Canadiennes ont aussi remporté quelques honneurs personnels. Agosta, qui a terminé au premier rang des pointeuses du Canada et du tournoi avec une fiche de 12 points (cinq buts, sept aides) a été nommée la meilleure avant du tournoi et a obtenu une place au sein de l’équipe des étoiles du tournoi où sa coéquipière, la défenseure Mélanie Gagnon (St-Adolphe, Man./Université du Minnesota, WCHA), la rejoindra après avoir mis fin à sa carrière chez les moins de 22 ans avec une cinquième médaille d’or consécutive.

 

Game Information/Reseignements sur le match
Event/Événement Coupe Spengler Location/Emplacement Ravensburg, GER
Date le dim 6 jan 2008 Arena/Aréna Ravensburg Arena
Time 20:00 (local) Attendance/Assistance -,---
Round/Ronde Médaille d'or Game # 10

 

Box Score/Compte

1

2

3

Final

CAN

0

4

3

7

FIN

2

2

1

5

 

Goals/Penalties
First Period/Première période

Goals/Buts :
FIN Venla Heikkilä (Mari Saarinen, Nina Tikkinen) 6:06
FIN Jenni Hiirikoski (Karoliina Rantamäki, Marik Pekhonen) 15:27 PP

Penalties/Pénalités :
CAN Mallory Deluce (Interference) 1:12
CAN Amanda Shaw (Tripping) 7:35
CAN Laura Fridfinnson (Hooking) 14:51

Second Period/Deuxième période

Goals/Buts :
CAN Jesse Scanzano (Cristin Allen, Jocelyne Larocque) 4:53 PP
CAN Jennifer Wakefield (Jesse Scanzano, Dominique Thibault) 7:55
CAN Valerie Chouinard (Meghan Agosta, Rebecca Johnston) 8:22
FIN Michelle Karvinen (Emma Laaksonen) 10:08 PP
FIN Terhi Mertanen (Venla Heikkilä) 15:06 PP
CAN Haley Irwin (Stephanie Jones) 18:38

Penalties/Pénalités :
FIN Emma Laaksonen (Tripping) 4:14
CAN Laura Fridfinnson (Interference) 9:51
CAN Jennifer Wakefield (High Sticking) 10:41
CAN Jennifer Wakefield (Tripping) 14:02

Third Period/Troisième période

Goals/Buts :
CAN Meghan Agosta (Valerie Chouinard, Rebecca Johnston) 0:10
FIN Emma Laaksonen (Jenni Hiirikoski, Mari Pehkonen) 1:36
CAN Catherine Ward (Meghan Agosta) 7:12
CAN Rebecca Johnston (Valerie Chouinard) 18:44

Penalties/Pénalités :
CAN Samantha Hunt (Hooking) 1:53
CAN Samantha Hunt (Hooking) 8:58
FIN Emma Laaksonen (Interference) 15:00

 

Goaltenders CAN Shannon Szabados
Gardiens de but FIN Maija Hassinen

Shots on Goal Team 1 p 2 p 3 p Ttl
Shots on Goal CAN - - - -
Tirs au but FIN - - - -

Referee/Arbitre ---
Linesmen/Juges des lignes ---