Game Summary
Canada 7 - Sweden 2
 

CANADA ROMPS OVER SWEDEN TO EARN SPOT IN CHAMPIONSHIP GAME

RAVENSBURG, Germany – Canada and Sweden will meet Saturday night for the gold medal at the 2008 IIHF World Junior Championship, but the two nations also met earlier in the day, clashing in a semi-final at the 2008 European Air Canada Cup.

Canada’s National Women’s Under-22 Team kicked off what they hope to be a successful day for their country, topping the Swedes 7-2 to move into the championship game in their quest for a sixth straight title at this event.

Meghan Agosta (Ruthven, ON/Mercyhurst College, CHA) got Canada on the board early with a splendid shorthanded effort, splitting the Swedish defence and beating goaltender Kim Martin through the five-hole just over two minutes in.

Just under four minutes later Samantha Hunt (Calgary, AB/Colgate University, ECAC) pushed the lead to two, taking a pass from Emmanuelle Blais (Montreal, QC/University of Minnesota Duluth, WCHA) at the blueline and driving down the wing to beat Martin through the five-hole again, giving Canada a 2-0 lead.

Captain Valerie Chouinard (Matane, QC/Mercyhurst College, CHA) banged in a rebound during a goal-mouth scramble on the powerplay to make the score 3-0 at 11:43, with linemates Rebecca Johnston (Sudbury, ON/Cornell University, ECAC) and Agosta earning the assists.

All three members of Canada’s top line were buzzing around the crease in front of Martin, continuing the roll they have been on throughout the tournament. The trio has now combined for 24 points in three games, led by Agosta’s nine (five goals, four assists).

Sweden finally broke through with a powerplay marker of their own at 12:57 as Chanette Svensson deposited a rebound past Canadian goaltender Laura Hosier (Sharon, ON/Mercyhurst College, CHA).

Canada added one more late in the period to take a commanding 4-1 lead into the dressing room, as Britni Smith (Port Perry, ON/St. Lawrence University, ECAC) blasted a low slapshot past a screened Martin at 19:04 with Mallory Deluce (London, ON/University of Wisconsin, WCHA) earning an assist on the play.

Two Canadians goals early in the second period chased Martin from the Swedish goal, as Melanie Gagnon (St. Adpolph, MB/University of Minnesota, WCHA) and Jesse Scanzano (Montreal, QC/Mercyhurst College, CHA) scored 45 seconds apart to give Canada a 6-1 lead.

Gagnon took a pass from Hunt and overpowered Martin with a slapshot from the point at 6:07, and Scanzano finished off a beautiful set-up from Courtney Birchard (Mississauga, ON/University of New Hampshire, Hockey East) at 7:02 to put the game out of reach.

Jennifer Wakefield (Pickering, ON/University of New Hampshire, ECAC) rounded out the scoring for Canada at the 7:30 mark of the final period, although Agosta had a chance for her second goal of the game on a penalty shot late in the game, but was turned away by the glove hand of Swedish goaltender Sara Grahn.

Ann-Louise Edstrand scored a too little, too late powerplay goal for the Swedes, who were outshot 43-18 and will play for bronze on Sunday.

 

Game Information/Reseignements sur le match
Event/Événement European Air Canada Cup Location/Emplacement Ravensburg, GER
Date Sat. Jan. 5, 2008 Arena/Aréna Ravensburg Arena
Time/Heure 16:00 (local) Attendance/Assistance 350
Round/Ronde Semi-Final Game # 07

 

Box Score/Compte

1

2

3

Final

CAN

4

2

1

7

SWE

1

-

1

2

 

Goals/Penalties
First Period/Première période

Goals/Buts :
CAN Meghan Agosta (Valerie Chouinard, Catherine Ward) 2:38 SH
CAN Samantha Hunt (Haley Irwin, Catherine Ward) 6:12
CAN Valerie Chouinard (Meghan Agosta, Rebecca Johnston) 11:43 PP
SWE Chanette Svennson (Maria Rooth, Ann-Louise Edstrand) 12:57 PP
CAN Britni Smith (Mallory Deluce) 19:04

Penalties/Pénalités :
CAN Jocelyne Larocque (Hooking) 2:12
SWE Emilia Andersson (Holding) 6:57
CAN Emmanuelle Blais (Hooking) 9:14
SWE Frida Nevalainen (Hooking) 11:17
CAN Jennifer Wakefield (Interference) 12:29

Second Period/Deuxième période

Goals/Buts :
CAN Melanie Gagnon (Samantha Hunt) 6:15 PP
CAN Jesse Scanzano (Courtney Birchard) 7:02 PP

Penalties/Pénalités :
SWE Maria Rooth (Tripping) 1:24
CAN Catherine Ward (Holding) 4:06
SWE Frida Nevalainen (Interference) 5:27
SWE Maria Rooth (Hooking) 6:30
SWE Angelica Lorsell (Tripping) 9:27
CAN Courtney Birchard (Hooking) 16:54
SWE Danijela Rundqvist (High Sticking) 19:28

Third Period/Troisième période

Goals/Buts :
CAN Jennifer Wakefield (Jesse Scanzano) 7:30
Missed Penalty Shot – 3rd Period CAN Meghan Agosta 15:12
SWE Ann-Louise Edstrand (Maria Rooth) 16:17 PP

Penalties/Pénalités :
CAN Valerie Chouinard (Tripping) 4:44
CAN Jocelyne Larocque (Interference) 9:46
CAN Melanie Gagnon (Boarding) 14:50
CAN Jocelyne Larocque (Charging) 18:00
CAN Jesse Scanzano (Interference) 20:00

 

Goaltenders CAN Laura Hosier
Gardiens de but SWE -Kim Martin / Sara Grahn (7:02 2nd)

Shots on Goal Team 1 p 2 p 3 p Ttl
Shots on Goal CAN 18 15 10 43
Tirs au but SWE 7 5 6 18

Referee/Arbitre Nicole Hertrich
Linesmen/Juges des lignes Veronika Stenzel, Anne-Ruth Konen

 

For more information:
Kalli Quinn Director, Female National Teams | Équipes nationales féminines

Sommaire du Match
Canada 7 - Sweden 2
 

LE CANADA ÉCRASE LA SUÈDE POUR ACCÉDER AU MATCH DU CHAMPIONNAT

RAVENSBURG, Allemagne – Le Canada et la Suède s’affronteront samedi soir dans le match pour la médaille d’or du Championnat mondial junior 2008 de l’IIHF, mais les deux nations se sont aussi affrontées plus tôt dans la journée en demi-finale à la Coupe Air Canada européenne 2008.

L’équipe nationale féminine des moins de 22 ans du Canada a entrepris ce qui, elle l’espère, sera une journée remplie de succès pour le Canada, en vainquant les Suédoises par la marque de 7 -2 pour accéder au match du championnat en quête d’un sixième titre consécutif à cet événement.

Meghan Agosta (Ruthven, Ont./Collège Mercyhurst, CHA) a ouvert la marque pour le Canada tôt dans le match lors d’un superbe effort individuel en désavantage numérique, se faufilant entre les défenseures suédoises et déjouant la gardienne Kim Martin entre les jambières après un peu plus de deux minutes de jeu.

Un peu moins de quatre minutes plus tard, Samantha Hunt (Calgary, Alb./Université Colgate, ECAC) a doublé l’avance du Canada. Après avoir capté une passe d’Emmanuelle Blais (Montréal, QC/Université Minnesota Duluth, WCHA) à la ligne bleue, elle s’est avançée à l’aile pour déjouer Martin à nouveau entre les jambières, et donner une avance de 2 -0 aux siennes.

La capitaine Valérie Chouinard (Matane, QC/Collège Mercyhurst, CHA) a marqué en s’emparant d’un rebond lors d’une mêlée devant le filet pendant un avantage numérique pour porter la marque à 3 -0 à 11:43 avec l’aide de ses coéquipières Rebecca Johnston (Sudbury, Ont./Université Cornell, ECAC) et Agosta.

Les trois membres du meilleur trio canadien ont bourdonné autour du filet de Martin comme elles l’ont fait lors de tous les autres matchs du tournoi. Le trio a maintenant cumulé 24 points en trois matchs, dont les neuf points d’Agosta (cinq buts, quatre aides).

La Suède a enfin réussi à marquer à 12 :57, pendant un avantage numérique, lorsque Chanette Svensson a déjoué la gardienne canadienne Laura Hosier (Sharon, Ont./Collège Mercyhurst, CHA) en s’emparant d’un rebond.

Le Canada a ajouté un autre but en fin de période pour creuser l’écart à 4 -1 quand Britni Smith (Port Perry, Ont./Université St-Lawrence, ECAC) a décoché un puissant tir frappé bas en direction de Martin qui avait la vue voilée à 19:04. Mallory Deluce (London, Ont./Université du Wisconsin, WCHA) a obtenu une mention d’aide sur le but.

Deux buts canadiens marqués rapidement au début de la deuxième période ont chassé Martin de son poste devant le filet suédois. Mélanie Gagnon (St- Adolphe, Man./Université du Minnesota, WCHA) et Jesse Scanzano (Montréal, QC/Collège Mercyhurst, CHA) ont marqué à 45 secondes d’intervalle pour porter l’avance canadienne à 6 -1.

Gagnon a capté la passe de Hunt et a menotté Martin d’un puissant tir frappé de la pointe à 6:07, tandis que Scanzano a mis fin à un beau jeu préparé par Courtney Birchard (Mississauga, Ont./Université du New Hampshire, Hockey East) à 7:02 pour mettre le match hors de portée.

Jennifer Wakefield (Pickering, Ont./Université du New Hampshire, ECAC) a marqué le dernier but du Canada à 7:30 du dernier tiers. Plus tard dans le match, Agosta a eu l’occasion d’inscrire son deuxième but de la rencontre, cette fois-ci lors d’un tir de punition, mais la gardienne suédoise Sara Grahn a effectué l’arrêt avec sa mitaine.

Ann-Louise Edstrand a marqué un but en avantage numérique pour les Suédoises, mais ce fut trop peu, trop tard. La Suède, qui a été dominée 43 -18 au chapitre des tirs a but, prendra part au match pour la médaille de bronze, demain.

 

Game Information/Reseignements sur le match
Event/Événement Coupe Spengler Location/Emplacement Ravensburg, GER
Date le sam 5 jan 2008 Arena/Aréna Ravensburg Arena
Time 16:00 (local) Attendance/Assistance -,---
Round/Ronde Demi-finale Game # 07

 

Box Score/Compte

1

2

3

Final

CAN

4

2

1

7

SWE

1

-

1

2

 

Goals/Penalties
First Period/Première période

Goals/Buts :
CAN Meghan Agosta (Valerie Chouinard, Catherine Ward) 2:38 SH
CAN Samantha Hunt (Haley Irwin, Catherine Ward) 6:12
CAN Valerie Chouinard (Meghan Agosta, Rebecca Johnston) 11:43 PP
SWE Chanette Svennson (Maria Rooth, Ann-Louise Edstrand) 12:57 PP
CAN Britni Smith (Mallory Deluce) 19:04

Penalties/Pénalités :
CAN Jocelyne Larocque (Hooking) 2:12
SWE Emilia Andersson (Holding) 6:57
CAN Emmanuelle Blais (Hooking) 9:14
SWE Frida Nevalainen (Hooking) 11:17
CAN Jennifer Wakefield (Interference) 12:29

Second Period/Deuxième période

Goals/Buts :
CAN Melanie Gagnon (Samantha Hunt) 6:15 PP
CAN Jesse Scanzano (Courtney Birchard) 7:02 PP

Penalties/Pénalités :
SWE Maria Rooth (Tripping) 1:24
CAN Catherine Ward (Holding) 4:06
SWE Frida Nevalainen (Interference) 5:27
SWE Maria Rooth (Hooking) 6:30
SWE Angelica Lorsell (Tripping) 9:27
CAN Courtney Birchard (Hooking) 16:54
SWE Danijela Rundqvist (High Sticking) 19:28

Third Period/Troisième période

Goals/Buts :
CAN Jennifer Wakefield (Jesse Scanzano) 7:30
Missed Penalty Shot – 3rd Period CAN Meghan Agosta 15:12
SWE Ann-Louise Edstrand (Maria Rooth) 16:17 PP

Penalties/Pénalités :
CAN Valerie Chouinard (Tripping) 4:44
CAN Jocelyne Larocque (Interference) 9:46
CAN Melanie Gagnon (Boarding) 14:50
CAN Jocelyne Larocque (Charging) 18:00
CAN Jesse Scanzano (Interference) 20:00

 

Goaltenders CAN Laura Hosier
Gardiens de but SWE -Kim Martin / Sara Grahn (7:02 2nd)

Shots on Goal Team 1 p 2 p 3 p Ttl
Shots on Goal CAN 18 15 10 43
Tirs au but SWE 7 5 6 18

Referee/Arbitre Nicole Hertrich
Linesmen/Juges des lignes Veronika Stenzel, Anne-Ruth Konen

 

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Kalli Quinn Director, Female National Teams | Équipes nationales féminines