Game Summary
Canada  3 -  United States  1
 

LAKE PLACID, New York – Canada started the annual U22 series against the USA with a 3-1 win Thursday night at the rink where the 1980 Winter Olympics were held in Lake Placid. Goals by Stephanie Jones, Haley Irwin and Laura Fridfinnson and a strong penalty killing effort by Canada contributed to the win.

The USA came right at Canada only 15 seconds into the game. Shannon Szabados had to be sharp as the American line of Parsons-Marvin and Zuag got the first scoring chance of the night. USA held the advantage in shots after the first 20 minutes with nine of their 12 shots coming on three power plays. Canada had the man advantage at end of the period and into the start of the second but was unable to mount any offence. Canada went right back onto the power playe 2:08 into the second but the Americans killed it off, allowing the Canadians just two shots on net.

Canada finally opened the scoring 4:07 into the second when Jones skated the seam into the slot and slid a backhand along the ice into the right corner of the net with Jennifer Wakefield driving the net. Canada added a second goal five minutes later when Rebecca Johnston slid a puck through an American defender’s feet, picked it up behind the US player and then rang her shot off the post. With the puck sitting on the goal line just behind Molly Schaus, Irwin tucked it in for Canada’s second goal of the period. Canada played a strong second period, staying out of the penalty box while taking 15 shots on the US net and holding the Americans to only six shots.

The play in the third period was evenly matched and both teams had numerous scoring chances. Szabdos made a number of great saves early in the period, including stops on Gigi Marvin and Jennelle Zaugg point blank to keep Canada’s lead at two. Just over five minutes into the period, Meghan Agosta fished the puck out from behind the net and slid it through the American defence’s feet onto the stick of an open Fridffinnson, who put Canada up 3-0. With 1:19 left in the third Canadian penalty of the period, American defender Kasey Bellamy fired a point shot through the crowd and by Szabados to score the USA’s lone goal of the night.

The two teams meet again on Friday night at 7:00 pm

 

Game Information
Game Number Round Preliminary
Arena Lake Placid Olympic Center City, Country Lake Placid, N.Y., United States
Month / Day / Year 08/23/2007 Time (local) 07:00 PM
Attendance 400 Game Status Final

Box Score   1     2     3   Total
Canada (CAN) 0 2 1 3
United States (USA) 0 0 1 1
Goals/Penalties
First Period
Goals:

Penalties:
   03:29 CAN 25 Cristin Allen (Hooking)
   07:01 CAN 20 Laura Fridfinnson (Tripping)
   13:50 CAN 2 Meghan Agosta (Tripping)
   19:51 USA 19 Sam Faber (Slashing)

Second Period
Goals:
   04:07 CAN 18 Stephanie Jones (11 Jennifer Wakefield) PP
   11:01 CAN 21 Haley Irwin (9 Valerie Chouinard, 6 Rebecca Johnston)

Penalties:
   02:08 USA 19 Sam Faber (Cross Checking)
   13:23 CAN 21 Haley Irwin (Bodychecking)

Third Period
Goals:
   05:43 CAN 20 Laura Fridfinnson (2 Meghan Agosta, 12 Jasmine Giles)
   15:32 USA 5 Kacey Bellamy (18 Gigi Marvin, 27 Sarah Parsons) PP

Penalties:
   09:58 CAN 23 Jesse Scanzano (Hooking)
   10:18 CAN 7 Catherine Ward (Bodychecking)
   14:50 CAN 19 Britni Smith (Bodychecking)


Goaltenders
Canada
1 Shannon Szabados On 1/00:00   Off 3/20:00
United States
31 Molly Schaus On 1/00:00   Off 3/20:00

Shots on Goal   1     2     3   Total
Canada 6 15 10 31
United States 12 6 5 23

Player of Game
Canada
United States

Sommaire du Match
Canada  3 -  États-Unis  1
 

Le Canada a amorcé la série annuelle des moins de 22 ans contre les États-Unis avec une victoire de 3 -1, jeudi soir, à la patinoire olympique 1980 de Lake Placid. Les buts de Jones, Irwin et Fridfinnson et l’excellent travail en désavantage numérique de la part du Canada lui ont permis de remporter le premier match de cette série de trois.

Les États-Unis ont attaqué dès le départ lorsque le trio américain de Parsons, Marvin et Zuag ont obtenu la première occasion de marquer à la 15e seconde et Szabados a dû être solide devant le filet canadien. Les Américaines ont dominé au chapitre des tirs au but en première période obtenant neuf de leurs 12 tirs lors de trois avantages numériques. Le Canada a profité d’un avantage numérique à son tour à la fin de la première période et au début de la deuxième, mais n’a pu trouver le fond du filet. Le Canada a profité d’un autre avantage numérique à 2 :08 du deuxième tiers, mais les Américaines ont tenu le coup, n’allouant que deux tirs au but aux Canadiennes.

Le Canada a finalement ouvert la marque à 4:07 de la deuxième période lorsque Jones s’est avancée dans un espace libre jusqu’en zone privilégiée d’où elle a glissé un tir du revers le long de la glace dans le coin droit du filet pendant que Wakefield fonçait au but. Le Canada a ajouté un deuxième but cinq minutes plus tard lorsque Rebecca Johnston a glissé une rondelle entre les pieds d’une défenseure, l’a reprise derrière la joueuse américaine et a décoché un tir qui a frappé un poteau. Alors que la rondelle gisait sur la ligne des buts tout juste derrière Molly Schaus, Haley Irwin l’a poussé dans le but pour marquer le deuxième but de la période pour le Canada. Les Canadiennes ont bien joué au deuxième tiers, restant à l’écart du banc des punitions et obtenant 15 tirs au but contre seulement 6 pour les Américaines.

En troisième période, le jeu s’est déroulé de façon égale aux deux extrémités, les deux formations obtenant plusieurs occasions de marquer. Shannon Szabados a effectué plusieurs excellents arrêts en début de période lorsqu’elle a repoussé les tirs à bout portant de Gigi Marvin et Jennelle Zaugg pour permettre aux siennes de conserver une avance de deux buts. Avec un peu plus de cinq minutes d’écoulées au dernier tiers, Meghan Agosta a récupéré la rondelle derrière le filet et l’a poussé entre les pieds d’une défenseure américaine directement sur le bâton de Laura Fridfinnson qui s’était démarquée. Cette dernière a porté la marque à 3 -0. Alors qu’il restait 1:19 à la troisième punition canadienne de cette période, la défenseure américaine Kasey Bellamy a décoché un tir de la pointe en pleine circulation et au-delà de Szabados pour marquer le seul but de la soirée pour les Américaines.

 

Renseignements sur le match
Numéro de match Ronde Préliminaire
Aréna Lake Placid Olympic Center Ville, Pays Lac Placid, N.Y., États-Unis
Moi / Jour / Année 08/23/2007 Heure (local) 19h00
Assistance 400 Statut de jeu Finale

Compte   1     2     3   Totale
Canada (CAN) 0 2 1 3
États-Unis (USA) 0 0 1 1
Buts/Pénalités
Première Période
Buts:

Pénalités:
   03:29 CAN 25 Cristin Allen (Accrocher)
   07:01 CAN 20 Laura Fridfinnson (Faire trébucher)
   13:50 CAN 2 Meghan Agosta (Faire trébucher)
   19:51 USA 19 Sam Faber (Coup de bâton)

Deuxieme Période
Buts:
   04:07 CAN 18 Stephanie Jones (11 Jennifer Wakefield) AN
   11:01 CAN 21 Haley Irwin (9 Valerie Chouinard, 6 Rebecca Johnston)

Pénalités:
   02:08 USA 19 Sam Faber (Double-échec)
   13:23 CAN 21 Haley Irwin (Mise en échec corporelle)

Troisième Période
Buts:
   05:43 CAN 20 Laura Fridfinnson (2 Meghan Agosta, 12 Jasmine Giles)
   15:32 USA 5 Kacey Bellamy (18 Gigi Marvin, 27 Sarah Parsons) AN

Pénalités:
   09:58 CAN 23 Jesse Scanzano (Accrocher)
   10:18 CAN 7 Catherine Ward (Mise en échec corporelle)
   14:50 CAN 19 Britni Smith (Mise en échec corporelle)


Gardiens de but
Canada
1 Shannon Szabados Entrée 1/00:00   Sortie 3/20:00
États-Unis
31 Molly Schaus Entrée 1/00:00   Sortie 3/20:00

Tirs au but   1     2     3   Totale
Canada 6 15 10 31
États-Unis 12 6 5 23

Joueur du match
Canada
États-Unis
Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Kalli Quinn Director, Female National Teams | Équipes nationales féminines