Canada 5 - Queen's University 1

MILLER SCORES TWICE TO LEAD U18 WOMEN TO WIN OVER QUEEN'S UNIVERSITY

ETOBICOKE, Ont.  – It only took about two minutes for Queen's University to catch Canada's National Women's Under-18 Team off guard and put a goal up on the scoreboard. But that's all the red and white would allow for the remainder of the game Sunday evening, with a shaky start turning into a strong 5-1 win in what was their first time playing together as a team.

The exhibition match-up was hosted at the MasterCard Centre as part of Team Canada's pre-competition schedule before heading to Budapest, Hungary, for the 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 Women's World Championship, taking place March 23-30.

Victoria Bach (Milton, Ont./Mississauga, Ont.) replied for Canada midway through the opening frame, with Sarah Potomak (Aldergrove, B.C./Pursuit of Excellence, Midget AAA) assisting, to keep it even at 1-1 going into the first intermission.

The two linemates combined to make it 2-1 at 18:10 of the second period, this time with Bach feeding Potomak on the power play. Eve-Audrey Picard (Longueuil, Que./St-Laurent, CEGEP) notched an unassisted marker at 12:05 in the middle frame to make it 3-1, and penalties continued to cost Queen's, with Team Canada returnee Hannah Miller (Vancouver, B.C./Okanagan Hockey Academy, JWHL) adding another goal with the advantage to close out the period with a 4-1 lead, on a Samantha Fieseler (Kelowna, B.C./Pursuit of Excellence, JWHL) helper.

Miller topped it off at 6:56, on an assist from Breanne Wilson-Bennett (Markham, Ont./Toronto, PWHL), to give Canada the win over the Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) side. Kassidy Sauvé (Brooklin, Ont./Whitby, PWHL) and Shea Tiley (Shallow Lake, Ont./Waterloo, PWHL) split netminding duties for the under-18 women, turning away 14 pucks over three periods.

Canada's National Women's Under-18 Team takes on Japan in its first preliminary game at worlds Sunday, March 23, with the puck dropping at 6 p.m. local time/1 p.m. ET. Follow all the action from Budapest live at www.twitter.com/hc_women.

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Game #/No. de match 1 Round/Ronde Exhibition
Arena/Aréna MasterCard Centre Location/Lieu Toronto, Ont.
Date Sunday, March 16, 2014 Time/Heure 7:45 p.m. ET

 

Box Score/Compte 1 2 3 Total
CAN 1 3 1 5
QU 1 0 0 1

 

Goals & Penalties/Buts et pénalités
First Period/Première période
Goals/Buts :
02:05 QU Shawna Griffin (Marie-Pierre Pelissou)
10:18 CAN Victoria Bach (Sarah Potomak) 

Penalties/Pénalités :
12:38 QU Nadia Larocca (Roughing/Rudesse)
14:17 QU Megan Farrell (Tripping/Faire trébucher)
Second Period/Deuxième période
Goals/Buts :
01:50 CAN Sarah Potomak (Victoria Bach)
07:55 CAN Eve-Audrey Picard
05:57 CAN Hannah Miller (Samantha Fieseler)

Penalties/Pénalités :
05:30 QU Mary Coughlin (Hooking/Accrocher)
08:21 QU Morgan McHaffie (Slashing/Coup de bâton)
09:22 QU Kyla Crouse (Body-checking/Mise en échec corporelle)
09:55 CAN Lauren Wildfang (Hooking/Accrocher)
14:06 CAN Eve-Audrey Picard (Hooking/Accrocher)
Third Period/Troisième période
Goals/Buts :
13:04 CAN Hannah Miller (Breanne Wilson-Bennett)           

Penalties/Pénalités :
00:45 CAN Samantha Cogan (Boarding/Donner de la bande)
03:23 CAN Jessica Healey (Roughing/Rudesse)
08:06 QU Michele Knecht (Hooking/Accrocher)

 

Goaltenders/Gardiennes de but
CAN Kassidy Sauvé; Shea Tiley (in 2nd/10:00)
QU Caitlyn Cahonen; Mel Dodd-Moher

 

Shots on Goal/Tirs au but 1 2 3 Total
CAN 22 19 14 55
QU 6 4 4 14
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit:

Canada 5 - Université Queen’s 1

MILLER INSCRIT UN DOUBLÉ DANS UNE VICTOIRE SANS ÉQUIVOQUE DE 5-1 DE L’ÉQUIPE FÉMININE DES M18 SUR L’UNIVERSITÉ QUEEN’S

ETOBICOKE, Ont.  – L’Université Queen's n’a pris que deux minutes avant de placer l’équipe nationale féminine des moins de 18 ans du Canada en mauvaise position en inscrivant un but. Toutefois, le rouge et blanc n’a rien cédé par la suite dimanche soir, corrigeant un départ chancelant en signant une victoire convaincante de 5-1 dans son premier match ensemble.

Cette partie hors concours avait lieu au MasterCard Centre dans le cadre des activités préparatoires d’Équipe Canada avant de s’envoler vers Budapest, Hongrie, où se déroulera le Championnat mondial de hockey sur glace féminin des M18 2014 de l’IIHF, du 23 au 30 mars.

Victoria Bach (Milton, Ont./Mississauga, Ont.) a répliqué pour le Canada à mi-chemin au premier tiers, aidée de Sarah Potomak (Aldergrove, C.-B./Pursuit of Excellence, midget AAA), créant l’égalité 1-1 avant le premier entracte.

Ces deux partenaires de trio ont participé au deuxième filet contre les Golden Gaels de Queen's à 18 min 10 s du deuxième vingt. Cette fois, Bach a alimenté Potomak sur le jeu de puissance. Ève-Audrey Picard (Longueuil, Qc/St-Laurent, CEGEP) a marqué un but sans aide à 12 min 05 s de la période médiane pour augmenter l’avance à 3-1. Les punitions ont continué de faire mal à Queen's. La vétérante d’Équipe Canada Hannah Miller (Vancouver, C.-B./Okanagan Hockey Academy, JWHL) a ajouté un filet pour sa troupe lors d’un avantage numérique, ce qui a permis au Canada de se donner une priorité de trois buts après 40 minutes de jeu. Samantha Fieseler (Kelowna, C.-B./Pursuit of Excellence, JWHL) a obtenu une aide.

Miller a fait mouche à 6 min 56 s, aidée de Breanne Wilson-Bennett (Markham, Ont./Toronto, PWHL), permettant au Canada de se donner une solide avance de 5-1 sur l’Université Queen's, formation du Sport interuniversitaire canadien (SIC). Kassidy Sauve (Brooklin, Ont./Whitby, PWHL) et Shea Tiley (Shallow Lake, Ont./Waterloo, PWHL) ont été employées devant le filet, repoussant un total combiné de 14 rondelles.

L’équipe nationale féminine des moins de 18 ans du Canada a rendez-vous avec le Japon pour son premier match de la ronde préliminaire du Mondial, le dimanche 23 mars. Suivez l’action en direct de Budapest auwww.Twitter.com/HC_Feminin.

---

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Game #/No. de match 1 Round/Ronde -
Arena/Aréna MasterCard Centre Location/Lieu Toronto, Ont.
Date dimanche 16 mars 2014 Time/Heure 7 h 45 HE

 

Box Score/Compte 1 2 3 Total
CAN 1 3 1 5
QU 1 0 0 1

 

Goals & Penalties/Buts et pénalités
First Period/Première période
Goals/Buts :
02:05 QU Shawna Griffin (Marie-Pierre Pelissou)
10:18 CAN Victoria Bach (Sarah Potomak) 

Penalties/Pénalités :
12:38 QU Nadia Larocca (Roughing/Rudesse)
14:17 QU Megan Farrell (Tripping/Faire trébucher)
Second Period/Deuxième période
Goals/Buts :
01:50 CAN Sarah Potomak (Victoria Bach)
07:55 CAN Eve-Audrey Picard
05:57 CAN Hannah Miller (Samantha Fieseler)

Penalties/Pénalités :
05:30 QU Mary Coughlin (Hooking/Accrocher)
08:21 QU Morgan McHaffie (Slashing/Coup de bâton)
09:22 QU Kyla Crouse (Body-checking/Mise en échec corporelle)
09:55 CAN Lauren Wildfang (Hooking/Accrocher)
14:06 CAN Eve-Audrey Picard (Hooking/Accrocher)
Third Period/Troisième période
Goals/Buts :
13:04 CAN Hannah Miller (Breanne Wilson-Bennett)           

Penalties/Pénalités :
00:45 CAN Samantha Cogan (Boarding/Donner de la bande)
03:23 CAN Jessica Healey (Roughing/Rudesse)
08:06 QU Michele Knecht (Hooking/Accrocher)

 

Goaltenders/Gardiennes de but
CAN Kassidy Sauve; Shea Tiley (10:00 in 2nd)
QU Caitlyn Cahonen; Mel Dodd-Moher

 

Shots on Goal/Tirs au but 1 2 3 Total
CAN 22 19 14 55
QU 6 4 4 14
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: