Game Summary
Red 1 - White 2
 

WHITE TOPS RED TO TAKE INTERSQUAD SERIES

Rockland, Ont. – Like the two games before them, the third and final under-18 intersquad game was decided by a single goal, but in the end, the series belonged to White, who came from behind in Saturday afternoon’s matchup to edge Red 3-2 at Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team selection camp.

Media Gallery

Vickie Lemire (Riguad, Que.) sealed the deal for White, putting the puck over the goal line by deflecting an Erin Ambrose (Keswick, Ont.) shot just over thirty seconds into the final frame. Laura Stacey (Kleinburg, Ont.) helped set up the game-winning goal, as White took control of the puck off the opening faceoff of the third, in clear determination to break the tie and take the win.

It took more than a period and a half for either team to earn a marker, with both teams fighting hard to protect their netminders from the puck, and all players putting everything they’ve got on the ice for the final intersquad game of selection camp.

Ashleigh Brykaliuk (Brandon, Man.) finally broke the goose egg at 12:21 in the second, taking a pass from Emma Korbs (Toronto, Ont.) and deking out a couple of players in White’s defensive zone before using her impressive stick work to put the puck into the top of the mesh.

But White was quick to retaliate, with Abbey Frazer (Hudson, Que.) letting a quick shot go less than a minute later to tie it up at one-apiece.

The back-and-forth action kept fans at the Canadian International Hockey Academy watching in anticipation, but once Lemire notched a marker of her own to make it 2-1 for her team, White did everything they could to keep the puck out of their zone for the remainder of the game.

Even two powerplay opportunities in the third for Red wasn’t enough to give them a comeback, allowing White to take its second win in three games, and intersquad series bragging rights. After the final roster for the National Women’s Under-18 Team roster is named, Canada will play against the United States for a three-game series taking place Thursday, August 18; Friday, August 19 and Sunday August 21, also in Rockland.

 

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Event/Événement Selection Camp Location/Emplacement Rockland, Ont.
Date Sat. Aug. 13, 2011 Arena/Aréna CDN Int'l Hockey Academy 1
Time/Heure 4:00 pm ET Attendance/Assistance -,---
Round/Ronde Intersquad Game #/No du match 03

 

Box Score/Compte
1
2
3
Final
RED
0
1
0
1
WHT
0
1
1
2

 

Goals/Penalties - Buts/Pénalités
First Period/Première période

Goals/Buts : 
None/Aucun

Penalties/Pénalités : 
00:31 RED Jessica Kampjes (Hooking/Accrocher)

Second Period/Deuxième période

Goals/Buts : 
12:21 RED Ashleigh Brykaliuk (Emma Korbs)

13:23 WHT Abbey Frazer (Lindsey Allen, Halli Kryzyaniuk)

Penalties/Pénalités : 
07:16 RED Sarah Nurse (Body-checking/Mise en échec corporelle)

14:47 WHT Vickie Lemire (Body-checking/Mise en échec corporelle)
00:30 RED Alexis Crossley (Hooking/Accrocher)

Third Period/Troisième période

Goals/Buts : 
WHT 00:32 Vickie Lemire (Erin Ambrose, Laura Stacey) PP/AN

Penalties/Pénalités : 
15:34 WHT Erika Sowchuck (Body-checking/Mise en échec corporelle)

 

Goaltenders RED Emerance Maschmeyer
Gardien(ne)s de but WHT Amanda Leveille
Shots on Goal Team 1 p 2 p 3 p Ttl
Shots on Goal RED - - - -
Tirs au but WHT - - - -
 
Referee/Arbitre ---
Linesmen/Juges des lignes ---

Sommaire du Match
Rouge 1 - Blanc 2
 

LES BLANCS BATTENT LES ROUGES ET REMPORTENT LA SÉRIE INTRAÉQUIPE

Rockland, Ontario – Comme les deux matchs précédents, le troisième et dernier match intraéquipe a été décidé par un seul but et, au bout du compte, ce sont les Blancs qui ont remporté la série après avoir effectué une remontée samedi après-midi pour vaincre les Rouges 3 -2 au camp de sélection de l’équipe nationale féminine des moins de 18 ans du Canada.

Galerie des médias

Vickie Lemire (Riguad, Qc) a scellé l’issue du match pour les Blancs quand elle a dévié le tir d’Erin Ambrose (Keswick, Ont.) pour marquer peu après la trentième seconde du dernier tiers. Laura Stacey (Kleinburg, Ont.) a obtenu une mention d’aide sur le but gagnant alors que l’équipe des Blancs s’est emparée du contrôle de la rondelle dès la mise au jeu en troisième période, déterminée à rompre l’égalité et à porter la victoire à leur fiche.

Il aura fallu plus d’une période et demie avant que le premier but soit marqué, les deux équipes travaillant fort pour protéger leur gardienne. Toutes les joueuses ont fourni un effort maximal à ce dernier match intraéquipe du camp de sélection.

Ashleigh Brykaliuk (Brandon, Man.) a été la première à faire vibrer les cordages à 12:21 de la deuxième période après avoir capté une passe d’Emma Korbs (Toronto, Ont.) et déjoué deux joueuses des Blancs à la défensive. Elle a ensuite décoché un tir dans la partie supérieure du filet.

Mais les Blancs n’ont pas tardé à répliquer puisqu’Abbey Frazer (Hudson, Qc) a nivelé la marque moins d’une minute plus tard. Les partisans assistant au match à l’Académie canadienne et internationale de hockey ont eu droit à un match excitant. Après le but de Lemire portant la marque à 2 -1, les Blancs ont fait tout en leur pouvoir pour garder la rondelle à l’extérieur de leur zone pour le reste du match.

Malgré deux supériorités numériques au troisième tiers, les Rouges n’ont pu effectuer une remontée. Les Blancs remportent donc leur deuxième des trois matchs et la série intraéquipe. Après l’annonce des joueuses sélectionnées pour faire partie de l’équipe nationale féminine des moins de 18 ans du Canada, le Canada jouera une série de trois matchs contre les États-Unis le jeudi 18 août, vendredi 19 août et dimanche 21 août, aussi à Rockland.

 

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Event/Événement Camp de sélection Location/Emplacement Rockland, Ont.
Date Sam. 13 août 2011 Arena/Aréna CDN Int'l Hockey Academy 1
Time/Heure 16h00 HE Attendance/Assistance -,---
Round/Ronde Intra-equipe Game #/No du match 03

 

Box Score/Compte
1
2
3
Final
RED
0
1
0
1
WHT
0
1
1
2

 

Goals/Penalties - Buts/Pénalités
First Period/Première période

Goals/Buts : 
None/Aucun

Penalties/Pénalités : 
00:31 RED Jessica Kampjes (Hooking/Accrocher)

Second Period/Deuxième période

Goals/Buts : 
12:21 RED Ashleigh Brykaliuk (Emma Korbs)

13:23 WHT Abbey Frazer (Lindsey Allen, Halli Kryzyaniuk)

Penalties/Pénalités : 
07:16 RED Sarah Nurse (Body-checking/Mise en échec corporelle)

14:47 WHT Vickie Lemire (Body-checking/Mise en échec corporelle)
00:30 RED Alexis Crossley (Hooking/Accrocher)

Third Period/Troisième période

Goals/Buts : 
WHT 00:32 Vickie Lemire (Erin Ambrose, Laura Stacey) PP/AN

Penalties/Pénalités : 
15:34 WHT Erika Sowchuck (Body-checking/Mise en échec corporelle)

 

Goaltenders RED Emerance Maschmeyer
Gardien(ne)s de but WHT Amanda Leveille
Shots on Goal Team 1 p 2 p 3 p Ttl
Shots on Goal RED - - - -
Tirs au but WHT - - - -
 
Referee/Arbitre ---
Linesmen/Juges des lignes ---