Game Summary - U18 Selection Camp | July 23, 2008
Canada Red 3 - JAPAN 1
 

DEFENCE PROVIDES OFFENSE AS CANADA RED STAYS UNBEATEN WITH WIN OVER JAPAN

Looking for offense in a scoreless game, Canada Red turned to its blueline as the Canadians stayed undefeated at the National Women’s Under-18 Team selection camp with a 3-1 win over Japan on Wednesday night in Calgary.

Saige Pacholok (Edmonton, AB) and Laura Fortino (Hamilton, ON) scored goals in the final seven-and-a-half minutes of the second period to break open a scoreless tie as Canada Red improved to 2-0 at the week-long camp, while dropping the Japanese to 0-2.

After Azusa Nakaoku shut down the Canada White offense in a 3-2 overtime loss one night earlier, Japan turned to Nana Fujimoto for Wednesday night’s game, and Fujimoto responded with a 31-save performance, keeping the team from the Far East within striking distance for much of the game.

Although they held a massive 15-4 advantage in shots on goal in the opening 20 minutes, Canada Red entered the first intermission without a goal, mainly due to the play of Fujimoto, who always seemed to be in position to turn away a Canadian scoring opportunity.

The run of bad luck continued for Canada Red through the opening half of the second period, before Pacholok’s point shot found its way through a Brianne Jenner (Oakville, ON) screen and over the shoulder of Fujimoto for the game’s opening goal.

The defence stepped up again very late in the middle frame, as Fortino finished off a beautiful give-and-go with Casandra Langan (Chatham, ON) to push the Canada Red lead to 2-0 with just six seconds remaining on the clock.

Jillian Saulnier (Halifax, NS), who started the play along the boards, picked up the second assist on Fortino’s first goal of camp.

Langan and Saulnier combined again for Canada Red’s third goal, helping set up Laurie Kingsbury (Valleyfield, QC) on a powerplay just shy of the midway point of the final frame to run the Canadian lead to three.

Haruka Takashima ruined the shutout bid of Canada Red goaltender Jenesica Drinkwater (Brantford, ON) by banking a centering pass off the skate of the Canadian netminder with just over six minutes to go, but that would be the only shot to beat Drinkwater.

Canada Red’s win keep them in top spot with six points (a win is worth three points), four ahead of Canada White, who sit in second spot with two points after Tuesday night’s overtime victory over Japan.

The two Canadian teams will meet Thursday night (7:00 p.m. MT) in a rematch of Monday night’s camp opener, won 5-2 by Canada Red.

 

Game Information/Reseignements sur le match
Event/Événement U18 Selection Camp Location/Emplacement Calgary, AB
Date 07/23/08 Arena/Aréna Father David Bauer
Time/Heure 7pm Attendance/Assistance -,---
Round/Ronde Exhibition Game # 03

 

Box Score/Compte

1

2

3

Final

RED

0

2

1

3

JPN

0

0

1

1

 

Goals/Penalties
First Period/Première période

Goals/Buts :
---

Penalties/Pénalités :
RED – Jessica Campbell (Tripping) 3:06
RED – Danielle Skirrow (Interference) 5:17
JPN – Yoki Ohtani (Holding) 13:59

Second Period/Deuxième période

Goals/Buts :
RED – Saige Pacholok (Jessica Campbell) 12:35
RED – Laura Fortino (Casandra Langan, Jillian Saulnier) 19:54

Penalties/Pénalités :
JPN – Tomomi Iwahara (Body Contact) 1:36
RED – Brittany Phillips (Holding) 5:52
JPN – Mai Takahashi (Hooking) 9:34

Third Period/Troisième période

Goals/Buts :
RED – Laurie Kingsbury (Casandra Langan, Jillian Saulnier) 8:37 PP
JPN – Haruka Takashima 13:41

Penalties/Pénalités :
JPN – Haruka Takashima (Body Contact) 8:20
RED – Katie Wilson (Hooking) 11:41
JPN – Emi Nonaka (Body Contact) 16:49
RED – Jenesica Drinkwater (Slashing) 19:40

 

Goaltenders RED Jenesica Drinkwater
Gardiens de but JPN Nana Fujimoto

Shots on Goal Team 1 p 2 p 3 p Ttl
Shots on Goal RED 15 12 7 34
Tirs au but JPN 4 5 6 15

Referee/Arbitre ---
Linesmen/Juges des lignes ---

 

For more information:
Kalli Quinn Director, Female National Teams | Équipes nationales féminines

Sommaire du Match
Canada Red 3 - JAPON 1
 

LA DÉFENSIVE FOURNIT L’OFFENSIVE ET LES ROUGES DEMEURENT INVAINCUES À LA SUITE D’UNE VICTOIRE SUR LE JAPON

En quête d’offensive dans un match sans but, l’équipe des rouges du Canada s’est tournée vers ses joueuses à la ligne bleue pour demeurer invaincues au camp de sélection de l’équipe nationale féminine des moins de 18 ans à la suite d’une victoire de 3 -1 sur le Japon, mercredi soir à Calgary.

Saige Pacholok (Edmonton, Alberta) et Laura Fortino (Hamilton, Ontario) ont marqué au cours des sept dernières minutes et demie de la deuxième période pour rompre l’égalité d’un match sans but et permettre aux rouges de porter leur fiche à 2 -0 à ce camp d’une semaine de sorte que la fiche du Japon est maintenant 0 -2.

Après qu’Azusa Nakaoku eut très bien résisté à l’offensive des blancs dans une défaite de 3 -2 en prolongation la veille, le Japon s’est tourné vers Nana Fujimoto pour le match de mercredi soir et Fujimoto a répliqué en offrant une belle prestation réalisant 31 arrêts et gardant l’équipe du pays du soleil levant à portée de ses adversaires pendant une bonne partie du match.

Malgré une nette domination de 15 -4 au chapitre des tirs au but en première période, les rouges du Canada sont rentrées au vestiaire sans avoir marqué un but, en grande partie à cause du travail de Fujimoto, qui semblait toujours être en position de repousser les occasions de marquer canadiennes.

La malchance a continué de s’acharner sur les rouges au cours de la première moitié du deuxième tiers avant que le tir de la pointe de Pacholok ne se faufile au travers l’écran créé par Brianne Jenner (Oakville, Ontario) et par-dessus l’épaule de Fujimoto pour marquer le premier but du match.

La défensive a de nouveau été au cœur de l’action vers la fin du deuxième tiers lorsque Fortino a mis fin à un superbe passe et va avec Casandra Langan (Chatham, Ontario) pour porter l’avance des rouges à 2 -0 alors qu’il ne restait que six secondes au chronomètre.

Jillian Saulnier (Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse), qui a amorcé le jeu le long de la bande, a obtenu la deuxième mention d’aide sur le premier but de Fortino au camp.

Langan et Saulnier ont combiné leurs efforts à nouveau pour marquer le troisième but du Canada, aidant à préparer un jeu pour Laurie Kingsbury (Valleyfield, Québec) pendant un avantage numérique un peu avant le milieu du dernier tiers pour porter l’avance canadienne à trois.

Haruka Takashima a ruiné le jeu blanc de la gardienne des rouges, Jenesica Drinkwater (Brantford, Ontario), faisant dévier une passe au centre sur la lame du patin de la gardienne canadienne alors qu’il restait un peu plus de six minutes à jouer, mais ce fut le seul tir à déjouer Drinkwater.

La victoire des rouges leur confère le sommet du classement avec six points (une victoire vaut trois points), quatre devant les blancs du Canada qui sont au deuxième rang avec une fiche de deux points à la suite de leur victoire en prolongation sur le Japon, lundi soir.

Les deux formations canadiennes s’affronteront jeudi soir (19 h HR) lors d’une reprise du match d’ouverture présenté lundi soir, match que les rouges ont remporté 5 -2.

 

 

Game Information/Reseignements sur le match
Event/Événement U18 Selection Camp Location/Emplacement Calgary, AB
Date 07/23/08 Arena/Aréna Father David Bauer
Time/Heure 7pm Attendance/Assistance -,---
Round/Ronde Exhibition Game # 03

 

Box Score/Compte

1

2

3

Final

RED

0

2

1

3

JPN

0

0

1

1

 

Goals/Penalties
First Period/Première période

Goals/Buts :
---

Penalties/Pénalités :
RED – Jessica Campbell (Tripping) 3:06
RED – Danielle Skirrow (Interference) 5:17
JPN – Yoki Ohtani (Holding) 13:59

Second Period/Deuxième période

Goals/Buts :
RED – Saige Pacholok (Jessica Campbell) 12:35
RED – Laura Fortino (Casandra Langan, Jillian Saulnier) 19:54

Penalties/Pénalités :
JPN – Tomomi Iwahara (Body Contact) 1:36
RED – Brittany Phillips (Holding) 5:52
JPN – Mai Takahashi (Hooking) 9:34

Third Period/Troisième période

Goals/Buts :
RED – Laurie Kingsbury (Casandra Langan, Jillian Saulnier) 8:37 PP
JPN – Haruka Takashima 13:41

Penalties/Pénalités :
JPN – Haruka Takashima (Body Contact) 8:20
RED – Katie Wilson (Hooking) 11:41
JPN – Emi Nonaka (Body Contact) 16:49
RED – Jenesica Drinkwater (Slashing) 19:40

 

Goaltenders RED Jenesica Drinkwater
Gardiens de but JPN Nana Fujimoto

Shots on Goal Team 1 p 2 p 3 p Ttl
Shots on Goal RED 15 12 7 34
Tirs au but JPN 4 5 6 15

Referee/Arbitre ---
Linesmen/Juges des lignes ---

 

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Kalli Quinn Director, Female National Teams | Équipes nationales féminines