Game Summary

Canada 6 - Finland 0

Semi-Final
Friday, February 17, 2006
Turin, ITA - Esposizioni
21:00 (Turin Time)
15:00 (Eastern Time)
14:00 (Central Time)
13:00 (Mountain Time)
12:00 (Pacific Time)

 

CANADA TO DEFEND OLYMPIC GOLD … AGAINST SWEDEN!


With Melody Davidson behind Canada’s bench, it was clear that Canada would not underestimate any opponent. But it was all the more easy to take this to heart, after watching huge underdog Sweden outlast the USA in the earlier semi-final of the day.

In the first semi-final of the day, Sweden caused the biggest upset in women’s hockey history, beating the defending Olympic silver medalists and World Champions, the U.S., 3-2 in a shootout. The U.S. had never lost to any team other than Canada in the history of women’s hockey. The best the U.S. could now do would be bronze.

The Canadian players seemed tentative for much of the opening frame, and the Finns seemed up the challenge. But just as it looked like Finland was going to get out of a scoreless first period, despite being outplayed, Canada found the mark. At 17:33, during a Canada power play, Katie Weatherston (Thunder Bay, ON/Dartmouth College, ECAC) found a loose puck and came out untouched from the corner of the Finnish end and beat Finnish goaltender Maija Hassinen over the shoulder. At 19:15, during another power play, Canada’s pressure led to an insurance goal as forward Gillian Apps (Unionville, ON/Dartmouth College, ECAC) held strong in front of the net and put a loose puck by Hassinen. Canada held a 2-0 lead through the first period, outshooting Finland 12-5.

Canada’s power play struck twice in the second. Hayley Wickenheiser (Shaunovan, SK/Calgary X-Treme) found a seam in the middle and beat Hassinen who was screened on the play. On another power play, Caroline Ouellette blasted a shot from the point, that went through Hassinen, and chased the Finnish goaltender from the game.

Cherie Piper (Scarborough, ON/Dartmouth College) added two goals in the third period, and Canada skated to a resounding 6-0 win.

Both medal games will take place on Monday, February 20th in Turin. The bronze medal game between Finland and the USA will start at 16:30 (local)/ 10:30 (ET). The gold medal game between Canada and Sweden will start at 20:30 (local)/ 14:30 (ET). Both games are being held that the Palasport Arena.


Box Score CAN
2
2
2
6
Compte FIN
0
0
0
0

First Period/Première période

Scoring/Buts:
17:33 CAN - 8 Weatherston (5 Sostorics) PP
19:15 CAN - 10 Apps (27 Kingsbury, 15 Goyette) PP

Penalties/Pénalités:
03:24 CAN - 17 Botterill 2 min, Cross-Checking
10:53 FIN -9 Mertanen 2 min, Interference
12:19 CAN - 10 Apps 2 min, High Sticking
15:40 FIN - 11 Parvianen 2 min, High Sticking
19:15 FIN - 12 Saarinen 2 min, Interference
19:39 FIN - 27 Palvila 2 min, Holding

Second Period/Deuxième période

Scoring/Buts:
34:59 CAN - 22 Wickenheiser (10 Apps) PP
36:26 CAN - 13 Ouellette (61 Sunohara) PP

Penalties/Pénalités:
28:02 CAN - 22 Wickenheiser 2 min, Holding
33:58 FIN - 9 Mertanen 2 min, Holding
36:00 FIN - 20 Sirvio 2 min,
38:41 CAN - 11 Pounder 2 min, Hooking

Third Period/Troisième période

Scoring/Buts:
47:49 CAN - 7 Piper (22 Wickenheiser, 10 Apps)
54:47 CAN - 7 Piper (22 Wickenheiser, 10 Apps)

Penalties/Pénalités:
43:41 CAN - 11 Pounder 2 min, Tripping
48:14  CAN - 10 Apps 2 min, Hooking
49:38 CAN - 15 Goyette 2 min, Hooking
50:23 FIN - 22 Tuominen 2 min,
52:57 FIN - 24 Kovalainen 2 min, Hooking


Goaltenders CAN Labonte
Gardiennes de but FIN Hassinen, Raty

Shots on Goal Team

1 p

2 p

3 p

Final

Shots on Goal CAN

12

12

16

40

Tirs au but FIN

5

5

7

17


Referee/Arbitre HOWARD, Danyel
Linesmen/Juges des lignes PIACENTINI, Julie / QUAGLIATO, Kiara

Attendance/Assistance 7306
For more information:
André Brin Manager, Communications | Premier responsable, relations médias

Sommaire du Match

Canada 6 - Finlande 0

Semi-Final
vendredi le 17 février, 2006
Turin, ITA - Esposizioni

LE CANADA DÉFENDRA SON TITRE OLYMPIQUE… CONTRE LA SUÈDE!

Avec Melody Davidson derrière le banc, il était clair que le Canada n’allait pas sous-estimer un adversaire. Mais il a été encore plus facile de prendre ce match à cœur compte tenu de l’énorme surprise que la Suède a causée aux États-Unis lors de l’autre demi-finale présentée aujourd’hui.

Lors de la première demi-finale de la journée, la Suède a causé le plus grand revirement de l’histoire du hockey féminin en battant les médaillées d’argent olympique et championnes mondiales, les États-Unis, par la marque de 3 –2 lors de tirs de barrage. Les États-Unis n’avaient jamais perdu aux mains d’un pays autre que le Canada dans l’histoire du hockey féminin. Les États-Unis ne pourront faire mieux que le bronze cette fois-ci.

Les joueuses canadiennes ont semblé hésitantes au cours de la première période et les Finlandaises semblaient prêtes à relever le défi. Mais juste comme la Finlande croyait pouvoir rentrer au vestiaire après une première période sans point, le Canada a ouvert la marque. À 17:33, pendant un avantage numérique au Canada, Katie Weatherston (Thunder Bay/Dartmouith College, ECAC) a récupéré une rondelle libre dans le coin et s’est avancée sans opposition devant la gardienne finlandaise Maija Hassinen qu’elle a déjouée d’un tir par-dessus l’épaule. À 19:15, pendant un autre avantage numérique, la pression exercée par le Canada s’est traduite en un autre but lorsque l’avant Gillian Apps (Unionville, Ontario/Dartmouth College, ECAC) a bataillé pour rester devant le filet et a récupéré une rondelle libre qu’elle a poussée derrière Hassinen. Le Canada a donc mis fin à la première période avec une avance de 2 –0 ayant obtenu 12 tirs au but contre 5 pour la Finlande.

Le Canada a marqué deux autres buts en avantage numérique au cours du deuxième tiers. Hayley Wickenheiser (Shaunavon, Saskatchewan/X-Treme de Calgary) a trouvé un espace libre au centre et a déjoué Hassinen qui avait la vue voilée. Caroline Ouellette a ensuite décoché un puissant tir de la pointe lors d’un autre avantage numérique et son but a chassé la gardienne Hassinen du match.

Cherie Piper (Scarborough, Ontario/Dartmouth College) a inscrit deux buts en troisième période et le Canada a inscrit une victoire retentissante de 6 –0 sur la Finlande.

Les deux matchs pour les médailles auront lieu le lundi 20 février à Turin. Le match pour la médaille de bronze entre la Finlande et les États-Unis aura lieu à 16h30 (heure locale)/10h30 (HE). Le match pour la médaille d’or opposant le Canada à la Suède sera présenté à compter de 20h30 (heure locale)/14h30 (HE). Les deux matchs auront lieu à l’aréna Palasport.


Box Score CAN
2
2
2
6
Compte FIN
0
0
0
0

First Period/Première période

Scoring/Buts:
17:33 CAN - 8 Weatherston (5 Sostorics) PP
19:15 CAN - 10 Apps (27 Kingsbury, 15 Goyette) PP

Penalties/Pénalités:
03:24 CAN - 17 Botterill 2 min, Cross-Checking
10:53 FIN -9 Mertanen 2 min, Interference
12:19 CAN - 10 Apps 2 min, High Sticking
15:40 FIN - 11 Parvianen 2 min, High Sticking
19:15 FIN - 12 Saarinen 2 min, Interference
19:39 FIN - 27 Palvila 2 min, Holding

Second Period/Deuxième période

Scoring/Buts:
34:59 CAN - 22 Wickenheiser (10 Apps) PP
36:26 CAN - 13 Ouellette (61 Sunohara) PP

Penalties/Pénalités:
28:02 CAN - 22 Wickenheiser 2 min, Holding
33:58 FIN - 9 Mertanen 2 min, Holding
36:00 FIN - 20 Sirvio 2 min,
38:41 CAN - 11 Pounder 2 min, Hooking

Third Period/Troisième période

Scoring/Buts:
47:49 CAN - 7 Piper (22 Wickenheiser, 10 Apps)
54:47 CAN - 7 Piper (22 Wickenheiser, 10 Apps)

Penalties/Pénalités:
43:41 CAN - 11 Pounder 2 min, Tripping
48:14  CAN - 10 Apps 2 min, Hooking
49:38 CAN - 15 Goyette 2 min, Hooking
50:23 FIN - 22 Tuominen 2 min,
52:57 FIN - 24 Kovalainen 2 min, Hooking


Goaltenders CAN Labonte
Gardiennes de but FIN Hassinen, Raty

Shots on Goal Team

1 p

2 p

3 p

Final

Shots on Goal CAN

12

12

16

40

Tirs au but FIN

5

5

7

17


Referee/Arbitre HOWARD, Danyel
Linesmen/Juges des lignes PIACENTINI, Julie / QUAGLIATO, Kiara

Attendance/Assistance 7306
Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
André Brin Manager, Communications | Premier responsable, relations médias