Game Summary

Canada 8 - Sweden 1

Tuesday, February 14, 2006
Turin, ITA - Palasport Arena
15:30 (Turin Time)
9:30 (Eastern Time)
8:30 (Central Time)
7:30 (Mountain Time)
6:30 (Pacific Time)

 

CANADA WINS GROUP B WITH SOLID WIN OVER SWEDEN
SEMI-FINALS ARE UP NEXT

Sweden’s head coach Peter Elander decided to go with Cecilia Anderson in net, instead of Kim Martin, recognized as one of the top young goaltenders in the World.  That being said, the former Concordia Stinger Anderson has come up with some good efforts against Canada, especially this year.

Gillian Apps used her size to her advantage to score Canada’s first goal.  Apps stationed herself in front of Swedish netminder Cecilia Anderson, and jammed away at a loose puck until she beat her, giving Canada a 1-0 lead at 4:36 of the opening period.

Anderson held strong as Canada continued to carry the play throughout the first period, but was handcuffed by a Hayley Wickenheiser drive at 12:28, as Canada took a 2-0 lead.

Kim St-Pierre was mostly inactive in the first with Canada getting a 21-4 shot advantage, but a late Swedish flurry came close to making things interesting.  St-Pierre made a great save on a Nanna Jansson only, then could only watch Pernulla Winberg bank the puck off the side of the net as she dived back into position, with less than two minutes to play in the first frame. Then veteran and Sweden’s captain Maria Rooth found the post behind St-Pierre right off a faceoff, allowing Canada to escape to the dressing room with a 2-0 advantage.  .

But Sweden couldn’t maintain that momentum after the break.  At 3:58 of the second, during a powerplay, Anderson couldn’t control Cherie Piper’s blast from the point, and Apps was there to push the puck over the goal line.

Apps completed the hat trick, at 10:58, one-time a Wickenheiser pass behind Anderson.  Danielle Goyette added a powerplay marker in the second, deflecting a Piper shot while providing the screen. 

Canada allowed its first goal of the event in the middle frame, as a shot by Ylva Lindberg was directed a couple times, and eluded St-Pierre.  Katie Weatherston restored Canada’s five-goal cushion then Jayna Hefford added another, as Canada headed into the third period with a 7-1 lead.

A second power play goal by Goyette in the third, made the final 8-1 Canada.

The line of Apps, Wickenheiser and Cherie Piper has now amassed a total of 3` points, including 13 goals, at the 2006 Olympic Winter Games.

Canada will face the loser of the Finland/USA game on Tuesday night, a game which will determine 1st and 2nd place in Group B.

PLAYERS TO WATCH ON TEAM CANADA
Defencemen Becky Kellar and Cheryl Pounder are Canada’s shut-down pair of blueliners. They play as physical as any defencemen in women’s hockey and Sweden will be hard-pressed to create offence when these two veterans are on the ice.

The line of Danielle Goyette, Vicky Sunohara and Cassie Campbell has combined for 48 gold medals in international competition. This line of veterans os persistent on the forecheck, and could make life very difficult on Sweden’s young defence. Between the three players, they played in over 450 international games.

Young forward Gina Kingsbury is a relentless forechecker and backchecker, who takes advantage of her great skating ability. An adept stickhandler and passer, Sweden will have to take notice of Kingsbury in both ends of the rink. Playing with rookies Meghan Agosta and Katie Weatherston, they make up Canada’s ‘Kid Line’, but are playing well beyond their years.

PLAYERS TO WATCH ON TEAM SWEDEN
Goaltender Kim Martin is considered one of the top goaltenders in the World, and can steal a game for Sweden, given the right circumstances. Martin is a veteran of international play at the tender age of 20, having made her debut at the 2001 World Championship, when she was only 15 years old.

Veteran Maria Rooth alternates between defence and forward, and excels at both. Rooth turned 27 on February 11th, and is the undisputed leader of this team, both on and off the ice. Her leadership will be paramount to Sweden returning to the medal podium

Power forward Erika Holst takes advantage of her size (5’10, 181 lbs) and skill to create havoc in the offensive zone. Holst’s physical presence make her a challenge to contain in front of the net, where she will be taking residence during power players.

Gunilla Andersson is Sweden’s offensive catalyst at the point. Andersson registered 27 shots on goal at the 2005 World Championship and will be running the power play along with Rooth from the back end.


Box Score CAN
2
5
1
8
Compte SWE
0
1
0
1

First Period/Première période

Scoring/Buts:
04:36 CAN - 10 Apps (unassisted)
12:28 CAN - 22 Wickenheiser (11 Pounder)

Penalties/Pénalités:
01:29 SWE - 27 Lindberg w min, Hooking
13:24 CAN - 10 Apps 2 min, Hooking
14:03 CAN -  5 Sostorics 2 min, Cross-checking
14:55 SWE - 28 Rundqvist 2 min, Interference
19:16 CAN - 22 Wickenheiser 2 min, Hooking

Second Period/Deuxième période

Scoring/Buts:
23:53 CAN 10 Apps (unassisted) PP
30:58 CAN - 10 Apps (22 Wickenheiser, 7 Piper)
34:02 CAN - 15 Goyette (7 Piper, 77 Campbell)
36:12 SWE - 27 Lindberg (24 Jansson, 16 Winberg) PP
37:25 CAN - 8 Weatherston (unassisted)
38:53 CAN - 16 Hefford (unassisted)

Penalties/Pénalités:
22:21 SWE - 18 Lundberg 2 min, Interference
24:57 CAN - 10 Apps 2 min, Slashing
27:13 CAN - 11 Pounder 2 min, Interference
33:08 SWE - 22 Eliasson 2 min, Clipping
34:24 CAN - 26 Vaillancourt 2 min, Elbowing
37:54 SWE - 4 Asserholt 2 min, Holding
39:55 CAN - 61 Sunohara 2 min, Hooking

Third Period/Troisième période

Scoring/Buts:
46:02 CAN - Goyette (7 Piper, 22 Wickenheiser) PP

Penalties/Pénalités:
44:20 SWE - 4 Asserholt 2 min, Interference
57:47 SWE - 23 Andersson 2 min, Hooking
59:29 SWE - 21 Elfsberg 2 min, Hooking


Goaltenders CAN Kim ST-PIERRE
Gardiennes de but SWE Cecilla ANDERSSON

Shots on Goal Team

1 p

2 p

3 p

Final

Shots on Goal CAN

21

15

11

47

Tirs au but SWE

4

3

1

8


Referee/Arbitre HIRVONEN Anu
Linesmen/Juges des lignes MATTILA Sanna, PIACENTINI Julie

Attendance/Assistance 6850
For more information:
André Brin Manager, Communications | Premier responsable, relations médias

Sommaire du Match

Canada 8 - Suède 1

Ronde préliminaire
mardi le 14 février 2006
15h30 (heure de Turin)
09h30 (heure de l’Est)
08h30 (heure centrale)
07h30 (heure des Rocheuses)
06h30 (heure du Pacifique)
Turin, ITA - Esposizioni

 

LE CANADA TERMINE AU PREMIER RANG DU GROUPE A AVEC UNE VICTOIRE CONVAINCANTE SUR LA SUÈDE 
PLACE AUX DEMI-FINALES

L’entraîneur-chef de la Suède, Peter Elander, a décidé de faire appel à la gardienne Cecilia Anderson devant le filet au lieu de Kim Martin qui est reconnue comme une des meilleures jeunes gardiennes de la planète. Ceci étant dit, l’ancienne joueuse des Stingers de Concordia a connu de bons matchs contre le Canada, surtout cette année.

Gillian Apps a profité de sa taille pour marquer le premier but du Canada. Apps s’est placée devant la gardienne suédoise Cecilia Anderson et s’est acharnée sur la rondelle libre jusqu’à ce qu’elle déjoue la gardienne, donnant ainsi une avance de 1 –0 au Canada à 4:36 du premier tiers.

Anderson a tenu bon alors que le Canada a continué de dominer le jeu en première période, mais elle a été menottée par un tir de Hayley Wickenheiser à 12:28 alors que le Canada a pris les devants 2 –0.

Kim St-Pierre n’a presque pas été sollicitée en première période au cours de laquelle le Canada a obtenu 21 tirs au but contre 4, mais une attaque suédoise en fin de période a rendu le tout intéressant. St-Pierre a effectué un superbe arrêt devant Nanna Jansson avant de regarder le tir de Pernulla Winberg frapper le côté du filet alors qu’elle plongeait pour reprendre sa position avec moins de deux minutes à jouer en première période. Ensuite, la vétérante et capitaine de la formation suédoise, Maria Rooth, a frappé le poteau derrière St-Pierre dès la mise au jeu. Le Canada s’en est donc bien tiré et est rentré au vestiaire jouissant d’une avance de 2 –0.

Mais la Suède n’a pu maintenir l’allure après la pause. À 3:58 de la deuxième période, au cours d’un avantage numérique, Anderson n’a pu maîtriser un tir puissant de Cherie Piper au point d’appui et Apps était là pour pousser la rondelle au-delà de la ligne des buts.

Apps a réussi son tour du chapeau à 10:58, décochant un tir sur réception dès qu’elle a capté la passe de Wickenheiser pour déjouer Anderson. Danielle Goyette a ajouté un but en avantage numérique en deuxième période en déviant un tir de Piper alors qu’elle voilait la vue de la gardienne. 

Le Canada a alloué son premier but du tournoi au cours de la deuxième période quand le tir d’Ylva Lindberg a été dévié à quelques reprises avant de tromper St-Pierre. Katie Weatherson a redonné une avance de cinq buts aux Canadiennes puis Jayna Hefford a ajouté un autre but de sorte que le Canada s’est retiré au vestiaire avec une avance de 7 –1.

Un deuxième but de Danielle Goyette en avantage numérique a porté la marque finale à 8 –1.

Le trio d’Apps, Wickenheiser et Cherie Piper a maintenant cumulé 34 points au total, y compris 13 buts aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2006.

Le Canada affrontera l’équipe perdante du match opposant la Finlande et les États-Unis présenté mardi soir, match qui déterminera le 1er et le 2e rang du groupe B.

JOUEUSES D’ÉQUIPE CANADA À SURVEILLER

Les défenseures Becky Kellar et Cheryl Pounder sont celles vers qui le Canada se tourne pour freiner l’adversaire à la ligne bleue. Elles adoptent un style de jeu robuste mieux que n’importe quelles autres défenseures au hockey féminin et la Suède aura de la difficulté à créer un jeu offensif lorsque ce duo sera sur la patinoire.

Le trio de Danielle Goyette, Vicky Sunohara et Cassie Campbell a récolté un total de 48 médailles d’or au hockey international. Ce trio d’expérience s’avère persistant à l’échec avant et pourrait compliquer la tâche des jeunes défenseures suédoises. À elles trois, elles ont pris part à plus de 450 matchs sur la scène internationale.

La jeune avant Gina Kingsbury travaille sans relâche à l’échec avant et en repli défensif et elle profite de ses excellentes habiletés en patinage. Habile pour manier le bâton et effectuer des passes, la Suède devra surveiller Kingsbury de près aux deux extrémités de la patinoire. Gina et les recrues Meghan Agosta et Katie Weatherston forment le « trio des jeunes », mais leur jeu ne laisse certainement pas paraître leur jeune âge.

JOUEUSES D’ÉQUIPE SUÈDE À SURVEILLER

La gardienne Kim Martin est réputée être une des meilleures gardiennes au monde et elle peut voler un match à elle seule si elle en a l’occasion. Elle a une grande expérience de la scène internationale malgré ses 20 ans, ayant fait ses débuts au Championnat mondial de 2001 alors qu’elle n’avait que 15 ans. 

La joueuse d’expérience Maria Rooth joue tantôt à la défensive, tantôt à l’offensive et elle excelle aux deux positions. Rooth a célébré son 27e anniversaire de naissance le 11 février et elle est la chef de file incontestée de cette équipe, sur la glace et ailleurs. Son leadership sera un élément-clé pour la Suède si celle-ci espère un retour sur le podium des médaillées.  

La puissante avant Erika Hoist profitera de son gabarit (5 pi 10 po, 181 lb) et de ses habiletés pour semer le désordre en zone offensive. Son jeu robuste la rend difficile à déplacer lorsqu’elle est devant le filet, endroit où elle sera sûrement pendant les avantages numériques de son équipe.

Gunilla Andersson est le catalyseur de l’offensive suédoise au point d’appui. Elle a obtenu 27 tirs au but au championnat mondial 2005 et elle dirigera le jeu de puissance de l’arrière avec Rooth.


Box Score CAN
2
5
1
8
Compte SWE
0
1
0
1

First Period/Première période

Scoring/Buts:
04:36 CAN - 10 Apps (unassisted)
12:28 CAN - 22 Wickenheiser (11 Pounder)

Penalties/Pénalités:

03:29 SWE - 27 Lindberg w min, Hooking
13:24 CAN - 10 Apps 2 min, Hooking
14:03 CAN -  5 Sostorics 2 min, Cross-checking
14:55 SWE - 28 Rundqvist 2 min, Interference
19:16 CAN - 22 Wickenheiser 2 min, Hooking

Second Period/Deuxième période

Scoring/Buts:
23:53 CAN 10 Apps (unassisted) PP
30:58 CAN - 10 Apps (22 Wickenheiser, 7 Piper)
34:02 CAN - 15 Goyette (7 Piper, 77 Campbell)
36:12 SWE - 27 Lindberg (24 Jansson, 16 Winberg) PP
37:25 CAN - 8 Weatherston (unassisted)
38:53 CAN - 16 Hefford (unassisted)

Penalties/Pénalités:
22:21 SWE - 18 Lundberg 2 min, Interference
24:57 CAN - 10 Apps 2 min, Slashing
27:13 CAN - 11 Pounder 2 min, Interference
33:08 SWE - 22 Eliasson 2 min, Clipping
34:24 CAN - 26 Vaillancourt 2 min, Elbowing
37:54 SWE - 4 Asserholt 2 min, Holding
39:55 CAN - 61 Sunohara 2 min, Hooking

Third Period/Troisième période

Scoring/Buts:
46:02 CAN - Goyette (7 Piper, 22 Wickenheiser) PP

Penalties/Pénalités:
44:20 SWE - 4 Asserholt 2 min, Interference
57:47 SWE - 23 Andersson 2 min, Hooking
59:29 SWE - 21 Elfsberg 2 min, Hooking


Goaltenders CAN Kim ST-PIERRE
Gardiennes de but SWE Cecilla ANDERSSON

Shots on Goal Team

1 p

2 p

3 p

Final

Shots on Goal CAN

21

15

11

47

Tirs au but SWE

4

3

1

8


Referee/Arbitre HIRVONEN Anu
Linesmen/Juges des lignes MATTILA Sanna, PIACENTINI Julie

Attendance/Assistance 6850
Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
André Brin Manager, Communications | Premier responsable, relations médias