Canada 7 - Calgary Northstars 2

VETERANS SET PACE IN CANADA'S 7-2 WIN OVER CALGARY NORTHSTARS

CALGARY, Alta. – Olympic gold medallists Jayna Hefford (Kingston, Ont/Brampton, CWHL), Rebecca Johnston (Sudbury, Ont./Toronto, CWHL) and Hayley Wickenheiser (Shaunavon, Sask./University of Calgary, CIS) all collected three points on the ice Thursday night, helping Canada's National Women's Team sail to a 7-2 win over the Midget AAA Northstars – and proving they can still keep up with their less experienced counterparts.

That being said it was rookie forward Melodie Daoust (Valleyfield, Que./McGill University, CIS) to get the ball rolling inside the Markin MacPhail Centre at Canada Olympic Park, opening the scoring midway through the first and adding another less than five minutes later to make it 2-0 early in the game. Wickenheiser assisted both of Daoust's markers, while Hefford added another goal for Canada at 16:53 in the period on an assist from Johnston to make it 3-0 going into intermission.

Fellow long-time National Women's Team vet Gillian Apps (Unionville, Ont./ Brampton, CWHL) fed Wickenheiser out front midway through the second to make it 4-0, and the Calgary Northstars continued to struggle in solving goaltender Genevieve Lacasse (Kingston, Ont./Boston, CWHL). That is until 17:26 in the middle frame when Derrick Reid let a fast shot go from the slot that went soaring past Lacasse to narrow the gap to 4-1, although still in favour of the ladies in red and white.

Caroline Ouellette (Montreal, Que./Montreal, CWHL) answered with a Canadian goal less than 15 seconds later to make it 5-1. Johnston provided the helper for Ouellette, and then after the centre ice face-off managed to get a hold of the puck and put one up on the board herself at 17:39 in the second to make it an impressive 6-1 going into the break.

Hefford scored Canada's lucky No. 7 midway through the third period, and while Brandon Sady was able to notch an unassisted marker for the Northstars with four minutes left in the third, there just wasn't enough time left on the clock for the Calgary boys' team to stage a comeback. Canada's National Women's Team skated away with its second win in as many days, starting an undefeated streak in its 2013-14 series against Alberta Midget Hockey League teams.

Follow all the National Women's Team action this season at www.hockeycanada.ca/nwt, www.facebook.com/hockeycanada and www.twitter.com/hc_women.

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Game #/No. de match 3 Round/Ronde Midget Series
Arena/Aréna Markin MacPhail Centre – Rink A Location/Lieu Calgary, Alta.
Date Thursday, September 26, 2013
Time/Heure 19:15 MT

 

Box Score/Compte 1 2 3 Total
CAN 3 3 1 7
CGYN 0 1 1 2

 

Goals & Penalties/Buts et pénalités
First Period/Première période
Goals/Buts :
10:28 CAN Melodie Daoust (Gillian Apps, Hayley Wickenheiser)
15:18 CAN Melodie Daoust (Catherine Ward, Hayley Wickenheiser) PP/AN
16:53 CAN Jayna Hefford (Vicki Bendus, Rebecca Johnston)

Penalties/Pénalités :
15:06 CGYN Justin Peers (Body-checking/Mise en échec corporelle)
17:27 CAN Catherine Ward (Holding/Retenir)
Second Period/Deuxième période
Goals/Buts :
10:09 CAN Hayley Wickenheiser (Gillian Apps)
17:26 CGYN Derrick Reid (Austin Strand)
17:39 CAN Caroline Ouellette (Rebecca Johnston,Catherine Ward)
18:03 CAN Rebecca Johnston (Caroline Ouellette, Jayna Hefford)

Penalties/Pénalités :
12:54 CAN Hayley Wickenheiser (Hooking/Accrocher)
14:35 CGYN Brandon Sady (Slashing/Coup de baton)
19:17 CGYN Yuri Chernichko (Tripping/Faire trébucher)
Third Period/Troisième période
Goals/Buts :
10:17 CAN Jayna Hefford (Lauriane Rougeau) PP/AN
16:02 CGYN Brandon Sady

Penalties/Pénalités :
08:36 CGYN Tanner Reynolds (Hooking/Accrocher)
16:28 CAN Bailey Bram (High-sticking/Bâton élevé)

 

Goaltenders/Gardien(ne)s de but
CAN Genevieve Lacasse
CGYN Derek Mazil; Nick Patterson (10:09 in 2nd)

 

Shots on Goal/Tirs au but 1 2 3 Total
CAN 13 9 7 29
CGYN
8 7 4 19
Videos
Photos
Close
Credit  
Close

Canada 7 - Calgary Northstars 2

LES VÉTÉRANTES DONNENT LE TON DANS LA VICTOIRE DE 7-2 DU CANADA SUR LES NORTHSTARS DE CALGARY

CALGARY, Alb. – Les médaillées d’or olympiques Jayna Hefford (Kingston, Ont/Brampton, LCHF), Rebecca Johnston (Sudbury, Ont./Toronto, LCHF) et Hayley Wickenheiser (Shaunavon, Sask./Université de Calgary, SIC) ont toutes accumulé trois points sur la glace jeudi soir, aidant l’équipe nationale féminine du Canada à vaincre les Northstars, une équipe midget AAA, 7-2, et prouvant qu’elles sont encore capables de suivre l’allure imposée par leurs coéquipières moins expérimentées.

Cela étant dit, c’est la recrue Mélodie Daoust (Valleyfield, Qc/Université McGill, SIC) qui a ouvert le bal au Centre Markin MacPhail Centre au Parc Olympique du Canada, marquant le premier but de la rencontre au milieu de la première période avant d’en inscrire un deuxième moins de cinq minutes plus tard pour porter la marque à 2-0 tôt dans le match. Wickenheiser a obtenu une mention d’aide sur les deux buts de Daoust. Hefford a marqué un autre but pour le Canada à 16 min 53 s avec l’aide de Johnston pour creuser l’écart à 3-0 avant l’entracte.

Une autre vétérante de longue date de l’équipe nationale féminine, Gillian Apps (Unionville, Ont./Brampton, LCHF) a effectué une passe à Wickenheiser qui se trouvait devant le filet au milieu du deuxième tiers. Cette dernière a fait vibrer le cordage pour porter la marque à 4-0 alors que les Northstars de Calgary tentaient toujours de déjouer la gardienne de but Geneviève Lacasse (Kingston, Ont./Boston, LCHF). Ils sont parvenus à mettre fin à son jeu blanc à 17 min 26 s de la période médiane quand Derrick Reid a décoché un tir rapide de la zone privilégiée pour faire mouche et réduire l’écart à 4-1.

Caroline Ouellette (Montréal, Qc/Montréal, LCHF) a répliqué pour le Canada moins de 15 secondes plus tard, portant la marque à 5-1. Johnston a obtenu une mention d’aide sur le but de Ouellette puis, après la mise au jeu au centre de la patinoire, elle s’est emparée de la rondelle et a marqué à son tour à 17 min 39 s de la deuxième période. La marque était donc de 6-1 au deuxième entracte.

Hefford a marqué le septième but du Canada au milieu de la troisième période puis Brandon Sady a fait mouche, sans aide, pour les Northstars alors qu’il restait quatre minutes en troisième. Mais il ne restait pas assez de temps au chronomètre pour que les garçons puissent effectuer une remontée. L’équipe nationale féminine remporte donc un deuxième match en deux jours pour amorcer sa série 2013-14 contre des équipes de la Ligue de hockey midget de l’Alberta avec deux victoires consécutives.

Suivez toute l’action de l’équipe nationale féminine cette saison aux www.hockeycanada.ca/enf, www.facebook.com/hockeycanada/fret www.twitter.com/hc_feminin

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Game #/No. de match 3 Round/Ronde Série midget
Arena/Aréna Markin MacPhail Centre – Rink A Location/Lieu Calgary, Alb.
Date Jeudi 26 septembre 2013 Time/Heure 19:15

 

Box Score/Compte 1 2 3 Total
CAN 3 3 1 7
CGYN 0 1 1 2

 

Goals & Penalties/Buts et pénalités
First Period/Première période
Goals/Buts :
10:28 CAN Melodie Daoust (Gillian Apps, Hayley Wickenheiser)
15:18 CAN Melodie Daoust (Catherine Ward, Hayley Wickenheiser) PP/AN
16:53 CAN Jayna Hefford (Vicki Bendus, Rebecca Johnston)

Penalties/Pénalités :
15:06 CGYN Justin Peers (Body-checking/Mise en échec corporelle)
17:27 CAN Catherine Ward (Holding/Retenir)
Second Period/Deuxième période
Goals/Buts :
10:09 CAN Hayley Wickenheiser (Gillian Apps)
17:26 CGYN Derrick Reid (Austin Strand)
17:39 CAN Caroline Ouellette (Rebecca Johnston,Catherine Ward)
18:03 CAN Rebecca Johnston (Caroline Ouellette, Jayna Hefford)

Penalties/Pénalités :
12:54 CAN Hayley Wickenheiser (Hooking/Accrocher)
14:35 CGYN Brandon Sady (Slashing/Coup de baton)
19:17 CGYN Yuri Chernichko (Tripping/Faire trébucher)
Third Period/Troisième période
Goals/Buts :
10:17 CAN Jayna Hefford (Lauriane Rougeau) PP/AN
16:02 CGYN Brandon Sady

Penalties/Pénalités :
08:36 CGYN Tanner Reynolds (Hooking/Accrocher)
16:28 CAN Bailey Bram (High-sticking/Bâton élevé)

 

Goaltenders/Gardiennes de but
CAN Genevieve Lacasse
CGYN Derek Mazil; Nick Patterson (10:09 in 2nd)

 

Shots on Goal/Tirs au but 1 2 3 Total
CAN 13 9 7 29
CGYN 8 7 4 19
Vidéos
Photos
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: