Canada 5 - South East Athletic Club Tigers 1

CANADA SCORES COOL 5-1 WIN OVER SEAC TIGERS AT ICEBREAKER

CALGARY, Alta. – Rebecca Johnston (Sudbury, Ont./Toronto, CWHL) scored two sweet goals Friday night, including one on the power play, to help Canada's National Women's Team skate to a cool 5-1 win over the South East Athletic Club Tigers from Medicine Hat on Day 2 of the Icebreaker Tournament.

The Canadian ladies came out cool and confident in the first, backed up by focused netminder Shannon Szabados (Edmonton, Alta./Northern Alberta Institute of Technology, ACAC), giving them the strong start they needed coming off a close 3-2 loss to the Calgary Flames on the opening day of the early season tournament featuring three Midget AAA teams.

Forward Caroline Ouellette (Montreal, Que./Montreal, CWHL) kicked off the scoring at 11:45 in the opening frame, with help from fellow veterans Jayna Hefford (Kingston, Ont./Brampton, CWHL) and Meaghan Mikkelson (St. Albert, Alta./Alberta, CWHL). Johnston followed suit with her first of the night just 17 seconds later, with assists from Haley Irwin (Thunder Bay, Ont./Montreal, CWHL) and Catherine Ward (Montreal, Que./Montreal, CWHL) to make it a quick 2-0 for Canada (1-1) over the SEAC Tigers (0-2).

A boarding penalty later in the period cost the Tigers dearly, with Melodie Daoust (Valleyfield, Que./McGill University, CIS) scoring her first goal wearing a Canada's National Women's Team jersey at 17:01 on the clock and Mikkelson again assisting along with blueliner Lauriane Rougeau (Beaconsfield, Que./Cornell University, ECAC), to make it 3-0 going into intermission.

The red and white continued its quick momentum going into the second, with Mikkelson notching her third point and Johnston snagging her second goal on another power-play opportunity to make it 4-0 at 16:30 in the period, a score they held onto for the remainder of the period.

Irwin added another midway through the third to make it 5-0, and it looked like Canada might skate away with a shutout, but a last ditch effort on a power play in the dying minutes of the game gave the SEAC Tigers the chance they needed to finally put the puck past the steadfast Szabados. Nevertheless, by the time the final whistle sounded, Canada had climbed its way to a comfortable 5-1 win over the team from Medicine Hat, earning its first win of the Icebreaker Tournament at Hockey Canada's home arena in Canada Olympic Park.

The SEAC Tigers look for their first Icebreaker win Saturday at 12 p.m. MT when they face the Calgary Flames, while Canada's National Women's Team plans to make it two straight when they take on the Strathmore Bisons at 3 p.m. MT on Day 3 Saturday. Follow all the action live from the Markin MacPhail Centre in Calgary at www.Twitter.com/HC_Women.

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Game #/No. de match 4
Round/Ronde Icebreaker
Arena/Aréna Markin MacPhail Centre – Rink A Location/Lieu Calgary, Alta.
Date Friday, September 20, 2013
Time/Heure 21:00 MT

 

Box Score/Compte 1 2 3 Total
CAN 3 1 1 5
SEAC 0 0 1 1

 

Goals & Penalties/Buts et pénalités
First Period/Première période
Goals/Buts :
11:45 CAN Caroline Ouellette (Jayna Hefford, Meaghan Mikkelson)
12:02 CAN Rebecca Johnston (Haley Irwin, Catherine Ward)
17:01 CAN Mélodie Daoust (Meaghan Mikkelson, Lauriane Rougeau) PP/AN

Penalties/Pénalités :
09:18 CAN Brigette Lacquette (Hooking/Accrocher)
16:55 SEAC Austin Wong (Boarding/Donner de la bande)
Second Period/Deuxième période
Goals/Buts :
16:30 CAN Rebecca Johnston (Meaghan Mikkelson) PP/AN

Penalties/Pénalités :
07:38 CAN Jocelyne Larocque (Holding/Retenir)
14:55 SEAC Jaeger White (Hooking/Accrocher)
Third Period/Troisième période
Goals/Buts :
08:13 CAN Haley Irwin (Laura Fortino)
17:25 SEAC Ryan Fauth (Nic Purkusic, Mitch Hallas) PP/AN

Penalties/Pénalités :
04:54 SEAC Michael Doneff (High-sticking/Bâton élevé)
05:59 SEAC Cody Verge (Cross-checking/Double-échec)
16:21 CAN Bailey Bram (Delay of Game/Retarder le match)

 

Goaltenders/Gardiennes de but
CAN Shannon Szabados
SEAC Xavier Burghardt; Kyler Komistek (in 2nd/12:32)

 

Shots on Goal/Tirs au but 1 2 3 Total
CAN 11 7 8 26
SEAC 3 4 5 12
Videos
Photos
Close
Credit  
Close

Canada 5 - South East Athletic Club Tigers 1

LE CANADA BAT LES TIGERS DU SEAC 5-1 AU TOURNOI ICEBREAKER

CALGARY, Alb. – Rebecca Johnston (Sudbury, Ont./Toronto, LCHF) a inscrit deux superbes buts vendredi soir, dont un sur le jeu de puissance, aidant l’équipe nationale féminine du Canada à l’emporter 5-1 contre les Tigers du South East Athletic Club, une formation de Medicine Hat, au jour 2 du Tournoi Icebreaker.

Les Canadiennes sont sorties calmes et confiantes au premier vingt, défendues par Shannon Szabados (Edmonton, Alb./Northern Alberta Institute of Technology, ACAC), qui a donné à son équipe le départ dont elle avait besoin après un revers de 3-2 face aux Flames de Calgary, en lever de rideau du tournoi de début de saison qui rassemble aussi trois équipes midgets AAA.

L’avant Caroline Ouellette (Montréal, Qc/Montréal, LCHF) a ouvert la marque à 11 min 45 s du premier vingt, aidée des autres vétérantes Jayna Hefford (Kingston, Ont./Brampton, LCHF) et Meaghan Mikkelson (St. Albert, Alb./Alberta, LCHF). Johnston a inscrit son premier de la soirée 17 secondes plus tard, avec des aides de Haley Irwin (Thunder Bay, Ont./Montréal, LCHF) et Catherine Ward (Montréal, Qc/Montréal, LCHF) pour procurer une avance rapide de 2-0 au Canada (1-1) contre les Tigers du SEAC (0-2).

Une punition pour avoir donné de la bande plus tard dans la période a fait mal aux Tigers. Mélodie Daoust (Valleyfield, Qc/Université McGill, SIC) a compté son premier filet dans l’uniforme de l’équipe nationale féminine du Canada, à 17 min 01 s, aidée de Mikkelson encore et de la défenseure Lauriane Rougeau (Beaconsfield, Qc/Université Cornell, ECAC), portant le compte à 3-0 avant l’entracte.

Le rouge et blanc a poursuivi sur sa lancée en période médiane. Mikkelson a récolté son troisième point et Johnston a compté son deuxième but sur un autre jeu de puissance, portant la marque à 4-0 à 16 min 30 s de la période. Ce pointage a été le même jusqu’à la fin de la période.

Irwin a inscrit un autre filet à mi-chemin au troisième tiers pour creuser l’écart à cinq buts. Le Canada semblait se diriger vers un jeu blanc, mais un dernier effort lors d’un jeu de puissance dans les dernières minutes de la rencontre a permis aux Tigers du SEAC de finalement toucher le fond du filet et de battre Szabados. Néanmoins, le Canada a signé un gain de 5-1 contre la formation de Medicine Hat, son premier au Tournoi Icebreaker au domicile de Hockey Canada, au Parc olympique du Canada.

Les Tigers du SEAC viseront un premier gain au tournoi samedi, à midi HR, dans un duel contre les Flames de Calgary. L’équipe nationale féminine du Canada voudra remporter un deuxième match de suite contre les Bisons de Strathmore, à 15 h HR, au jour 3, samedi. Suivez toute l’action en direct du Markin MacPhail Centre de Calgary au www.Twitter.com/HC_Feminin.

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Game #/No. de match 4 Round/Ronde Icebreaker
Arena/Aréna Markin MacPhail Centre – Rink A Location/Lieu Calgary, Alb.
Date Vendredi 20 septembre 2013
Time/Heure 21:00

 

Box Score/Compte 1 2 3 Total
CAN
3 1 1 5
SEAC 0 0 1 1

 

Goals & Penalties/Buts et pénalités
First Period/Première période
Goals/Buts :
11:45 CAN Caroline Ouellette (Jayna Hefford, Meaghen Mikkelson)
12:02 CAN Rebecca Johnston (Haley Irwin, Catherine Ward)
17:01 CAN Melodie Daoust (Meaghan Mikkelson, Lauriane Rougeau) PP/AN

Penalties/Pénalités :
09:18 CAN Brigette Lacquette (Hooking/Accrocher)
16:55 SEAC Austin Wong (Boarding/Donner de la bande)
Second Period/Deuxième période
Goals/Buts :
16:30 CAN Rebecca Johnston (Meaghan Mikkelson) PP/AN

Penalties/Pénalités :
07:38 CAN Jocelyne Larocque (Holding/Retenir)
14:55 SEAC Jaeger White (Hooking/Accrocher)
Third Period/Troisième période
Goals/Buts :
08:13 CAN Haley Irwin (Laura Fortino)
17:25 SEAC Ryan Fauth (Nic Purkusic, Mitch Hallas) PP/AN

Penalties/Pénalités :
04:54 SEAC Michael Doneff (High-sticking/Bâton élevé)
05:59 SEAC Cody Verge (Cross-checking/Double-échec)
16:21 CAN Bailey Bram (Delay of game/Retarder le match)

 

Goaltenders/Gardiennes de but
CAN Shannon Szabados
SEAC Xavier Burghardt; Kyler Komistek (12:32 in 2nd)

 

Shots on Goal/Tirs au but 1 2 3 Total
CAN 11 7 8 26
SEAC 3 4 5 12
Vidéos
Photos
2014 OLY : CAN 3 – É.-U. 2 (Prol.)
20 février 2014
Marie-Philip Poulin a marqué le but gagnant en prolongation et le Canada a gagné l’or olympique.
2014 OLY : Célébration féminin
20 février 2014
Le Canada célèbre sa quatrième médaille d’or olympique de suite en hockey féminin.
2014 OLY : CAN 5 - SUI 0
17 février 2014
Le Canada bat la Suisse 3-1 en demi-finale à Sotchi 2014.
2014 OLY : CAN 3 - USA 2
12 février 2014
Le Canada bat ses rivales américaines en ronde préliminaire à Sochi 2014.
2014 OLY : CAN 3 - FIN 0
10 février 2014
Le Canada marque trois buts au troisième tiers pour battre la Finlande par jeu blanc.
2014 OLY : CAN 5 - SUI 0
08 février 2014
Rebecca Johnston a accumulé trois points pour aider le Canada à remporter son premier match.
2014 OLY: Fête de quartier du COC
11 janvier 2014
Équipe Canada s’est jointe à d’autres athlètes olympiques à Banff pour une fête de quartier le 11 janv.
ÉNF : Annonce de la formation pour Sotchi 2014
23 décembre 2013
La formation de 21 joueuses du Canada pour les Jeux olympiques a été annoncée à Calgary.
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: