Canada 1 - Red Deer Chiefs 2

CANADA EDGED 2-1 BY TELUS CUP CHAMPS; WAKEFIELD SCORES LONE GOAL

RED DEER, Alta. – When Jennifer Wakefield (Pickering, Ont./Toronto, CWHL) took a beautiful shot from out front midway through the first, and watched while falling to the ice as the puck soared into the back of the net, it seemed as though everything was going Canada's way Tuesday night inside Red Deer Arena.

But while Canada was able to take the 1-0 lead early in its first official road game of this season's Midget Series, Wakefield's even strength marker would be the lone goal of the game for the ladies in red and white.

Despite scoring just once, Canada's National Women's Team played a hard fought and fast-paced game against the Red Deer Chiefs, who just happen to be two-time defending champions of the coveted TELUS Cup, Canada's National Midget Championship. Needless to say, fans from across the Red Deer area came to watch an exciting hockey game between two talented teams, and that's exactly what they got, with the red hot action on the ice making up for the chilly temperature in the rink.

It wasn't until late in the second that the Red Deer Chiefs were finally able to put one past Canadian netminder Charline Labonte (Boisbriand, Que./Montreal, CWHL), with Tyler Steenbergen tying it up at one goal-apiece with just over last two minutes left in the period. Red Deer maintained momentum going into the third, and Andrew Nielsen was able to capitalize on that with just over five minutes remaining in the period, giving the Chiefs a 2-1 lead with time running down on the clock.

Canada's coaching staff called a time-out with just over 30 seconds remaining in the final frame, but it wasn't long before the last buzzer sounded, and the Red Deer Chiefs were able to skate away with the win in front of a hometown crowd. Labonte faced 25 shots over three periods for a strong showing between the posts.

Next time, Canada's National Women's Team gets to play in its home arena, the Markin MacPhail Centre at Canada Olympic Park. The puck drops at 7:30 p.m. MT on Wednesday, Oct. 2 against the Midget AAA Calgary Flames.

It will be Canada's fourth game in its ongoing series against teams from the Alberta Midget Hockey League, part of a busy season in preparation for the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia. Follow all the action at www.hockeycanada.ca/nwt, www.facebook.com/hockeycanada and www.twitter.com/hc_women.

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Game #/No. de match 3 Round/Ronde Midget Series
Arena/Aréna Red Deer Arena
Location/Lieu Red Deer, Alta.
Date Tuesday, October 1, 2013
Time/Heure 19:30 MT

 

Box Score/Compte 1 2 3 Total
CAN 1 0 0 1
RD 0 1 1 2

 

Goals & Penalties/Buts et pénalités
First Period/Première période
Goals/Buts :
09:58 CAN Jennifer Wakefield (Natalie Spooner)

Penalties/Pénalités :
05:04 RD Gabe Bast (Cross-checking/Double-échec)           
16:40 CAN Brigette Lacquette (Holding/Retenir)          
Second Period/Deuxième période
Goals/Buts :
17:57 RD Tyler Steenbergen

Penalties/Pénalités :
07:29 RD Tyler Steenbergen (Hooking/Accrocher)
11:46 RD Andrew Nielsen (Head Contact/Contact avec la tête)
Third Period/Troisième période
Goals/Buts :
14:29 RD Andrew Nielsen

Penalties/Pénalités :
00:59 RD Brad Makofka (Slashing/Coup de bâton)
06:07 RD Brad Makofka (Slashing/Coup de bâton)
10:19 CAN Laura Fortino (Interference/Obstruction)

 

Goaltenders/Gardien(ne)s de but
CAN Charline Labonté
RD Cole Sears

 

Shots on Goal/Tirs au but 1 2 3 Total
CAN 10
7 7 24
RD 9 11 5 25
Videos
Photos
Close
Credit  
Close

Canada 1 - Chiefs de Red Deer 2

LE CANADA PERD 2-1 CONTRE LES CHAMPIONS DE LA COUPE TELUS; WAKEFIELD INSCRIT LE SEUL BUT DES SIENNES

RED DEER, Alb. – Quand Jennifer Wakefield (Pickering, Ont./Toronto, LCHF) a décoché un superbe tir de l’avant du filet au milieu de la première période et qu’elle a regardé, en tombant sur la glace, la rondelle toucher le fond du filet, tout s’annonçait bien pour le Canada mardi soir à l’aréna de Red Deer.

Mais bien que le Canada ait pu prendre les devants 1-0 tôt dans son premier match officiel sur la route dans le cadre de sa série midget, le but de Wakefield marqué à forces égales aura été le seul du match pour les femmes portant le chandail rouge et blanc.

Malgré qu’elle ait marqué un seul but, l’équipe nationale féminine du Canada a disputé un solide match à vive allure contre les Chiefs de Red Deer, champions en titre des deux dernières Coupe TELUS, le championnat national midget du Canada tant convoité. Il va sans dire que les partisans de la région de Red Deer étaient au rendez-vous dans l’espoir d’assister à un match excitant entre deux équipes talentueuses et c’est exactement ce à quoi ils ont eu droit; le feu de l’action a compensé le froid qui régnait dans l’aréna.

Les Chiefs sont parvenus à déjouer la gardienne de but du Canada Charline Labonté (Boisbriand, Qc/Montréal, LCHF) en fin de deuxième période lorsque Tyler Steenberger a nivelé la marque alors qu’il restait un peu plus de deux minutes à la période. Red Deer a maintenu la cadence au troisième tiers, et Andrew Nielsen a fait mouche alors qu’il restait un peu plus de cinq minutes à jouer dans le match, donnant une avance de 2-1 aux Chiefs.

Les entraîneurs du Canada ont demandé un temps d’arrêt environ 30 secondes avant la fin du match, mais la sirène s’est fait entendre peu de temps après, et les Chiefs de Red Deer ont porté la victoire à leur fiche devant leurs partisans. Labonté a livré une belle performance entre les poteaux, affrontant 25 tirs dans la rencontre.

L’équipe nationale féminine du Canada disputera son prochain match à domicile, au Markin MacPhail Centre au Parc Olympique du Canada, demain, le mercredi 2 octobre à 19 h 30. Elle affrontera alors une autre équipe masculine midget AAA, les Flames de Calgary.

Ce sera le quatrième match de la série du Canada contre des équipes de la Ligue de hockey midget de l’Alberta. Cette série fait partie des préparatifs de l’équipe en vue des Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2014 à Sotchi en Russie. Suivez toute l’action aux www.hockeycanada.ca/enf, www.facebook.com/hockeycanada/fr et www.twitter.com/hc_feminin.

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Game #/No. de match 3 Round/Ronde Série midget
Arena/Aréna Red Deer Arena
Location/Lieu Red Deer, Alb.
Date Mardi 1 octobre 2013
Time/Heure 19:30

 

Box Score/Compte 1 2 3 Total
CAN 1 0 0 1
RD 0 1 1 2

 

Goals & Penalties/Buts et pénalités
First Period/Première période
Goals/Buts :
09:58 CAN Jennifer Wakefield (Natalie Spooner)

Penalties/Pénalités :
05:04 RD Gabe Best (Cross-checking//Double-échec)           
16:40 CAN Brigette Lacquette (Holding/Retenir)
Second Period/Deuxième période
Goals/Buts :
17:57 RD Tyler Steenbergen

Penalties/Pénalités :
 07:29 RD Tyler Steenbergen (Hooking/Accrocher)
11:46 RD Andrew Neilsen (Head Contact/Contact avec la tête)
Third Period/Troisième période
Goals/Buts :
14:29 RD Andrew Nielsen

Penalties/Pénalités :
00:59 RD Brad Makofka (Slashing/Coup de bâton)
06:07 RD Brad Makofka (Slashing/Coup de bâton)
10:19 CAN Laura Fortino (Interference/Obstruction)

 

Goaltenders/Gardien(ne)s de but
CAN Charline Labonté
RD Cole Sears

 

Shots on Goal/Tirs au but 1 2 3 Total
CAN 10 7 7 24
RD 9 11 5 25
Vidéos
Photos
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: