Game Summary

Team A/White 3 - Team B/Black 6

Fall Festival
Round Robin
4 on 4
Thursday, September 7, 2006
10:15 am ET
Kenora, ON

FOUR ON FOUR ROUND DEBUTS
AT NATIONAL WOMEN’S TEAM FALL FESTIVAL IN KENORA

Kenora, ON – Team Black scored three times in regulation and three times on nine shootout tries for a 6-3 win against Team White.

The format for the next portion of the Fall Festival is 4-on-4, with added wrinkles such as between period shootouts, and opportunities at the end of each game to get more points in the standings by scoring on the final shootout. Over 300 students from nearby schools

Team White took an early lead as Rebecca Johnston (Sudbury, ON) beat the defence and used a nifty deke to beat Kim St-Pierre at 2:10. Team Black responded with two goals before the end of the opening period. Hayley Wickenheiser (Shaunavon, SK) pushed her own rebound past Charline Labonté at 12:24, and then at 17:50, Jana Harrigan (Burlington, ON) gave Team Black a 2-1 lead.

At the end of the first period, Correne Bredin of Team Black was the only player to score in the six-player shootout, giving Team Black a 3-1 win.

Only one goal was scored in the second period, as Katie Weatherston (Thunder Bay, ON) game Team Black a 4-1 lead, getting a rebound past Labonté.

Team Black added two goals in the shootout, as Sabrina Harbec (Montreal, QC) and Gillian Ferrari (Thornhill, ON) managed to beat Labonté. Only Cheryl Pounder (Mississauga, ON) found the back of the net against St-Pierre for Team White, which meant that Team Black had a commanding 6-2 lead through forty minutes of play.

There was no scoring during regulation time of the third period, which guaranteed Team Black at least three points in the standings. In the post-game shootout, in which goals not only count towards the score but also towards the standings, only Team White’s Delaney Collins (Pilot Mound, MB) managed to score, salvaging one point in the standings for Team White.

Over 300 students from nearby schools were in attendance for the game on Thursday morning.

For more information:
André Brin Director, Communications | Directeur, relations médias

Sommaire du Match

Équipe A/Blanc 3 - Équipe B/Noir 6

Festival d'automne
Ronde préliminaire
4 contre 4
le jeudi 7 septembre 2006
10h15 EST
Kenora, ON

LA RONDE DES MATCHS QUATRE CONTRE QUATRE S’AMORCE
AU FESTIVAL D’AUTOMNE DE L’ÉQUIPE NATIONALE FÉMININE À KENORA

Kenora, Ontario – L’équipe des noirs a marqué trois buts et trois buts en neuf tirs de barrage pour l’emporter sur l’équipe des blancs par la marque de 6-3.

La prochaine étape du tournoi comporte des matchs 4 contre 4 auxquels certains défis ont été ajoutés comme les tirs de barrage entre les périodes et des occasions à la fin de chaque match pour permettre aux équipes de cumuler plus de points au classement en marquant lors des derniers tirs de barrage. Plus de 300 étudiants des écoles avoisinantes ont assisté au match jeudi matin.

Les blancs ont pris l’avance tôt dans le match quand Rebecca Johnston (Sudbury, Ontario) a déjoué la défensive avant d’effectuer une feinte pour tromper Kim St-Pierre à 2:10. Les noirs ont répliqué en marquant deux buts avant la fin de la première période. Hayley Wickenheiser (Shaunavon, Saskatchewan) a poussé son propre rebond derrière Charline Labonté à 12:24 puis, à 17:50, Jana Harrigan (Burlington, Ontario) a donné une avance de 2 –1 aux noirs.

À la fin de la première période, Correne Bredin des noirs a été la seule à marquer lors des tirs de barrage auxquels ont pris part six joueuses pour porter la marque à 3 –1.

Un seul but a été marqué au cours du deuxième tiers. Katie Weatherston (Thunder Bay, Ontario) a porté l’avance des noirs à 4 –1 en s’emparant d’un rebond pour déjouer Labonté.

Les noirs ont ajouté deux buts lors des tirs de barrage quand Sabrina Harbec (Montréal, Québec) et Gillian Ferrari (Thornhill, Ontario) ont marqué face à Labonté. Seule Cheryl Pounder (Mississauga, Ontario) a trouvé le fond du filet de St-Pierre pour l’équipe des blancs. Après quarante minutes de jeu, les noirs jouissaient donc d’une avance de 6 –2.

Aucun but n’a été marqué en temps réglementaire en troisième période, garantissant ainsi au moins trois points au classement à l’équipe des noirs. Lors des tirs de barrage d’après-match, où les buts comptent non seulement dans le résultat du match, mais aussi au classement, seule Delaney Collins (Pilot Mound, Manitoba) des blancs a réussi à marquer, permettant aux blancs d’inscrire au moins un point au classement.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
André Brin Director, Communications | Directeur, relations médias