Game Summary

Canada 5 - USA 2

4 Nations Cup
Gold Medal Game
Saturday, November 11, 2006
4:00 pm ET
Memorial Auditorium Complex
Kitchener, ON

CANADA CAPTURES NINTH NATIONS CUP IN ELEVEN YEARS

Boxscore

Kitchener, ON – Canada captured a ninth Nations Cup in eleven years on Saturday, registering a 5-2 win over USA at the Kitchener Memorial Auditorium. Canada went undefeated in four games this week in Kitchener.

Cherie Piper opened the scoring for Canada at 4:26, with a slapshot coming down the wing that seemed to surprise U.S. goaltender Chandra Gunn. Thirty-six seconds later, Canada took a 2-0 lead. Gina Kingsbury found Sarah Vaillancourt with a long pass. Vaillancourt’s shot was too much to handle for Gunn, and Carla MacLeod put the rebound past her at 5:10.

Hayley Wickenheiser made it 3-0 in the third, jumping on a loose puck and getting a slapshot past Gunn. Caroline Ouellette added another, and Canada seemed to be coasting to an easy victory.

The U.S. came out strong in the final period, registering goals by Natalie Darwitz and Kirstin King to come within two goals of Canada with almost over four minutes to play. Kim St-Pierre held the fort for the rest of the way, and when Jennifer Botterill scored into an empty net, Canada had ensured itself of another international championship.

St-Pierre made 26 saves for the win, her 48th career win with Canada’s National Women’s Team which ranks first all-time among Canadian goaltenders.

For more information:
André Brin Director, Communications | Directeur, relations médias

Sommaire du Match

Canada 5 - États-Unis 2

Coupe des Quatre Nations
Match pour la médaille d’or
le samedi, 11 novembre 2006
16h00 EST
Kitchener, ON

Compte

LE CANADA REMPORTE SA NEUVIÈME COUPE DES NATIONS EN ONZE ANS

Kitchener (Ontario) – Le Canada a remporté sa neuvième Coupe des nations en onze ans, samedi, grâce à une victoire de 5 -2 sur les États-Unis à l’auditorium Memorial de Kitchener. Le Canada n’a subi aucun revers cette semaine à Kitchener.

Cherie Piper a ouvert la marque pour le Canada à 4:26 en décochant un tir frappé alors qu’elle s’avançait à l’aile, tir qui a surpris la gardienne américaine Chandra Gunn. Trente-six secondes plus tard, le Canada doublait son avance à 2 -0. Gina Kingsbury a effectué une longue passe à Sarah Vaillancourt qui a décoché un tir que Gunn n’a pu maîtriser et Carla Macleod a tiré le rebond dans le but à 5:10.

Hayley Wickenheiser a porté la marque à 3 -0 en troisième période lorsqu’elle s’est emparée d’une rondelle libre et a décoché un tir frappé qui a déjoué Gunn. Caroline Ouellette a inscrit un autre but et le Canada semblait assuré de la victoire.

Les États-Unis ont entrepris la dernière période avec fougue. Natalie Darwitz et Kirstin King ont marqué pour réduire l’écart à deux buts alors qu’il restait un peu plus de quatre minutes au match. Kim St-Pierre a tenu bon jusqu’à la fin et, lorsque Jennifer Botterill a marqué dans un filet désert, le Canada était assuré de remporter un autre championnat international.

St-Pierre a effectué 26 arrêts pour inscrire sa 48e victoire avec l’équipe nationale féminine du Canada ce qui la place au premier rang de tous les temps chez les gardiennes canadiennes.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
André Brin Director, Communications | Directeur, relations médias