Game Summary

Canada 1 - Lethbridge Y's Men's Titans 5

Exhibition
Wednesday January 11, 2006
Lethbridge, AB
Nicholas Sheran Arena�

LETHBRIDGE, AB –  Another capacity crowd packed the Nicholas Sheran Arena in Lethbridge to watch the hometown Y’s Men Titans Midget AAA team take on Canada’s Women’s Olympic team for the second time.   Lethbridge came out strong in the first period outshooting Team Canada 11-8 and taking a 1-0 lead into the dressing room on a goal by Elliot Sheen at 13:25.

Shots were even in the second period but the Titans added to their lead on two goals by Taylor Gal.  Gal converted two nice centring passes to give Lethbridge a 3-0 lead at the end of the period.   The lead increased to 4-0 at 7:09 of the third period when Blake Peake banged home a rebound off of a Darcy Osmond pointshot.  Canada outshot Lethbridge 14-11 in the third and were finally rewarded with a powerplay goal midway through the period as Jayna Hefford made a nice deflection on an initial shot by Caroline Ouellette.  The Titans added one more before the end of the period as Elliot Sheen scored his second of the evening banging home a rebound off the back end boards that bounced out in front of the net.

For the second consecutive evening the teams engaged in a five player shootout following regulation time.  Team Canada once again won the shootout portion of the evening as Cherie Piper, Danielle Goyette and Jayna Hefford beat Brian Kaval in the Lethbridge net.  Sheen was the lone Titan to put one past Kim St-Pierre in the shootout.

Immediately following the game, Team Canada travelled back home to Calgary where they will train prior to resuming Midget AAA action next week against the Calgary Northstars at home on January 18th followed by a trip north to take on Fort Saskatchewan on the 19th and Leduc on January 20th as part of the AMHL All Star weekend.


Box Score CAN
0
0
1
1
Compte MHT
1
2
2
5

First Period/Première période

Scoring/Buts:
LETH 13:35 26 Sheen (19 Shaw, 5 McDougall)

Penalties/Pénalités:
None/Aucun

Second Period/Deuxième période

Scoring/Buts:
LETH 0:39 – 23 Gal (26 Sheen, 5 McDougall)
LETH 18:30 – 23 Gal (12 Hamilton, 10 Wiest)

Penalties/Pénalités:
00:21 MH

Third Period/Troisième période

LETH 7:09 – 15 Peake (9 Osmond, 20 Stewart)
CAN 11:24 – 16 Hefford (17 Botterill, 13 Ouellette) PP
LETH 18:12 – 26 Sheen (2 Turner)

Penalties/Pénalités:
10:12 – LETH – 8 Versteeg (trip)


Goaltenders CAN Kim St-Pierre
Gardiennes de but LETH Jeff Malcolm (13 saves)
Brian Kaval (10:56 2nd, 20 saves)

Shots on Goal Team

1 p

2 p

3 p

Final

Shots on Goal CAN

 

12

14

34

Tirs au but LETH

11

12

11

34


Referee/Arbitre -
Linesmen/Juges des lignes -

Attendance/Assistance -
For more information:
André Brin Director, Communications | Directeur, relations médias

Sommaire du Match

Canada 1 - Lethbridge Y's Men's Titans 5

Match hors concours
Mercredi le 11 janvier, 2006
Lethbridge, AB
Nicholas Sheran Arena�

LETHBRIDGE, ALBERTA – Une autre salle comble a rempli l’aréna Nicholas Sheran de Lethbridge pour assister au match entre l’équipe locale des Y’s Men Titans Midget AAA et l’équipe olympique féminine du Canada, un deuxième affrontement entre ces deux formations. Lethbridge a foncé dès le début du match, obtenant 11 tirs au but contre huit pour le Canada en première période et prenant une avance de 1 –0 grâce à un but d’Elliot Sheen à 13:25. 

Les deux équipes ont obtenu un nombre égal de tirs au but en deuxième période, mais les Titans ont augmenté leur avance lorsque Taylor Gal a marqué deux buts. Gal a converti deux belles passes au centre pour porter l’avance de Lethbridge à 3 –0 après deux périodes. Blake Peake a porté l’avance de l’équipe midget à 4 –0 à 7:09 de la troisième période lorsqu’il s’est emparé du rebond lors d’un tir de la pointe de Darcy Osmond. L’équipe canadienne a obtenu 14 tirs au but contre 11 pour Lethbridge au cours du troisième tiers et ses efforts ont été récompensés lorsque Jayna Hefford a dévié le tir de Caroline Ouellette pendant un avantage numérique. Les Titans ont ajouté un autre but avant la fin de la période quand Elliot Sheen a marqué son deuxième de la soirée en s’emparant d’une rondelle qui s’est retrouvée devant le filet après avoir bondi contre la bande derrière le but.  

Pour un deuxième soir de suite, les équipes ont pris part à des tirs de barrage faisant appel à cinq joueurs des deux formations après le temps réglementaire. Équipe Canada a encore remporté les tirs de barrage lorsque Cherie Piper, Danielle Goyette et Jayna Hefford ont déjoué Brian Kaval devant le filet de Lethbridge. Sheen a été le seul Titan à déjouer la gardienne Kim St-Pierre pendant les tirs de barrage.

Immédiatement après le match, Équipe Canada est rentrée à Calgary où elle s’entraînera avant d’affronter à nouveau des équipes midget AAA la semaine prochaine soit les Northstars de Calgary, à Calgary, le 18 janvier. L’équipe prendra ensuite la route vers le nord pour affronter Fort Saskatchewan le 19 janvier et Leduc le 20 janvier pendant la fin de semaine des étoiles de l’AMHL.


Box Score CAN
0
0
1
1
Compte MHT
1
2
2
5

First Period/Première période

Scoring/Buts:
LETH 13:35 26 Sheen (19 Shaw, 5 McDougall)

Penalties/Pénalités:
None/Aucun

Second Period/Deuxième période

Scoring/Buts:
LETH 0:39 – 23 Gal (26 Sheen, 5 McDougall)
LETH 18:30 – 23 Gal (12 Hamilton, 10 Wiest)

Penalties/Pénalités:
00:21 MH

Third Period/Troisième période

LETH 7:09 – 15 Peake (9 Osmond, 20 Stewart)
CAN 11:24 – 16 Hefford (17 Botterill, 13 Ouellette) PP
LETH 18:12 – 26 Sheen (2 Turner)

Penalties/Pénalités:
10:12 – LETH – 8 Versteeg (trip)


Goaltenders CAN Kim St-Pierre
Gardiennes de but LETH Jeff Malcolm (13 saves)
Brian Kaval (10:56 2nd, 20 saves)

Shots on Goal Team

1 p

2 p

3 p

Final

Shots on Goal CAN

 

12

14

34

Tirs au but LETH

11

12

11

34


Referee/Arbitre -
Linesmen/Juges des lignes -

Attendance/Assistance -
Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
André Brin Director, Communications | Directeur, relations médias