Canada 3 Vs. Calgary Midget AAA Flames 6

Team Canada Evaluation Camp
Wednesday, January 26, 2005
Calgary, AB

CALGARY, AB – After a well deserved night off last evening, it was back to business as the National Women’s Team played their second of three exhibition games against the Calgary Midget AAA Flames on Wednesday night. The first period was filled with back and forth action as the pace of the game seemed to start at top speed. The Flames Kyle Block opened the scoring in the first, followed by Trevor Elias to give the Midget AAA team a 2-0 lead after the first.

The Flames built a 3-0 lead as Kyle Block added his second of the night before Gina Kingsbury buried her own rebound to get the National team on the board. Chris Oldring started between the pipes for the Flames, but split the game as Andrew Pinsent came in half way through the second.

Heading into the third the National team trailed 3-1, but it could have been a lot worse as Canada’s stellar net minder, Kim St-Pierre had 24 saves after the first two periods. The Flames added to their lead with two goals in the first three minutes of the third to put things out of reach. Vicky Sunohara responded for Canada with a great individual effort as she fired a backhand shot past the Flames net minder. Canada’s defensemen, Carla MacLeod added a late goal, but the Flames had clinched the victory by a 6-3 margin.

The National Team wraps up camp tomorrow (Thursday) as they have a morning skate at 10am, followed by their final exhibition game vs. the Calgary Midget AAA Northstars at 7:30pm.

For more information:
André Brin Director, Communications | Directeur, relations médias

Canada 3 C. le Midget des Flames de Calgary 6
-

Canada 3 c. le midget des Flames de Calgary 6

Camp de janvier
le 26 janvier 2005
Calgary, AB

CALGARY, ALBERTA – Après une soirée de repos bien méritée hier, l’équipe nationale féminine était de retour au travail. Elle a disputé son deuxième de trois matchs hors concours contre le midget AAA des Flames de Calgary mercredi soir. En première période, l’action s’est déroulée aux deux extrémités de la patinoire et à vive allure dès le début. Kyle Block des Flames a ouvert la marque suivi de Trevor Elias pour donner au midget AAA une avance de 2-0 après 20 minutes de jeu.

Les Flames ont porté leur avance à 3-0 grâce au deuxième but de Kyle Block avant que Gina Kingsbury marque pour inscrire le premier point des siennes au tableau. Chris Oldring a commencé le match devant le but des Flames, mais il a été remplacé par Andrew Pinsent au milieu de la deuxième période.

Au début du troisième tiers, l’équipe nationale tirait de l’arrière 3-1, mais les choses auraient pu être bien pires n’eut été du travail exceptionnel de la gardienne Kim St-Pierre qui a effectué 24 arrêts au cours des deux premières périodes. Les Flames ont creusé l’écart en marquant deux buts au cours des trois premières minutes de la troisième pour mettre le match hors de portée. Vicky Sunohara a fourni un bel effort individuel et a déjoué le gardien d’un tir du revers. La défenseure Carla McLeod a ensuite ajouté un but vers la fin du match, mais les Flames ont obtenu la victoire par la marque de 6-3.

Le camp de l’équipe nationale prend fin demain (jeudi) par un entraînement léger en matinée, à 10 h, suivi du dernier match hors concours contre le midget AAA des Northstars de Calgary à 19h30.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
André Brin Director, Communications | Directeur, relations médias