Star of the Day

STAR OF THE DAY – SATURDAY, DECEMBER 7

Brad Bowden/Billy Bridges/Greg Westlake (Canada)
The Canadians are World Sledge Hockey Challenge gold medallists for the fifth time, and their top line is a big reason why. Two goals in 32 seconds, with all three members in on both goals, turned a tight one-goal lead into a comfortable three-goal advantage, and ignited the pro-Canadian crowd at the MasterCard Centre. Bridges (299 points), Westlake (248) and Bowden (246) are far and away the top three scorers in national team history, and a big reason why Canada sits atop the sledge hockey world heading into Sochi.


STAR OF THE DAY – THURSDAY, DECEMBER 5

Man-Gyun Yu (Korea)
The Koreans almost pulled off what would have been the biggest upset in World Sledge Hockey Challenge history, and they have their goaltender to thank for it. Yu made 25 saves, a few of them of the spectacular variety, and gave his team a chance in an eventual one-goal loss to the defending world champions from Canada. Korea failed to record a shot on goal in the opening period, but trailed only 2-0 thanks to Yu, who made 10 saves in the first, eight in the second and seven more in the third.


STAR OF THE DAY – WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 4

Nikolay Terentyev (Russia)
Terentyev was everywhere for the Russians in their 9-1 rout of Korea on Wednesday morning, scoring the game’s first two goals, and last two goals, and adding an assist in between as Russia earned its first-ever World Sledge Hockey Challenge win in convincing fashion. He is the fourth player, and first in more than five years, to score four goals in a game at the tournament, joining Norwegian teammates Rolf Einar Pedersen, who did it twice, and Helge Bjoernstad, and the 11th to record at least five points.


STAR OF THE DAY – MONDAY, DECEMBER 2

Billy Bridges (Canada)
Bridges saved his first goals of the tournament for when his team needed them most, scoring late in the second period and early in the third to turn a 3-2 Canadian lead into a 5-2 advantage en route to victory over Russia. The Summerside, P.E.I., native also added two assists for a four-point outing, giving him 295 for his national team career; already Canada’s all-time leading scorer, Bridges is just five points from becoming the first player to record 300 since Hockey Canada took over the sledge hockey program in 2004.


STAR OF THE DAY – SUNDAY, DECEMBER 1

Greg Westlake (Canada)
Captain Canada was all over the ice Sunday night’s victory over Korea, scoring once and adding two assists, all in the span of 12 minutes late in the second period and early in the third, to lead the Canadians to their 19th consecutive preliminary round win. With his three points, Westlake now sits tied for second in all-time National Sledge Team scoring with longtime linemate Brad Bowden; the two have 241 points apiece in their national team careers, although Westlake has done it in slightly fewer games (140 to 158).

Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit:

Étoile du jour

ÉTOILE DU JOUR – SAMEDI 7 DÉCEMBRE

Brad Bowden/Billy Bridges/Greg Westlake (Canada)
Les Canadiens sont médaillés d’or du Défi mondial de hockey sur luge pour la cinquième fois et leur premier trio est une des raisons de ce succès. Deux buts en 32 secondes – les trois membres du trio y prenant part – ont transformé une avance précaire d’un but en un avantage de trois buts et soulevé la foule procanadienne réunie MasterCard Centre. Bridges (299 points), Westlake (248) et Bowden (246) sont de loin les meilleurs pointeurs de l’histoire de l’équipe nationale et une des raisons pour lesquelles le Canada se trouve au sommet du classement mondial du hockey sur luge à l’approche de Sotchi.  


ÉTOILE DU JOUR – JEUDI 5 DÉCEMBRE

Man-Gyun Yu (Corée)
La Corée a failli créer ce qui aurait été la plus grande surprise de l’histoire du Défi mondial de hockey sur luge et elle doit remercier son gardien de but. Yu a réalisé 25 arrêts, dont certains de façon spectaculaire. Il a donné une chance à son équipe dans un revers par un seul but face aux champions mondiaux en titre du Canada. Les Coréens n’ont décoché aucun tir au but au premier tiers, mais n’ont tiré de l’arrière que par deux buts grâce à Yu, qui a bloqué dix rondelles en première période, huit en deuxième et sept en troisième.


ÉTOILE DU JOUR – MERCREDI 4 DÉCEMBRE

Nikolay Terentyev (Russie)
Terentyev était partout sur la glace pour les Russes dans leur victoire écrasante de 9-1 sur la Corée mercredi matin, marquant les deux premiers et les deux derniers buts du match et ajoutant une mention d’aide dans l’intervalle pour aider la Russie à inscrire sa première victoire de tous les temps au Défi mondial de hockey sur luge de façon convaincante. Il est le quatrième joueur, le premier depuis plus de cinq ans, à marquer quatre buts dans un match au tournoi, se joignant aux coéquipiers norvégiens Rolf Einar Pedersen, qui a réussi l’exploit deux fois, et Helge Bjoernstad, et le 11e à accumuler au moins cinq points.


ÉTOILE DU JOUR – LUNDI 2 DÉCEMBRE

Billy Bridges (Canada)
Bridges a gardé ses premiers buts du tournoi pour le moment où son équipe en aurait le plus besoin, marquant à la fin du deuxième tiers et en début de troisième période pour transformer une avance de 3-2 du Canada en une priorité de trois filets, en route vers la victoire contre la Russie. L’athlète de Summerside, Î.-P.-É. a également ajouté deux aides pour une récolte de quatre points, ce qui pousse son total à 295 points en carrière. Déjà le meilleur pointeur de tous les temps du Canada, Bridges n’est qu’à cinq points de devenir le premier joueur à enregistrer 300 points depuis que Hockey Canada a pris la responsabilité du programme de hockey sur luge, en 2004.


ÉTOILE DU JOUR – DIMANCHE, 1ER DÉCEMBRE

Greg Westlake (Canada)
Le capitaine du Canada était partout sur la glace dans la victoire des siens sur la Corée dimanche soir, marquant un but et obtenant deux mentions d’aide, le tout en 12 minutes à la fin de la deuxième et au début de la troisième période, pour mener les Canadiens à leur 19e victoire consécutive en ronde préliminaire. Avec ses trois points, Westlake occupe maintenant le deuxième rang au classement des pointeurs de tous les temps de l’équipe nationale sur luge, à égalité avec son coéquipier de trio de longue date Brad Bowden. Les deux ont chacun accumulé 241 points en carrière avec l’équipe nationale quoique Westlake a atteint le plateau en moins de matchs (140 contre 158).

Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: