2008-09 National Men's Under-18 Team

CANADA'S 2009 IIHF WORLD UNDER-18 CHAMPIONSHIP TEAM

 

CANADA 4 - FINLAND 5 (SO)
BRONZE MEDAL | SUN. APR. 19

Canada led 3-1 after 20 minutes before watching the Finns mount a comeback and snatch the bronze. Dylan Olsen, Zack Kassian, Ryan O’Reilly and Peter Holland, while Michael Zador made a remarkable 52 saves between the pipes.

 

CANADA 1 - UNITED STATES 2
SEMI-FINAL | FRI. APR. 17

Canada will play for bronze after dropping a tight one-goal decision to the tournament hosts. Dylan Olsen scored the lone goal for the Canadians, who allowed a pair of third-period power play goals to the Americans.

 

CANADA 4 - SWEDEN 2
PRELIMINARY | TUE. APR. 14

Joey Hishon scored twice and Brett Connolly added a goal and an assist as Canada wrapped up first place in Pool A and a bye into Friday’s semifinals with a victory over the Swedes. Byron Froese also scored for Canada.

 

CANADA 4 – CZECH REPUBLIC 3 (OT)
PRELIMINARY | MON. APR. 13

Three third-period goals helped Canada climb out of a 3-0 hole and Brett Connolly was the overtime hero, scoring 83 seconds into the extra frame and pushing Canada’s preliminary round record to a perfect 3-0 in Fargo.

 

CANADA 8 - SWITZERLAND 1
PRELIMINARY | SAT. APR. 11

Joey Hishon scored a hat trick to lead the way offensively as Canada moved to 2-0 with its second lopsided win. John McFarland added a goal and three assists for the Canadians, who scored five power play goals.

 

CANADA 11 - GERMANY 2
PRELIMINARY | THU. APR. 9

Byron Froese scored three times and added an assist as Canada used a seven-goal second period to rout the Germans in the world championship opener for both. Curtis Hamilton had a goal and three helpers in the win.

 

RYAN O’REILLY NAMED CAPTAIN
OF NATIONAL MEN’S U18 TEAM

Ryan O’Reilly, who helped Canada’ summer U18 team win gold at the Memorial of Ivan Hlinka tournament last summer, will wear the ‘C’ as Canada’s captain for the 2009 IIHF World Under-18 Championship. » more

 

CANADA 5 - SLOVAKIA 2 | PRE-TOURNAMENT | TUE. APR. 7
Dylan Olsen, John McFarland and Zack Kassian scored in a span of 4:57 midway through the second period to spark the offence as Canada rebounded from a very early 2-0 deficit to score the victory over Slovakia.

CANADA 6 - FINLAND 5 (OT) | PRE-TOURNAMENT | SUN. APR. 5
Dylan Olsen scored the game-winner on a power play two minutes into overtime as Canada opened its pre-tournament schedule with a win over Finland. Curtis Hamilton led the way for Canada with a pair of goals.

CANADA NEEDS QUICK BOND TO DEFEND UNDER-18 GOLD
The key to winning for Canada at the world under-18 hockey championship is quick team-building, and that's why coach Mike Johnston took his players to the Minnesota Twins baseball season-opener this week. » more

CANADA ANNOUNCES NATIONAL MEN’S UNDER-18 TEAM ROSTER
Nine members of the gold medal-winning National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team will once again don the maple leaf, hoping to help Canada defend the U18 world championship it won last year in Kazan, Russia. » more | roster

MIKE JOHNSTON NAMED HEAD COACH OF U18 TEAM
Veteran international coach Mike Johnston will lead Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team at the 2009 IIHF World Under-18 Championship, while Eric Lavigne and Steve Spott will serve as assistant coaches. » more

CANADA OPENS DEFENCE OF UNDER-18 GOLD MEDAL
Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team will make the short trip across the 49th Parallel to the United States and open defence of its 2008 world championship on April 9 when it faces Germany in Fargo, ND. » schedule

 

For more information:
Brad Pascall Vice-President, Hockey Operations

2009 IIHF World Under-18 Championship
Apr. 09 GER 2 - CAN 11 | Preliminary
Apr. 11 CAN 8 - SUI 1 | Preliminary
Apr. 13 CZE 3- CAN 4 (OT) | Preliminary
Apr. 14 CAN 4 - SWE 2 | Preliminary
Apr. 17 CAN 1 - USA 2 | Semi-Final
Apr. 19 CAN 4 - FIN 5 (SO) | Bronze Medal
Apr. 19 USA 5 - RUS 0 | Gold Medal
Click here for the complete Schedule/Results

Équipe Nat. Masculine des Moins de 18 ans 2008-09

L'ÉQUIPE CANADIENNE DU CHAMPIONNAT MONDIAL
DES MOINS DE 18 ANS DE L'IIHF 2009

 

CANADA 4 - FINLANDE 5
MÉDAILLE DE BRONZE | DIM. 19 AVR.

Pour la quatrième fois au cours des six dernières années, le Canada jouera pour le bronze lorsqu’il affrontera les Finlandais à Fargo. Les Canadiens, qui ont battu les Scandinaves 6 -5 dans un match avant le tournoi, ont une fiche de 1-2-1 de tous les temps contre la Finlande.

 

CANADA 1 - ÉTATS-UNIS 2
DEMI-FINALE | VEN. 17 AVR.

Le Canada jouera pour le bronze après avoir subi une défaite par un but aux mains des hôtes du tournoi. Dylan Olsen a marqué le seul but des Canadiens qui ont accordé deux buts en supériorité numérique aux Américains au troisième tiers.

 

CANADA 4 - SUÈDE 2
PRÉLIMINAIRE | MAR. 14 AVR.

Joey Hishon a marqué deux buts et Brett Connolly a obtenu un but et une aide pour permettre au Canada de terminer au sommet du groupe A et d’obtenir un laissez-passer pour les demi-finales de vendredi grâce à une victoire sur la Suède. Byron Froese a aussi marqué pour le Canada.

 

CANADA 4 – CZE 3 (PROL.)
PRÉLIMINAIRE | LUN. 13 AVR.

Trois buts en troisième période ont aidé le Canada à combler un déficit de 3 -0 et Brett Connolly a été le héros du match, marquant à la 83e seconde de la prolongation pour permettre au Canada de porter sa fiche en ronde préliminaire à 3 -0 à Fargo.

 

CANADA 8 - SUISSE 1
PRÉLIMINAIRE | SAM. 11 AVR.

Joey Hishon a réussi un tour du chapeau pour mener l’offensive du Canada qui porte sa fiche à 2 -0. John McFarland a ajouté un but et trois aides pour les Canadiens qui ont marqué cinq fois en avantage numérique.

 

CANADA 11 - ALLEMAGNE 2
PRÉLIMINAIRE | JEU. 9 AVR.

Byron Froese a cumulé trois buts et une aide alors que le Canada a profité d’une deuxième période de sept buts pour écraser l’Allemagne dans le premier match des deux formations au championnat mondial. Curtis Hamilton a cumulé un but et trois aides dans la victoire.

 

RYAN O’REILLY NOMMÉ CAPITAINE DE
L’ÉQUIPE NATIONAL MASC. DE M18

Ryan O’Reilly, qui a aidé l’équipe estivale des M18 ans du Canada à remporter l’or au tournoi commémoratif Ivan Hlinka l’été dernier portera le « C » en tant que capitaine du Canada au Championnat mondial des moins de 18 ans 2009 de l’IIHF. » suite

 

CANADA 5 - SLOVAQUIE 2 | PRETOURNOI | MAR. 7 AVR.
Dylan Olsen, John McFarland et Zack Kassian ont marqué en l’espace de 4:57 vers le milieu de la deuxième période pour stimuler l’offensive et permettre au Canada de combler un déficit de 2 -0 en route vers une victoire sur la Slovaquie.

CANADA 6 - FINLANDE 5 (PROL) | PRÉTOURNOI | DIM. 5 AVR.
Dylan Olsen a marqué le but gagnant en avantage numérique au cours de la deuxième minute de la prolongation pour permettre au Canada de vaincre la Finlande à son premier match préparatoire. Curtis Hamilton a mené les Canadiens avec deux buts.

LA COMPOSITION DE L’ÉQUIPE NATIONALE DES MOINS DE 18 ANS 
Neuf membres de l’équipe nationale masculine estivale des moins de 18 ans médaillée d’or du Canada endosseront à nouveau le chandail orné de la feuille d’érable pour aider le Canada à défendre le titre mondial des M18 remporté l’an dernier à Kazan en Russie. » suite | alignement

MIKE JOHNSTON NOMMÉ ENTRAÎNEUR-CHEF DES M18
Mike Johnston, entraîneur d’expérience sur la scène internationale, dirigera l’équipe nationale masculine des moins de 18 ans du Canada au Championnat mondial des moins de 18 ans 2009 de l’IIHF, tandis qu’Éric Lavigne et Steve Spott seront les entraîneurs adjoints. » suite

LE CANADA ENTREPREND LA DÉFENSE DE SON TITRE MONDIAL
L’équipe nationale des moins de 18 ans du Canada franchira le 49e parallèle vers les États-Unis pour entreprendre la défense de son titre du championnat mondial 2008 le 9 avril contre l’Allemagne à Fargo dans le Dakota du Nord. » horaire

 

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Brad Pascall Vice-President, Hockey Operations

Championnat mondial des m18 ans de l'IIHF 2009
09 avr GER 2 - CAN 11 | Préliminaire
11 avr CAN 8 - SUI 1 | Préliminaire
13 avr CZE 3 - CAN 4 (Pro)  | Préliminaire
14 avr CAN 4 - SWE 2  | Préliminaire
17 avr CAN 1 - USA 2 | Demi-finale
19 avr CAN 4 - FIN 5 (TB) | Médaille de bronze
19 avr USA 5 - RUS 0 | Médaille d'or
Cliquez ici pour le tableau complet