Game Summary
Norway 1 - Japan 0 (SO)


GOALTENDERS STEAL SHOW AS NORWAY BEATS JAPAN IN SHOOTOUT

CALGARY, Alta. – Audun Bakke and Morten Værnes scored goals in the shootout as Norway wrapped up third place in the preliminary round at the 2012 World Sledge Hockey Challenge with a 1-0 win over Japan on Wednesday afternoon.

The victory means Norway will face the loser of Wednesday night’s preliminary finale between Canada and the United States in a Thursday semifinal, while Japan will face the game’s winner in the other semi.

After 50 minutes of scoreless hockey, Bakke converted the Norwegians’ first shootout attempt, snapping a shot up and over Nagase. Sudo pulled Japan even with a slick move, throwing the puck to his left stick before sliding a shot under Hamar, but Værnes clinched the win with a goal similar to Bakke.

The goals by Bakke and Værnes, along with one from Japanese captain Satoru Sudo, were the only pucks to beat goaltenders Kjell Christian Hamar of Norway and Mitsuru Nagase of Japan, who combined to turn away all 31 shots they faced in regulation time and overtime.

Norway had its chances in the first two periods, outshooting Japan 13-5, but the third frame belonged to the Japanese, who held a 9-3 advantage in shots thanks in large part to a trio of power play opportunities.

The nine shots were three more than Japan had combined in its first two games, shutout losses to Canada and the U.S. The Japanese are still looking for their first goal of the tournament during regulation play; their scoring drought now sits at 140 minutes.


Game Information
Game Number 5 Round Round Robin
Arena Markin MacPhail Centre - Rink A City, Country Calgary, Alta.
Month / Day / Year 12/05/2012 Time 12:00 PM MT
Attendance
Game Status Final

Box Score 1 2 3 OT1 SO Total
Norway (NOR) 0 0 0 0 1 1
Japan (JPN) 0 0 0 0 0 0

Goals/Penalties
First Period
Goals:
None

Penalties:
None

Second Period
Goals:
None

Penalties:
14:57 NOR 16 Knut Andre Nordstoga (Interference)

Third Period
Goals:
None

Penalties:
09:10 NOR 12 Magnus Bøgle (Holding)
11:18 NOR 8 Stig Tore Svee (Teeing)

Overtime

Goals:
None

Penalties:
None


Goaltenders
Norway
18 Kjell Christian Hamar On 1/00:00 Off 1/15:00
18 Kjell Christian Hamar On 2/00:00 Off 2/15:00
18 Kjell Christian Hamar On 3/00:00 Off 3/15:00
18 Kjell Christian Hamar On 4/00:00 Off 4/05:00
Japan
39 Mitsuru Nagase On 1/00:00 Off 1/15:00
39 Mitsuru Nagase On 2/00:00 Off 2/15:00
39 Mitsuru Nagase On 3/00:00 Off 3/15:00
39 Mitsuru Nagase On 4/00:00 Off 4/05:00

Shots on Goal 1 2 3 OT1 Total
Norway 6 7 3 1 17
Japan 2 3 9 0 14

Shootout Summary
Player Goals/Save
55 Kazuhiro Takahashi (Japan) Save
22 Audun Bakke (Norway) Goal
18 Toshiyuki Nakamura (Japan) Save
23 Jan Roger Klakegg (Norway) Save
24 Satoru Sudo (Japan) Goal
9 Morten Værnes (Norway) Goal

Player of the Game
Norway 23 Jan Roger Klakegg
Japan 24 Satoru Sudo

Sommaire du Match
Norvège 1 - Japon 0 (TB)


LES GARDIENS DE BUT VOLENT LA VEDETTE ET LA NORVÈGE BAT LE JAPON EN TIRS DE BARRAGE

CALGARY, Alb. – Audun Bakke et Morten Værnes ont marqué en tirs de barrage pour permettre à la Norvège de terminer au troisième rang de la ronde préliminaire du Défi mondial de hockey sur luge 2012 grâce à une victoire de 1-0 sur le Japon, mercredi après-midi.

À la suite de cette victoire, la Norvège affrontera le perdant du dernier match préliminaire présenté mercredi soir entre le Canada et les États-Unis lors d’une des demi-finales, jeudi, tandis que le Japon affrontera le gagnant de ce match dans l’autre demi-finale.

Après 50 minutes au cours desquelles aucun but n’a été marqué, Bakke a fait mouche lors du premier tir de barrage des Norvégiens en décochant un tir frappé court par-dessus le gardien Nagase. Sudo a ensuite créé l’égalité pour le Japon en effectuant une superbe feinte, passant la rondelle sur son bâton gauche avant de la glisser sous Hamar, puis Værnes a scellé l’issue de la rencontre en comptant un but semblable à celui de Bakke.

Bakke, Værnes et le capitaine japonais Satoru Sudo furent les seuls à déjouer les gardiens de but Kjell Christian Hamar de la Norvège et Mitsuru Nagase du Japon qui, ensemble, ont repoussé les 31 tirs qu’ils ont affrontés en temps réglementaire et en prolongation.

La Norvège a eu des occasions de marquer au cours des deux premières périodes, dominant le Japon 13-5 au chapitre des tirs au but, mais les Japonais ont pris le contrôle en troisième, dominant leurs adversaires 9-3 au chapitre des tirs au but grâce, en grande partie, à trois avantages numériques.

Les neuf tirs du Japon au troisième tiers représentent trois de plus que le total de tirs que le Japon a réussi à ses deux premiers matchs au cours desquels il a été blanchi par le Canada et les États-Unis. Les Japonais sont toujours en quête de leur premier but en temps réglementaire au tournoi; jusqu’à présent, ils ont fait chou blanc pendant 140 minutes.


Renseignements sur le match
Numéro de match 5 Ronde Préliminaire
Aréna Markin MacPhail Centre - Rink A Ville, Pays Calgary, Alb.
Mois / Jour / Année 12/05/2012 Heure 12h00 MT
Assistance
État du match Final

Compte 1 2 3 Pro.1 SO Total
Norvège (NOR) 0 0 0 0 1 1
Japon (JPN) 0 0 0 0 0 0

Buts/Pénalités
Première Période
Buts:
Aucun

Pénalités:
Aucune

Deuxieme Période
Buts:
Aucun

Pénalités:
14:57 NOR 16 Knut Andre Nordstoga (Obstruction)

Troisième Période
Buts:
Aucun

Pénalités:
09:10 NOR 12 Magnus Bøgle (Retenir)
11:18 NOR 8 Stig Tore Svee (Charge en T)

Prolongation

Buts:
Aucun

Pénalités:
Aucune


Gardiens de but
Norvège
18 Kjell Christian Hamar Entrée 1/00:00 Sortie 1/15:00
18 Kjell Christian Hamar Entrée 2/00:00 Sortie 2/15:00
18 Kjell Christian Hamar Entrée 3/00:00 Sortie 3/15:00
18 Kjell Christian Hamar Entrée 4/00:00 Sortie 4/05:00
Japon
39 Mitsuru Nagase Entrée 1/00:00 Sortie 1/15:00
39 Mitsuru Nagase Entrée 2/00:00 Sortie 2/15:00
39 Mitsuru Nagase Entrée 3/00:00 Sortie 3/15:00
39 Mitsuru Nagase Entrée 4/00:00 Sortie 4/05:00

Tirs au but 1 2 3 Pro.1 Total
Norvège 6 7 3 1 17
Japon 2 3 9 0 14

Sommaire de la fusillade
Joueur Buts/Échec
55 Kazuhiro Takahashi (Japon) Save
22 Audun Bakke (Norvège) Goal
18 Toshiyuki Nakamura (Japon) Save
23 Jan Roger Klakegg (Norvège) Save
24 Satoru Sudo (Japon) Goal
9 Morten Værnes (Norvège) Goal

Joueur du match
Norvège 23 Jan Roger Klakegg
Japon 24 Satoru Sudo