Three Stars of The Day

DAY 7 – SATURDAY, DECEMBER 3, 2011

1. Greg Westlake (F) – Canada
Westlake did it again Saturday night, scoring a natural hat trick – one goal in the first period, one in the second and one in the third – to turn an early 1-0 U.S. lead into a 3-1 Canadian advantage as Canada defended its World Sledge Hockey Challenge gold medal. The Canadian captain scored hat tricks in each of Canada’s two playoff round games, and his eight goals overall rank as the second-best number in tournament history.

2. Brad Bowden (F) – Canada
Bowden once again played Robin to Westlake’s Batman, setting up all three of the captain’s goals before putting the final nail in the American coffin with a breakaway goal in the third period. He racked up a remarkable 10 points in Canada’s two playoff round games, finishing as the tournament’s leading scorer with 15 points (six goals, nine assists) in five games, the third-best total in tournament history.

3. Audun Bakke (F) – Norway
Bakke picked an ideal time for his first two points of the World Sledge Hockey Challenge, scoring early in the third period to give the Norwegians some breathing room at 4-2 – a goal that would stand up as the game-winner – and finishing off their 5-3 bronze medal game victory into an empty net with the Japanese on the power play, enjoying a 6-on-4 advantage and pressing for the tying goal.

- - -

DAY 5 – THURSDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2011

1. Greg Westlake (F) – Canada

Captain Canada was at his best Thursday night, tying a World Sledge Hockey Challenge record with six points, including his third career WSHC hat trick, to help the Canadians move into Saturday’s final. Westlake scored a back-breaking 3-1 goal just 40 seconds after Japan had cut the Canadian lead to one late in the first period, and added two more in the second as Canada pulled away for good and moved on to play for gold.

2. Brad Bowden (F) – Canada

The second half of Canada’s dynamic duo was just as good as his linemate above, also racking up a record-tying six points and also scoring his third career hat trick. Bowden was the playmaker through 40 minutes, setting up each of Westlake’s three goals before finishing off his own ‘tour du chapeau’ with goals 14 seconds apart early in the third period, posting his third consecutive multi-point performance.

3. Josh Pauls (D) – United States

Without a point through the preliminary round Pauls broke out in a big way against Norway, scoring a hat trick to lead the offence as the Americans advanced to the gold medal game with a victory. The blue-liner broke open a 1-1 tie midway through the second period before adding a pair of insurance markers in the third, ensuring the U.S. will go for its second WSHC gold medal on Saturday afternoon.

- - -

DAY 4 – WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 30, 2011

1. Rolf Pedersen (F) – Norway
With his Norwegian team needing a win to avoid an undefeated first-place team in the semifinals, Pedersen showed off the skills that make him one of the world’s best sledge hockey players, scoring his fourth career World Sledge Hockey Challenge hat trick – two more than any other player – and adding an assist to lead Norway to an 8-3 victory over Japan and set up a semifinal date with the U.S.

2. Benoit St-Amand (G) – Canada
The netminder was arguably Canada’s best player in its 3-1 win over the United States, which allowed the Canadians to clinch first place in the preliminary round. St-Amand made 15 saves, many of them tough stops, and made his best save midway through the first period, shortly after Anthony Gale opened the scoring for Canada, when he turned away Adam Page on a clear-cut breakaway opportunity, preserving the lead.

3. Brad Bowden (F) – Canada
The speedy forward was a game-breaker for the Canadians, making a beautiful break-out pass to start a rush that ended with Anthony Gale’s 1-0 goal, and scoring the eventual game-winner late in the second period, snapping a quick shot past American netminder Steve Cash. Bowden has back-to-back multiple-point games and sits fourth in tournament scoring, two points behind teammate Billy Bridges.

- - -

DAY 2 – MONDAY, NOVEMBER 28, 2011

1. Billy Bridges (F) – Canada

The Canadian sniper added to his impressive all-time international totals, scoring his 121st and 122nd Team Canada goals in the game’s first 4:14 to spark Canada to an early lead in its eventual 5-2 victory over Norway. Bridges added an assist on Adam Dixon’s power play goal in the third period, giving him back-to-back three-point games and leaving him tied atop the tournament scoring chart through two days.

2. Nikko Landeros (F) – United States

For the second day in a row Landeros occupies the No. 2 spot, posting three points for the second consecutive game to tie him with Bridges for first in tournament scoring. The Berthoud, Colo., native gave the Americans some breathing room with the 2-0 goal 15 minutes into the first period and set up Alexi Salamone for even more insurance 1:44 later before adding a second assist to the U.S.’ fifth goal in the third.

3. Anthony Gale (F) – Canada

Gale scored just once in Canada’s 5-2 win over Norway, but makes the list for historical reasons. His goal midway through the first period – just minutes after he failed on a penalty shot attempt – was the 500th international goal scored by Canada’s National Sledge Team since it came under the Hockey Canada umbrella in 2004. The Canadians have scored 502 goals in 122 games, an average of 4.12 goals per contest.

- - -

DAY 1 – SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 27, 2011

1. Adam Dixon (D) – Canada  
The blue-liner was an offensive star for Canada in its tournament-opening victory over Japan, setting up Billy Bridges for a first period power play goal with a behind-the-back pass that would have made Wayne Gretzky proud before scoring a goal of his own in the third on a beautiful individual effort, flicking a backhand to the top corner and showing off the skills that have made him one of the world’s best all-around players.

2. Nikko Landeros (F) – United States
The U.S. veteran came to play when his team needed it most, setting up the game’s opening goal by Daniel McCoy and scoring the Americans’ third marker midway through the second period when the Norwegians were applying the pressure and threatening to make it a one-goal game. Landeros capped off a three-point night with his second goal in the third period, helping the U.S. open with an important victory.

3. Billy Bridges (F) – Canada
Canada’s all-time leading scorer played a major role in the team’s 100th all-time win, scoring twice and adding an assist to give him 229 points in 119 games. He finished off a sweet Adam Dixon feed for the 2-0 goal in the first period, caught a break when his dump-in skipped past Japanese goaltender Shinobu Fukushima for Canada’s seventh goal and set up national rookie Kieran Block for his first international goal in the dying seconds.

- - -

2011 World Sledge Hockey Challenge (November)
 
Thu, Dec 01, 2011
NOR 2 - USA 7 (Semifinal)
JPN 2 - CAN 9 (Semifinal)
Fri, Dec 02, 2011
Sat, Dec 03, 2011
JPN 3 - NOR 5 (Bronze)
USA 1 - CAN 4 (Gold)
 
WSHC
Team GP W L PTS
CAN 5 5 0 9
USA 5 3 2 6
JPN 5 0 5 3
NOR 5 2 3 0
Click here for complete schedule/results

2011 World Sledge Hockey Challenge (November)
Team Player G
CAN Greg Westlake 8
CAN Brad Bowden 6
NOR Morten Vaernes 5
NOR Rolf Einar Pedersen 5
USA Taylor Lipsett 5
2011 World Sledge Hockey Challenge (November)
Team Player A
CAN Brad Bowden 9
CAN Greg Westlake 6
USA Alexi Salamone 5
NOR Stig Tore Svee 5
USA Nikko Landeros 4
2011 World Sledge Hockey Challenge (November)
Team Player P
CAN Brad Bowden 15
CAN Greg Westlake 14
NOR Rolf Einar Pedersen 8
NOR Morten Vaernes 8
NOR Stig Tore Svee 7
2011 World Sledge Hockey Challenge (November)
Team Player Sv% GAA
CAN Benoît St-Amand 0.953 0.67
USA Steve Cash 0.833 2.40
CAN Corbin Watson 0.826 2.00
NOR Kjell Christian Hamar 0.742 4.00
NOR Roger Johansen 0.714 6.00

Les Trois Étoiles du Jour

JOUR 7 – SAMEDI 3 DÉCEMBRE 2011

1. Greg Westlake (A) – Canada
Greg Westlake a réussi un autre tour du chapeau samedi soir – un naturel cette fois-ci, marquant un but en première période, un en deuxième, et un autre en troisième – pour transformer une avance de 1 -0 des États-Unis en un avantage de 3 -1 pour le Canada qui est parvenu à défendre son titre au Défi mondial de hockey sur luge. Le capitaine canadien a réussi un tour du chapeau dans les deux matchs éliminatoires du Canada et ses huit buts au total représentent le deuxième plus grand nombre de buts de l’histoire du tournoi.

2. Brad Bowden (A) – Canada
Bowden a de nouveau été le complice de Westlake, préparant les trois buts du capitaine avant de marquer à son tour pour mettre le match hors de portée des Américains lors d’une échappée en troisième période. Il a cumulé 10 points lors des deux matchs éliminatoires du Canada pour se hisser au premier rang des pointeurs avec 15 points (six buts, neuf aides), le troisième total le plus élevé de l’histoire du tournoi.

3. Audun Bakke (A) – Norvège
Bakke a choisi le moment idéal pour obtenir ses deux premiers points au Défi mondial de hockey sur luge, marquant le but qui allait s’avérer le but gagnant tôt en troisième période en creusant l’écart 4 -2 pour les Norvégiens avant de sceller l’issue du match dans un filet désert pendant une supériorité numérique japonaise de 6 contre 4 aidant ainsi la Norvège à remporter le bronze grâce à un gain de 5 -3.

- - -

JOUR 5 – JEUDI 1er DÉCEMBRE 2011

1. Greg Westlake (A) – Canada

Le capitaine du Canada, Greg Westlake, était à son meilleur jeudi soir, égalisant un record du Défi mondial de hockey sur luge avec six points, dont son troisième tour du chapeau en carrière au DMHL, pour aider les Canadiens à se qualifier pour la finale de samedi. Westlake a porté la marque à 3-1 seulement 40 secondes après que le Japon ait réduit l’écart à un but au premier tiers et a compté deux autres buts en période médiane, le Canada se dirigeant directement vers une participation en finale.

2. Brad Bowden (A) – Canada

L’autre moitié du duo dynamique canadien a été aussi efficace que son partenaire de trio mentionné ci-haut, y allant aussi d’une récolte record de six points, inscrivant également son troisième tour du chapeau en carrière. Bowden a été le fabricant de jeu pendant 40 minutes, préparant chacun des trois buts de Westlake avant de compléter son tour du chapeau avec deux filets en 14 secondes en début de troisième période. Il a ainsi connu un troisième match de plus d’un point.

3. Josh Pauls (D) – États-Unis

Sans point en ronde préliminaire, Pauls a fait sa marque en grand face aux Norvégiens, inscrivant un tour du chapeau pour mener les Américains vers le match de la médaille d’or. Le défenseur a brisé une égalité de 1-1 à mi-chemin dans la partie avant de compter deux buts d’assurance au troisième engagement, assurant ainsi les États-Unis de viser une deuxième médaille d’or de suite au DMHL, samedi après-midi.

- - -

JOUR 4 – MERCREDI 30 NOVEMBRE 2011

1. Rolf Pedersen (A) – Norvège
Les Norvégiens ayant besoin d’une victoire pour ne pas affronter l’équipe invaincue en demi-finale, Pedersen a fait preuve du talent qui fait de lui l’un des meilleurs hockeyeurs sur luge au monde en réussissant son quatrième tour du chapeau dans le cadre d’un Défi mondial de hockey sur luge – deux de plus que tout autre joueur – et en ajoutant une mention d’aide pour mener la Norvège à un gain de 8 -3 sur le Japon et à un rendez-vous avec les États-Unis en demi-finale.

2. Benoit St-Amand (G) – Canada
Le gardien de but a sans contredit été le meilleur joueur du Canada dans sa victoire de 3 -1 sur les États-Unis lui permettant de terminer au premier rang de la ronde préliminaire. St-Amand a réalisé 15 arrêts, dont plusieurs difficiles, mais son plus bel arrêt est survenu au milieu de la première période peu après qu’Anthony Gale eut ouvert la marque pour le Canada, lorsqu’il a bloqué le tir d’Adam Page, qui s’avançait en échappée, pour préserver l’avance des siens.

3. Brad Bowden (A) – Canada
L’avant rapide a pris les choses en main pour les Canadiens, effectuant une superbe passe de sortie de zone pour lancer l’attaque qui a mené au but d’Anthony Gale pour donner l’avance 1 -0 au Canada avant de marquer le but gagnant en fin de deuxième tiers en décochant rapidement un tir pour déjouer le gardien de but américain Steve Cash. Bowden a cumulé plus d’un point à ses deux derniers matchs. Il occupe le quatrième rang des pointeurs du tournoi, deux points derrière son coéquipier Billy Bridges.

- - -

JOUR 2 – LUNDI, 28 NOVEMBRE 2011

1. Billy Bridges (A) – Canada

Le franc-tireur canadien a amélioré son impressionnante fiche sur la scène internationale, comptant ses 121e et 122e but avec Équipe Canada avant la marque de 4:14 du premier tiers. Le Canada a pris rapidement l’avance pour l’emporter 5-2 sur la Norvège. Bridges a aussi récolté une passe sur le but d’Adam Dixon en supériorité numérique au troisième engagement. Il a donc connu un deuxième match de suite de trois points, en tête du classement des meilleurs pointeurs du tournoi après deux jours.

2. Nikko Landeros (A) – États-Unis

Pour une deuxième journée de suite, Landeros se voit nommer la deuxième étoile, grâce à une récolte de trois points, tout comme il l’avait fait hier. Il trône au sommet des pointeurs, à égalité avec Bridges. Le joueur natif de Berthoud, Colorado, a permis aux Américains de respirer en inscrivant le but qui allait leur donner une avance de 2-0 à la 15e minute de jeu du premier tiers. Il a aussi contribué à un but d’Alexi Salamone 1:44 plus tard, avant d’amasser une deuxième passe sur le cinquième filet des États-Unis, au troisième engagement.

3. Anthony Gale (A) – Canada

Gale n’a compté qu’une fois dans le gain de 5-2 du Canada contre la Norvège, mais il a marqué l’histoire. Son but à mi-chemin au premier tiers, quelques minutes après avoir raté un tir de punition, était le 500e but sur la scène internationale de l’équipe nationale de hockey sur luge du Canada depuis qu’elle fait partie de Hockey Canada (2004). Les Canadiens ont inscrit 502 buts en 122 parties, une moyenne de 4,12 buts par match.

- - -

JOUR 1 – DIMANCHE 27 NOVEMBRE 2011

1. Adam Dixon (D) – Canada
Le défenseur a été une vedette offensive pour le Canada qui l’a emporté en lever de rideau sur le Japon. Dixon a récolté une passe sur un but de Billy Bridges en supériorité numérique au premier tiers grâce à une passe par en arrière dont Wayne Gretzky aurait été fier. Il a ensuite compté en troisième période grâce à un bel effort individuel, logeant la rondelle du revers dans le haut du filet. Il a démontré ses habiletés qui font de lui l’un des meilleurs de la planète.

2. Nikko Landeros (A) – États-Unis
Le vétéran des États-Unis s’est imposé lorsque son équipe avait le plus besoin de lui, préparant le premier but de Daniel McCoy et inscrivant le troisième filet des Américains à mi-chemin dans la partie, alors que les Norvégiens appliquaient de la pression et menaçaient de réduire l’écart à un but. Landeros a couronné une soirée de trois points avec son deuxième but au troisième tiers, aidant les États-Unis à obtenir une première victoire importante.

3. Billy Bridges (A) – Canada
Le meilleur pointeur de tous les temps du Canada a joué un rôle majeur dans la 100e victoire du Canada, récoltant un but et une passe. Il compte maintenant 229 points en 119 parties. Il a porté la marque à 2-0 grâce à une savante passe d’Adam Dixon au premier engagement, a compté sur un dégagement qui a trompé la vigilance du cerbère japonais Shinobu Fukushima pour le septième but du Canada et a mis la table pour la recrue Kieran Block, qui a mérité un premier but sur la scène internationale dans les dernières secondes.

- - -

Défi mondial de hockey sur luge 2011 (novembre)
 
Jeudi 01 déc. 2011
NOR 2 - USA 7 (Demi-finale)
JPN 2 - CAN 9 (Demi-finale)
Vendr. 02 déc. 2011
Sam. 03 déc. 2011
JPN 3 - NOR 5 (Bronze)
USA 1 - CAN 4 (Or)
 
WSHC
Equipe PJ V D PTS
CAN 5 5 0 9
USA 5 3 2 6
JPN 5 0 5 3
NOR 5 2 3 0
Cliquez ici pour l'horaire/résultats complet

Défi mondial de hockey sur luge 2011 (novembre)
Équipe Joueur G
CAN Greg Westlake 8
CAN Brad Bowden 6
NOR Morten Vaernes 5
NOR Rolf Einar Pedersen 5
USA Taylor Lipsett 5
Défi mondial de hockey sur luge 2011 (novembre)
Équipe Joueur A
CAN Brad Bowden 9
CAN Greg Westlake 6
USA Alexi Salamone 5
NOR Stig Tore Svee 5
USA Nikko Landeros 4
Défi mondial de hockey sur luge 2011 (novembre)
Équipe Joueur P
CAN Brad Bowden 15
CAN Greg Westlake 14
NOR Rolf Einar Pedersen 8
NOR Morten Vaernes 8
NOR Stig Tore Svee 7
Défi mondial de hockey sur luge 2011 (novembre)
Équipe Joueur %Arr MOY
CAN Benoît St-Amand 0.953 0.67
USA Steve Cash 0.833 2.40
CAN Corbin Watson 0.826 2.00
NOR Kjell Christian Hamar 0.742 4.00
NOR Roger Johansen 0.714 6.00