My Team Canada - Alexandre Bilodeau

He will forever be known as the first Canadian to win an Olympic gold medal on home snow, winning the men’s moguls competition at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver.

A native of Rosemère, Que., Alexandre Bilodeau first fell in love with freestyle skiing when he watched Jean-Luc Brassard compete at the 1994 Olympics in Lillehammer, Norway. Following in the footsteps of his idol, he became the top Canadian junior in freestyle at age 14.

At age 17, Bilodeau joined the national freestyle ski team, competing at the 2006 Olympics in Turin, Italy, finishing 11th. He won the World Cup moguls title in 2008-09, and took gold in dual moguls at the FIS world championship at the end of that season, a feat he repeated in 2011 and 2013. In all, Bilodeau has 12 World Cup victories to his credit, seven in moguls and five in dual moguls, and has his sights set on defending his Olympic gold in Sochi.

Goaltenders
Corey Crawford
Roberto Luongo
Carey Price

WHY?: Crawford is one of the top goaltenders in the league right now, won a Stanley Cup, and Luongo has the experience, knows how to handle the pressure. But I think Price is the guy. I’m from Montreal, so I’m a big fan, and I’m hoping he’s going to get that No. 1 spot and show what he can do.

Defencemen
Drew Doughty
Mike Green
Duncan Keith
Kristopher Letang
Brent Seabrook
PK Subban
Dion Phaneuf
Shea Weber

WHY?: It’s a good mix of experience and new blood. Doughty is a little bit of both; young, but was there in Vancouver. Letang and Subban were finalists for (the Norris Trophy) last year, so they should both have spots even though they’re still learning. Phaneuf and Weber both bring experience and size, Seabrook is experienced and brings a lot to the table, and Green is an offensive guy. And then there’s Keith; there’s so many reasons he’ll be on the team.

Forwards
Sidney Crosby
Jordan Eberle
Ryan Getzlaf
Claude Giroux
Taylor Hall
Chris Kunitz
Andrew Ladd
Rick Nash
Corey Perry
Martin St. Louis
Eric Staal
Steven Stamkos
John Tavares
Jonathan Toews

WHY?: It’s easy for us in Canada to list off players, but it gets tough when you actually have to name a roster. Stamkos is an easy choice; he’s a clutch player, a scorer. For centres, there’s Crosby, Staal, Getzlaf, Toews and Tavares; you can move them from line to line, they can play with anyone. Hall, Giroux, Kunitz, Ladd, Perry and Nash – those guys have experience in high-pressure situations, and are among the best in the NHL. Eberle is a super-talented young guy who I think would benefit from playing with the veterans, and then there’s Martin St. Louis; he’s a guy with Olympic experience who wasn’t there in Vancouver, but you can see he wants to be a part of Sochi and show he’s one of the best.

PHOTO CREDIT: Martin Girard

Videos
Photos
2014 OLY: Gold medal front pages (M)
Feb 24, 2014
Newspaper cover pages from Feb. 24, the day after Canada won gold in Sochi.
2014 OLY: CAN 3 - SWE 0 (Gold)
Feb 23, 2014
Toews, Crosby and Kunitz scored to help Canada to another Olympic gold.
2014 OLY: Men's Gold Celeb
Feb 23, 2014
Canada celebrates its third men’s hockey gold medal in the past four Olympic Winter Games.
2014 OLY: CAN 1 - USA 0
Feb 21, 2014
Carey Price made 31 saves for the shutout to lead Canada to the gold medal game.
2014 OLY: CAN 2 - LAT 1
Feb 19, 2014
Shea Weber had the winner with 6:54 left to send Canada to the semifinals.
2014 OLY: CAN 2 - FIN 1 (OT)
Feb 16, 2014
Drew Doughty’s second goal of the game was the overtime winner.
2014 OLY: CAN 6 - AUT 0
Feb 14, 2014
Jeff Carter’s hat trick led Canada to its second win in as many days in Sochi.
2014 OLY: CAN 3 - NOR 1
Feb 13, 2014
Drew Doughty’s multi-point night helped Canada to its first win in Sochi.
2014 OLY: Men’s team player desktops
Jan 08, 2014
Get ready for Sochi 2014 and download your favourite player now!
2014 OLY: Men’s players nominated for Sochi
Jan 07, 2014
The 25-player roster includes 11 gold medallists from Vancouver 2010.
2014 OLY: Sochi 2014 jerseys unveiled
Oct 08, 2013
Check out Canada’s new look for the 2014 Games.
Close
Photo Credit:  
Close
Credit

Mon Équipe Canada - Alexandre Bilodeau

Il sera éternellement reconnu comme étant le premier Canadien à avoir décroché une médaille d’or olympique sur nos propres pentes enneigées en remportant la compétition des bosses hommes lors des Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2010 à Vancouver.

Né à Rosemère au Québec, Alexandre Bilodeau a eu la piqûre du ski acrobatique lorsqu’il a vu Jean-Luc Brassard participer aux compétitions lors des Jeux olympiques d’hiver de Lillehammer de 1994 en Norvège. En suivant les pas de son idole, il est devenu le champion canadien de catégorie junior en ski acrobatique à 14 ans.

À 17 ans, Bilodeau s’est joint à l’équipe nationale de ski acrobatique et a représenté le Canada aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2006 à Turin en Italie, terminant en 11e place. Il a remporté le titre à la Coupe du monde de ski acrobatique en 2008-2009 et a touché l’or à l’épreuve des bosses en parallèle au Championnat mondial de la FIS à la fin de cette même saison, un exploit qu’il a répété en 2011 et en 2013. En tout, Bilodeau a accumulé 12 victoires à des championnats mondiaux, dont sept dans les bosses et cinq à l’épreuve des bosses en parallèle; son objectif avoué est de défendre sa médaille d’or olympique à Sotchi.

Gardiens de but
Corey Crawford
Roberto Luongo
Carey Price

POURQUOI? : Crawford est l’un des meilleurs gardiens de but de la ligue en ce moment, il a remporté une Coupe Stanley, et Luongo de son côté a l’expérience et sait résister à la pression. Mais je crois que l’homme de la situation est Price. Je suis de Montréal, donc je suis un amateur aguerri et j’espère qu’il obtiendra cette position d’honneur et qu’il nous montrera ce qu’il sait faire.

Défenseurs
Drew Doughty
Mike Green
Duncan Keith
Kristopher Letang
Brent Seabrook
PK Subban
Dion Phaneuf
Shea Weber

POURQUOI? : C’est un savant mélange d’expérience et de sang neuf. Dans le cas de Doughty, il y a un peu des deux, il est jeune, mais il était là à Vancouver. Letang et Subban étaient parmi les finalistes pour le trophée Norris l’an dernier, donc ils devraient tous deux être choisis bien qu’ils soient encore en phase d’apprentissage. Phaneuf et Weber apportent tous deux de l’expérience et de la carrure, Seabrook de son côté a du vécu et beaucoup à offrir, alors que Green est un gars combattif. Et bien sûr, il y a Keith; les raisons ne manquent pas pour qu’il soit de l’équipe.

Avants
Sidney Crosby
Jordan Eberle
Ryan Getzlaf
Claude Giroux
Taylor Hall
Chris Kunitz
Andrew Ladd
Rick Nash
Corey Perry
Martin St. Louis
Eric Staal
Steven Stamkos
John Tavares
Jonathan Toews

POURQUOI? : Il est assez simple pour nous Canadiens de faire une liste de bons joueurs, mais ça se complique quand arrive le moment de composer une équipe. Stamkos est un choix facile, c’est un marqueur-clé. Au centre, il y a Crosby, Staal, Getzlaf, Toews et Tavares; ce sont des joueurs qui peuvent être déplacés d’une ligne à l’autre, ils s’adaptent à leurs coéquipiers. Hall, Giroux, Kunitz, Ladd, Perry et Nash sont tous des joueurs expérimentés en situation de forte pression, et ils font aussi partie des meilleurs de la LNH. Eberle est un jeune gars extrêmement talentueux qui profiterait selon moi de jouer avec des coéquipiers chevronnés, et puis il y a St-Louis; c’est le gars ayant de l’expérience olympique, qui n’était pas à Vancouver, mais qui brûle d’envie de se retrouver avec l’équipe à Sotchi et de prouver qu’il fait partie des meilleurs.
Vidéos
Photos
2014 OLY: La médaille d’or à la une (H)
24 février 2014
La une de quotidiens le 24 févr., au lendemain de la conquête de l’or par le Canada à Sotchi.
2014 OLY : CAN 3 - SWE 0 (Or)
23 février 2014
Toews, Crosby et Kunitz ont marqué pour aider le Canada à gagner une autre médaille d’or.
2014 OLY : Célébration masculin
23 février 2014
Le Canada célèbre sa 3e médaille d’or en hockey masc. des 4 derniers Jeux olympiques.
2014 OLY : CAN 1 - USA 0
21 février 2014
Carey Price a réussi un jeu blanc pour mener le Canada au match pour la médaille d’or.
2014 OLY : CAN 2 - LAT 1
19 février 2014
Shea Weber a marqué le but gagnant et le Canada accède aux demi-finales.
2014 OLY : CAN 2 - FIN 1 (Prol)
16 février 2014
Le deuxième but du match de Drew Doughty a été le but gagnant en prolongation.
2014 OLY : CAN 6 - AUT 0
14 février 2014
Le tour du chapeau de Jeff Carter aide le Canada à gagner un deuxième match en deux jours à Sotchi.
2014 OLY : CAN 3 - NOR 1
13 février 2014
Les multiples points de Drew Doughty aident le Canada à gagner un premier match à Sotchi.
2014 OLY.  : Papiers peints des joueurs de l’équipe masculine
08 janvier 2014
Préparez-vous à Sochi 2014 et téléchargez celui de votre joueur préféré maintenant!
Sotchi : équipe masculine
07 janvier 2014
La formation de 25 joueurs inclut 11 médaillés d’or de Vancouver 2010.
Nouvelles récentes
Les plus populaires
Close
Photo Credit:  
Close
Credit