My Team Canada - Matt McCoy

The son of Irish immigrants, Matt McCoy grew up in Prince Rupert, B.C.  At the age of seven, he decided he was going to become a professional hockey player and took the steps to achieving his goal, but hung up his skates and focused on his education after his junior career.

McCoy graduated from BCIT with a major in marketing management, but his passion for hockey and desire to play returned, and he launched a pro career that took him to teams in Canada, the U.S. and Europe. After a knee injury forced his retirement, Matt returned to Vancouver to re-establish his career as an executive in the medical, health and wellness industry.

In 2013, McCoy released his new work of fiction, The Kid Who Missed the Bus. He uses his lifetime of experiences and insight from his years as a professional hockey player to deliver a tale that body-checks its way through Canada, Europe and the U.S. through the eyes of his main character, Danny Boy Doyle.

Goaltenders
Corey Crawford
Roberto Luongo
Carey Price

WHY?: I think Luongo is going to prove himself this year, and he wants to go back as the starting goalie. Crawford won a Stanley Cup, and is one of the top up-and-comers, and Price is going to have a bounce-back year and play well.

Defencemen
Jay Bouwmeester
Dan Boyle
Drew Doughty
Duncan Keith
Alex Pietrangelo
Brent Seabrook
PK Subban
Shea Weber

WHY?: Doughty is a returning guy, good young player. Keith and Seabrook are returning, coming off a Stanley Cup, and there’s Boyle, another returnee, so you have to go with that experience. Weber is a solid guy, logs a lot of ice time. I took Bouwmeester because he’s a great skater, and that’s important on the Olympic-size ice; same with Pietrangelo, they need mobile guys on the back end. Subban is a bit of a wild card, offensive guy, plays with an edge, but I think he’d be a great addition.

Forwards
Patrice Bergeron
Jeff Carter
Sidney Crosby
Logan Couture
Ryan Getzlaf
Claude Giroux
Brad Marchand
Rick Nash
James Neal
Corey Perry
Eric Staal
Steven Stamkos
John Tavares
Jonathan Toews

WHY?: Stamkos is a power scorer, and it’s his time to come play and earn his wings. Same with a couple other young guys, like Couture, Tavares and Neal. Toews and Staal are returning players, solid veterans, both two-way guys. Perry and Getzlaf, same thing, returning guys, know how to get it done, along with Nash, who always seems to play really well for Canada and steps it up when it counts. Crosby you have to have there, Bergeron is another returnee, the ultimate two-way player, and Giroux and Carter are offensive threats and great skaters. And then there’s Marchand, who’s a pest with a bit of offensive flair, so I think he’d be great.
Videos
Photos
2014 OLY: Gold medal front pages (M)
Feb 24, 2014
Newspaper cover pages from Feb. 24, the day after Canada won gold in Sochi.
2014 OLY: CAN 3 - SWE 0 (Gold)
Feb 23, 2014
Toews, Crosby and Kunitz scored to help Canada to another Olympic gold.
2014 OLY: Men's Gold Celeb
Feb 23, 2014
Canada celebrates its third men’s hockey gold medal in the past four Olympic Winter Games.
2014 OLY: CAN 1 - USA 0
Feb 21, 2014
Carey Price made 31 saves for the shutout to lead Canada to the gold medal game.
2014 OLY: CAN 2 - LAT 1
Feb 19, 2014
Shea Weber had the winner with 6:54 left to send Canada to the semifinals.
2014 OLY: CAN 2 - FIN 1 (OT)
Feb 16, 2014
Drew Doughty’s second goal of the game was the overtime winner.
2014 OLY: CAN 6 - AUT 0
Feb 14, 2014
Jeff Carter’s hat trick led Canada to its second win in as many days in Sochi.
2014 OLY: CAN 3 - NOR 1
Feb 13, 2014
Drew Doughty’s multi-point night helped Canada to its first win in Sochi.
2014 OLY: Men’s team player desktops
Jan 08, 2014
Get ready for Sochi 2014 and download your favourite player now!
2014 OLY: Men’s players nominated for Sochi
Jan 07, 2014
The 25-player roster includes 11 gold medallists from Vancouver 2010.
2014 OLY: Sochi 2014 jerseys unveiled
Oct 08, 2013
Check out Canada’s new look for the 2014 Games.
Close
Photo Credit:  
Close
Credit

Mon Équipe Canada - Matt McCoy

Le fils d’immigrants irlandais, Matt McCoy a grandi à Prince Rupert en Colombie-Britannique. À sept ans, il a décidé qu’il allait devenir joueur de hockey professionnel et il a entrepris une démarche à cet égard, mais il a accroché ses patins et s’est concentré sur ses études après ses années dans les rangs juniors.

McCoy a obtenu une majeure en gestion du marketing du BCIT, mais sa passion pour le hockey et son désir de jouer ont refait surface et il a amorcé une carrière professionnelle auprès d’équipes au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe. Forcé de prendre sa retraite à la suite d’une blessure à un genou, Matt est rentré à Vancouver pour réorienter sa carrière comme dirigeant dans l’industrie des soins médicaux, de santé et de bien-être.

En 2013, Matt McCoy a publié son nouvel ouvrage de fiction intitulé The Kid Who Missed the Bus. En se fondant sur l’expérience et les connaissances acquises alors qu’il jouait au hockey professionnel, il raconte une série de mises en échec au Canada, en Europe et aux États-Unis du point de vue de Danny Boy Doyle, le personnage principal.

Gardiens de but
Corey Crawford
Roberto Luongo
Carey Price

POURQUOI? : Je pense que Luongo va se prouver cette année et il veut redevenir un gardien de but partant. Crawford a gagné une coupe Stanley et il est l’un des plus prometteurs, et Price va se remettre de la saison dernière et bien jouer.

Défenseurs
Jay Bouwmeester
Dan Boyle
Drew Doughty
Duncan Keith
Alex Pietrangelo
Brent Seabrook
PK Subban
Shea Weber

POURQUOI? : Doughty est déjà passé par là et c’est un bon jeune joueur. Keith et Seabrook seraient de retour après avoir gagné la coupe Stanley, puis il y a Boyle, un autre joueur qui serait de retour; il faut opter pour cette expérience. Weber est un gars solide capable de jouer pendant de nombreuses minutes. J’ai choisi Bouwmeester parce qu’il est un excellent patineur et que c’est important sur une patinoire de dimensions olympiques; même chose pour Pietrangelo; ils ont besoin de gars mobiles à l’arrière. Subban est une carte volante, un joueur offensif quelque peu intrépide, mais je crois qu’il serait un excellent ajout.

Avants
Patrice Bergeron
Jeff Carter
Sidney Crosby
Logan Couture
Ryan Getzlaf
Claude Giroux
Brad Marchand
Rick Nash
James Neal
Corey Perry
Eric Staal
Steven Stamkos
John Tavares
Jonathan Toews

POURQUOI? : Stamkos est un marqueur né; il est temps qu’il vienne jouer et qu’il mérite ses galons. Même chose pour d’autres jeunes comme Couture, Tavares et Neal. Toews et Staal seraient de retour; ce sont des vétérans solides qui jouent bien dans les deux sens du jeu. Perry et Getzlaf, même chose; ce sont des gars qui sont déjà passés par là et qui savent comment faire le travail, tout comme Nash qui semble toujours bien jouer pour le Canada et qui rehausse son jeu d’un cran lorsque ça compte. Crosby doit être là, Bergeron serait un autre joueur de retour, le joueur par excellence dans les deux sens du jeu, et Giroux et Carter sont des menaces offensives et de très bons patineurs. Puis, il y a Marchand, la peste au flair offensif qui, selon moi, serait excellent.
Vidéos
Photos
2014 OLY: La médaille d’or à la une (H)
24 février 2014
La une de quotidiens le 24 févr., au lendemain de la conquête de l’or par le Canada à Sotchi.
2014 OLY : CAN 3 - SWE 0 (Or)
23 février 2014
Toews, Crosby et Kunitz ont marqué pour aider le Canada à gagner une autre médaille d’or.
2014 OLY : Célébration masculin
23 février 2014
Le Canada célèbre sa 3e médaille d’or en hockey masc. des 4 derniers Jeux olympiques.
2014 OLY : CAN 1 - USA 0
21 février 2014
Carey Price a réussi un jeu blanc pour mener le Canada au match pour la médaille d’or.
2014 OLY : CAN 2 - LAT 1
19 février 2014
Shea Weber a marqué le but gagnant et le Canada accède aux demi-finales.
2014 OLY : CAN 2 - FIN 1 (Prol)
16 février 2014
Le deuxième but du match de Drew Doughty a été le but gagnant en prolongation.
2014 OLY : CAN 6 - AUT 0
14 février 2014
Le tour du chapeau de Jeff Carter aide le Canada à gagner un deuxième match en deux jours à Sotchi.
2014 OLY : CAN 3 - NOR 1
13 février 2014
Les multiples points de Drew Doughty aident le Canada à gagner un premier match à Sotchi.
2014 OLY.  : Papiers peints des joueurs de l’équipe masculine
08 janvier 2014
Préparez-vous à Sochi 2014 et téléchargez celui de votre joueur préféré maintenant!
Sotchi : équipe masculine
07 janvier 2014
La formation de 25 joueurs inclut 11 médaillés d’or de Vancouver 2010.
Nouvelles récentes
Les plus populaires
Close
Photo Credit:  
Close
Credit