Danielle Goyette

My Team Canada - Danielle Goyette : 03/12/2009

An eight-time world champion and two-time Olympic gold medalist, Danielle Goyette is one of the highest-scoring players in Canadian women’s hockey history, sitting second all-time in goals (114), assists (105) and points (219) in National Women’s Team history. One of her biggest career highlights came off the ice, as she was chosen to carry the Canadian flag at the 2006 Olympic Winter Games in Turin, Italy. She announced her retirement in January 2008 but has stayed close to the game, serving as the head coach of the University of Calgary women’s team and as an assistant coach with Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team.

Forwards Defense
  • Jeff Carter
  • Sidney Crosby
  • Shane Doan
  • Simon Gagne
  • Ryan Getzlaf
  • Dany Heatley
  • Jarome Iginla
  • Vincent Lecavalier
  • Brenden Morrow
  • Rick Nash
  • Mike Richards
  • Martin St. Louis
  • Joe Thornton
  • Jay Bouwmeester
  • Dan Boyle
  • Brent Burns
  • Mike Green
  • Scott Niedermayer
  • Chris Pronger
  • Robyn Regehr
Goaltenders
  • Martin Brodeur
  • Roberto Luongo
  • Steve Mason

Goaltenders: Canada has the luxury of having a lot of solid goaltenders. The pressure will be on them and that's why I went with experience and Mason as a 3rd goalie. He won't expect to be the go-to guy but if we need him, he will be able to step up. 

Defense: Because the games are being played on small ice I chose big and tough guys who play physical, and I have some skilled defensemen who can move the puck to the forwards and are able to jump up in the attack and create a lot of offense.

Forwards: Well, this is a little bit harder. We have a lot of great forwards in Canada but I went with players who play with passion and excitement. This is a good mix of experience at the international level and young players who are waiting to prove they belong there.

2010 Olympic Winter Games (Men)
Preliminary Round
Feb. 16 CAN 8 - NOR 0
Feb. 18 SUI 2 - CAN 3 (SO)
Feb. 21 CAN 3 - USA 5
Qualification
Feb. 23
CAN 8 - GER 2
Quarter-Final
Feb. 24
CAN 7 - RUS 3
Semifinal
Feb. 26 USA 6 - FIN 1
Feb. 26 CAN 3 - SVK 2
Bronze Medal
Feb. 27
FIN 5 - SVK 3
Gold Medal
Feb. 28 USA 2 - CAN 3 (OT)
CLICK HERE for complete event schedule
Videos
Photos
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit:

Danielle Goyette

Mon Équipe Canada - Danielle Goyette : 03/12/2009

Huit fois championne du monde et deux fois médaillée d’or olympique, Danielle Goyette est une des meilleures marqueuses de tous les temps au hockey féminin canadien, occupant le deuxième rang de l’histoire de l’équipe nationale féminine au chapitre des buts (114), des aides (105) et des points (219). Un de ses plus grands exploits est survenu à l’extérieur de la patinoire lorsqu’elle a été choisie porte-drapeau du Canada aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2006 à Turin en Italie. Elle a annoncé sa retraite en janvier 2008, mais est restée très près du sport, agissant comme entraîneure-chef de l’équipe féminine de l’Université de Calgary et entraîneure adjointe de l’équipe nationale féminine des moins de 18 ans du Canada.

Avants Défense
  • Jeff Carter
  • Sidney Crosby
  • Shane Doan
  • Simon Gagne
  • Ryan Getzlaf
  • Dany Heatley
  • Jarome Iginla
  • Vincent Lecavalier
  • Brenden Morrow
  • Rick Nash
  • Mike Richards
  • Martin St. Louis
  • Joe Thornton
  • Jay Bouwmeester
  • Dan Boyle
  • Brent Burns
  • Mike Green
  • Scott Niedermayer
  • Chris Pronger
  • Robyn Regehr
Gardiens de but
  • Martin Brodeur
  • Roberto Luongo
  • Steve Mason

Gardiens de but : Gardiens de but : Le Canada a le luxe d’avoir plusieurs excellents gardiens de but. La pression sera sur eux et c’est pourquoi j’ai choisi l’expérience et Mason comme 3e gardien. Il ne s’attendra pas à être le gardien numéro un, mais si nous avons besoin de lui, il sera capable de relever le défi.

Défense : Puisque les matchs seront joués sur une petite surface, j’ai choisi de grands et coriaces défenseurs qui jouent un style robuste et aussi des défenseurs habiles capables de passer la rondelle aux avants, de se joindre à l’attaque et de créer beaucoup d’offensive.

Avants : Ceci est un peu plus difficile. Nous avons plusieurs excellents avants au Canada, mais j’ai choisi des joueurs qui jouent avec passion et enthousiasme. C’est un bon mélange de joueurs ayant de l’expérience sur la scène internationale et de jeunes qui attendent de prouver qu’ils méritent d’être là.

Jeux olympiques d'hiver 2010 (Hommes)
Ronde préliminaire
16 févr. CAN 8 - NOR 0
18 févr. SUI 2 - CAN 3 (TB)
21 févr. CAN 3 - USA 5
Qualification
23 févr. CAN 8 - GER 2
Quart de final
24 févr.
CAN 7 - RUS 3
Demi-finale
26 févr. USA 6 - FIN 1
26 févr. CAN 3 - SVK 2
Médaille de bronze
27 févr. FIN 5 - SVK 3
Médaille d'or
28 févr. USA 2 - CAN 3 (Prol.)
Cliquez ici pour l'horaire/résultats complet
Videos
Photos
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: