My Team Canada - Cassie Campbell-Pascall : 02/16/2009

My Team Canada - Cassie Campbell-Pascall : 02/16/2009

Cassie Campbell-Pascall is still the only Canadian captain all-time, in men’s or women’s hockey, to capture two Olympic gold medals. Campbell-Pascall may have retired as a player but remains very active in hockey, as an analyst on various TSN women’s hockey broadcasts and as a reporter with CBC’s Hockey Night in Canada.

Forwards Defense
  • Jeff Carter
  • Sidney Crosby
  • Shane Doan
  • Simon Gagne
  • Ryan Getzlaf
  • Dany Heatley
  • Jarome Iginla
  • Vincent Lecavalier
  • Patrick Marleau
  • Rick Nash
  • Mike Richards
  • Joe Thornton
  • Jonathan Toews
  • Jay Bouwmeester
  • Dan Boyle
  • Brett Burns
  • Mike Green
  • Dion Phaneuf
  • Chris Pronger
  • Shea Weber
Goaltenders
  • Martin Brodeur
  • Roberto Luongo
  • Cam Ward

Goaltenders: Brodeur brings so much experience, but Luongo will challenge for the # 1 role. I took Ward for that third spot over Carey Price. I just think he brings more experience and has been better overall this year.

Defense: I had a tough time leaving Scott Niedermayer off this list, but I am not sure if he will still be playing. This is still a very mobile group. Boyle is a great puck-moving defenceman, Bouwmeester is a great skater, and Green is pure offence. I think Green will be especially important on the power play. Burns is versatile – he could even play forward. Then you have Pronger and Weber as shutdown defencemen. Phaneuf needs to play better, but he is another all-around defenceman who could be really valuable.

Forwards: For me, that last spot was between Thornton and Marc Savard. Both are great playmaking centres, but I went with Thornton because he has Olympic experience and his size. He has been a third line player in the past and if Canada needs him to play that role again, he can. With the rest of the forwards, I have a good mix, lots of ability and leadership. I could see Nash playing with Getzlaf and Heatley again, as they did at Worlds. Gagne or Lecavalier could play on a line with Crosby and Iginla. And then you have depth guys like Mike Richards, Carter, Doan, Toews and Marleau. Brad Richards was another guy that deserves to be there, but I couldn’t find a spot for him.

2010 Olympic Winter Games (Men)
Preliminary Round
Feb. 16 CAN 8 - NOR 0
Feb. 18 SUI 2 - CAN 3 (SO)
Feb. 21 CAN 3 - USA 5
Qualification
Feb. 23
CAN 8 - GER 2
Quarter-Final
Feb. 24
CAN 7 - RUS 3
Semifinal
Feb. 26 USA 6 - FIN 1
Feb. 26 CAN 3 - SVK 2
Bronze Medal
Feb. 27
FIN 5 - SVK 3
Gold Medal
Feb. 28 USA 2 - CAN 3 (OT)
CLICK HERE for complete event schedule
Videos
Photos
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit:

Cassie Campbell-Pascall

MON ÉQUIPE CANADA AVEC... CASSIE CAMPBELL-PASCALL

Seule capitaine canadienne, homme ou femme, à avoir remporté deux médailles d’or olympiques, Cassie Campbell-Pascall a beau avoir pris sa retraite comme joueuse, elle demeure néanmoins active au hockey, agissant comme analyste lors de la diffusion des matchs de hockey féminin sur TSN et comme reporter à l’émission Hockey Night in Canada sur le réseau CBC.

Avants Défense
  • Jeff Carter
  • Sidney Crosby
  • Shane Doan
  • Simon Gagne
  • Ryan Getzlaf
  • Dany Heatley
  • Jarome Iginla
  • Vincent Lecavalier
  • Patrick Marleau
  • Rick Nash
  • Mike Richards
  • Joe Thornton
  • Jonathan Toews
  • Jay Bouwmeester
  • Dan Boyle
  • Brett Burns
  • Mike Green
  • Dion Phaneuf
  • Chris Pronger
  • Shea Weber
Gardiens de but
  • Martin Brodeur
  • Roberto Luongo
  • Cam Ward

Gardiens de but : Brodeur possède tellement d’expérience, mais Luongo le défiera pour le poste de gardien numéro un. J’ai choisi Ward comme troisième gardien plutôt que Carey Price – je pense simplement qu’il possède plus d’expérience et qu’il a été meilleur cette année.

Défense : J’ai eu de la difficulté à laisser Scott Neidermayer de côté, mais je ne suis pas certaine qu’il jouera encore. C’est tout de même un groupe très mobile; Boyle déplace très bien la rondelle, Bouwmeester est un excellent patineur et Green incarne l’offensive à l’état pur. Je pense que Green jouera un rôle important lors des avantages numériques. Burns est polyvalent – il pourrait même jouer à l’avant. Puis, Pronger et Weber peuvent boucler le territoire. Phaneuf doit jouer mieux, mais il est tout de même un défenseur complet qui pourrait être très utile.

Avants : Pour moi, j’ai hésité entre Thornton et Marc Savard comme dernier choix. Les deux sont d’excellents centres capables de fabriquer des jeux, mais j’ai choisi Thornton à cause de son expérience aux Olympiques et de son gabarit. Il a évolué au sein du troisième trio par le passé, et si le Canada lui demande de le faire à nouveau, il le fera. Pour les autres avants, j’ai effectué un bon mélange – beaucoup d’habiletés et de leadership. Nash pourrait encore évoluer avec Getzlaf et Heatley comme il l’a si bien fait au championnat mondial. Gagné ou Lecavalier pourrait faire partie d’un trio avec Crosby et Iginla. Et puis vous avez des gars qui amènent de la profondeur, des joueurs comme Richards, Carter, Doan, Toews et Marleau. Brad Richards est un autre joueur qui mérite d’être là, mais je n’ai tout simplement pas pu lui trouver une place.

Jeux olympiques d'hiver 2010 (Hommes)
Ronde préliminaire
16 févr. CAN 8 - NOR 0
18 févr. SUI 2 - CAN 3 (TB)
21 févr. CAN 3 - USA 5
Qualification
23 févr. CAN 8 - GER 2
Quart de final
24 févr.
CAN 7 - RUS 3
Demi-finale
26 févr. USA 6 - FIN 1
26 févr. CAN 3 - SVK 2
Médaille de bronze
27 févr. FIN 5 - SVK 3
Médaille d'or
28 févr. USA 2 - CAN 3 (Prol.)
Cliquez ici pour l'horaire/résultats complet
Videos
Photos
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: