Game Summary

Canada 3 - Czech Republic 2
Round Robin
Tuesday, February 21, 2006
16:30 Local/10:30 Eastern
Turin, ITA
Palasport Arena

 

 

CANADA HOLDS OFF CZECHS TO FINISH THIRD GROUP A

Third place in Group A was on the line as Canada and the Czech Republic took to the ice on Tuesday afternoon.  Earlier in the day, Switzerland had assured itself of a 2nd place finish outright in the Group, after rallying to gain a 3-3 tie against Italy. 

After two straight shutouts, there was a collective sigh of relief among Canadian hockey fans and players when Canada opened the scoring.  At 7:37, Brad Richards let a wrist shot from just in side the blueline that handcuffed Czech goaltender Tomas Vokoun, who had Kris Draper bearing in on him.

It was time for a second sigh of relief for Canada, at 11:15, as the power play clicked.  With Ryan Smyth providing the distraction in front of the net, Martin St-Louis banked it in off the Czech defenceman, to stake Canada to a 2-0 lead.  

The Czechs did not let up, but could not beat Brodeur, who looked sharp in the opening period.  Then at 19:24, Chris Pronger pounced on a loose puck and lasted Vokoun on a hard slapshot, to give Canada a 3-0 lead through the first period.  The marked the end of the night for Vokoun, who was replaced by Milan Hnilicka.

At 12:10 of the second period, Jaromir Jagr was set up in the slot but Brodeur made great glove save to keep Canada up by three.

Canada ran into penalty trouble and was down two players, when the Czech power play came through. Jagr set up Pavel Kubina whose one-time slapshot beat Brodeur, at 13:46.  Going into Canada’s final period of the round robin, Canada had a 3-1 lead over the Czech Republic.

It didn’t take long in the third for the Czechs to make things interesting.  Petr Cajanek found the mark at 2:41, with an assist going to Ales Hemsky, closing the Czechs to within one goal of Canada, with over 17 minutes to play.  Moments after his goal, Cajanek was sent in alone on Brodeur, but the Canadian goaltender managed to put his stick down just in time to make the save.

While the Czechs carried much of the play over the final minutes, it was Brodeur who stole the show and led Canada to a 3-2 win.

Canada gets third place in the group and will face the team that finishes 2nd in Group B, one of Russia, Slovakia or Sweden.  Canada’s opponent in the quarter-finals will be determined this evening, when Russia meets USA while Sweden takes on Slovakia in the final games of the round robin.  Canada will play on February 22nd, at the Torino Esposizioni at 8:30 pm (local)/ 2:30 pm (ET). 


Box Score CAN
3
0
0
3
Compte CZE
0
1
1
2

First Period/Première période

Scoring/Buts:
07:37 CAN - 39 Richards (12 Iginla, 44 Pronger)
11:19 CAN - 26 St-Louis (40 Lecavalier, 4 Blake) PP
19:24 CAN - 44 Pronger (97 Thornton)

Penalties/Pénalités:
10:45 CZE - 12 Kaberle 2 min, Hooking
14:10 CZE - 20 Lang 2 min, Hooking

Second Period/Deuxième période

Scoring/Buts:
33:46 CZE - 13 Kubina (68 Jagr, 26 Rucinsky) PP

Penalties/Pénalités:
32:31 CAN - 12 Iginla 2 min, Tripping
33:32 CAN - 4 Blake 2 min, Hooking
37:58 CAN - 24 McCabe 2 min, Holding

Third Period/Troisième période

Scoring/Buts:
42:41 CZE - 16 Cajanek (15 Kaberle T., 83 Hemsky)

Penalties/Pénalités:
50:26 CAN - 24 McCabe 2 min, Tripping


Goaltenders CAN Martin BRODEUR
Gardiens de but CZE Tomas VOKOUN, Milan HNILICKA

Shots on Goal Team

1 p

2 p

3 p

Final

Shots on Goal CAN

8

6

2

16

Tirs au but CZE

7

14

12

33


Referee/Arbitre MAROUELLI Dan
Linesmen/Juges des lignes KARLSSON Joacim, NELSON Thor Eric

Attendance/Assistance 9126

PRE-GAME QUOTES

Wayne Gretzky:  "We can't continuously be stubborn in our end. We have to get the puck to the other side of centre.  We have to get the puck in their end.  Our power play has to be better and our offensive defencemen have to jump in and pinch in more."

Rick Nash: "There is a lot of pressure on Team Canada. Hockey is the number one sport (in Canada).  But we just have to play the game and not worry about that."

Joe Sakic: "We lost a couple of games, and when this happens everything gets blown out of proportion.  It doesn't matter, what matters is how we play tomorrow."

Vincent Lecavalier: "It's very important for us tomorrow, we need to come out strong and play as a group of five, make shorter passes.  We are just too far away from each other.  We have to stay together and make shorter, better passes."

For more information:
Brad Pascall Vice-President, Hockey Operations

Sommaire du Match

Canada 3 République Tchèque 2

Ronde préliminaire
mardi le 21 février 2006
16:30 local/15:00 est
Turin, ITA
Palasport Arena

 

LE CANADA TIENT TÊTE AUX TCHÈQUES ET TERMINE AU TROISIÈME RANG DU GROUPE A

La troisième place au sein du groupe A était en jeu mardi après-midi, alors que le Canada et la République tchèque s’affrontaient. Plus tôt dans la journée, la Suisse avait obtenu le 2e rang du groupe après un match nul de 3 –3 contre l’Italie.

Après avoir vu leur équipe blanchie au cours de ses deux derniers matchs, les partisans du Canada ont poussé un soupir de soulagement collectif lorsque le Canada a ouvert la marque. À 7:37, Brad Richards a décoché un tir du poignet alors qu’il se trouvait juste en deçà de la ligne bleue pour déjouer le gardien tchèque Tomas Vokoun vers lequel fonçait Kris Draper. 

Un deuxième soupir de soulagement a été entendu quand le jeu en avantage numérique a réussi à marquer à 11:15. Pendant que Ryan Smyth créait une distraction devant le filet, Martin St-Louis a marqué d’un tir qui a dévié sur un défenseur tchèque pour donner une avance de 2 –0 aux siens.

Les Tchèques n’ont pas lâché, mais ils n’ont pu déjouer Martin Brodeur qui a été excellent au cours de la première période. Puis à 19:24, Chris Pronger s’est emparé d’une rondelle libre et a déjoué Vokoun d’un puissant tir frappé pour donner une avance de 3 –0 au Canada après 20 minutes de jeu. S’en était fait de Vokoun qui a été remplacé par Milan Hnilicka. 

À 12:10 de la deuxième période, Jaromir Jagr a tiré de la zone privilégiée, mais Brodeur a effectué un superbe arrêt avec sa mitaine pour préserver l’avance de trois buts du Canada.

Le Canada a ensuite écopé de punitions et, pendant qu’il était à court de deux joueurs, le jeu de la République tchèque en avantage numérique a porté ses fruits. Jagr a effectué une passe à Pavel Kubina dont le tir frappé sur réception a déjoué Brodeur à 13:46. Après deux périodes de jeu, le Canada avec une avance de 3 –1 sur la République tchèque.

Au troisième tiers, les Tchèques n’ont pas tardé à rendre les choses intéressantes. Petr Cajanek a fait mouche à 2:41 avec l’aide d’Ales Hemsky pour réduire l’écart à un but avec un peu plus de 17 minutes à jouer. Quelques instants après son but, Cajanek s’est avancé seul devant Brodeur, mais le cerbère canadien a réussi à poser son bâton sur la glace juste à temps pour effectuer l’arrêt.

Bien que les Tchèques ont dominé au cours des dernières minutes, ce fut Brodeur qui a volé la vedette pour permettre au Canada de l’emporter 3 –2.

Le Canada termine donc au troisième rang de son groupe et il affrontera l’équipe qui terminera au 2e rang du groupe B, soit la Russie, la Slovaquie ou la Suède. L’adversaire du Canada en quart de finale sera décidé ce soir à l’issue des derniers matchs de la ronde préliminaire opposant la Russie aux États-Unis et la Suède à la Slovaquie. Le prochain match du Canada aura lieu le 22 février au Torino Esposizioni à 20h30 (heure locale)/14h30 (HE). 


Box Score CAN
3
0
0
3
Compte CZE
0
1
1
2

First Period/Première période

Scoring/Buts:
07:37 CAN - 39 Richards (12 Iginla, 44 Pronger)
11:19 CAN - 26 St-Louis (40 Lecavalier, 4 Blake) PP
19:24 CAN - 44 Pronger (97 Thornton)

Penalties/Pénalités:
10:45 CZE - 12 Kaberle 2 min, Hooking
14:10 CZE - 20 Lang 2 min, Hooking

Second Period/Deuxième période

Scoring/Buts:
33:46 CZE - 13 Kubina (68 Jagr, 26 Rucinsky) PP

Penalties/Pénalités:
32:31 CAN - 12 Iginla 2 min, Tripping
33:32 CAN - 4 Blake 2 min, Hooking
37:58 CAN - 24 McCabe 2 min, Holding

Third Period/Troisième période

Scoring/Buts:
42:41 CZE - 16 Cajanek (15 Kaberle T., 83 Hemsky)

Penalties/Pénalités:
50:26 CAN - 24 McCabe 2 min, Tripping


Goaltenders CAN Martin BRODEUR
Gardiens de but CZE Tomas VOKOUN, Milan HNILICKA

Shots on Goal Team

1 p

2 p

3 p

Final

Shots on Goal CAN

8

6

2

16

Tirs au but CZE

7

14

12

33


Referee/Arbitre MAROUELLI Dan
Linesmen/Juges des lignes KARLSSON Joacim, NELSON Thor Eric

Attendance/Assistance 9126

Wayne Gretzky : « Nous ne pouvons pas continuellement faire la tête dure dans notre extrémité. Nous devons faire en sorte que la rondelle passe le centre. Nous devons transporter la rondelle à leur extrémité. Notre jeu en avantage numérique doit être meilleur et nos défenseurs offensifs doivent s’avancer et appuyer l’attaque plus. »  

Rick Nash : « Il y a beaucoup de pression sur Équipe Canada. Le hockey est le sport numéro un (au Canada). Mais nous devons simplement jouer le jeu et ne pas nous en faire avec ça. »
 
Joe Sakic : « Nous avons perdu quelques matchs et quand ça se passe, tout est exagéré hors de toute proportion. Ça n’a pas d’importance, ce qui compte, c’est la façon dont nous allons jouer demain. »  
 
Vincent Lecavalier : « C’est très important pour nous demain, nous devons foncer dès le début et jouer comme un groupe de cinq, faire des passes plus courtes. Nous devons rester ensemble et faire des passes plus courtes et meilleures. »
Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Brad Pascall Vice-President, Hockey Operations