2008 IIHF World Junior Championship

TSN WORLD JR VIDEO ARCHIVE Click here

     

CANADA 3 - SWEDEN 2 (OT)
GOLD MEDAL
Photo Gallery

Matt Halischuk scored 3:36 into overtime to give Canada a 3-2 win over Sweden and their fourth consecutive gold medal at the IIHF World Junior Championship on Sunday, avenging their lone loss of this year’s World Juniors. » more

 

RUSSIA 4 - UNITED STATES 2
BRONZE MEDAL
Photo Gallery

The Russians jumped out to a big lead with three goals in the opening 20 minutes and held on for a 4-2 win over the USA in the bronze medal game on Saturday, the fourth straight tournament the Russians have won a medal.

 

CANADA 4 - UNITED STATES 1
SEMI-FINAL
Photo Gallery

Steve Mason turned aside 33 shots and four different scorers found the back of the net as Canada moved into their seventh consecutive gold medal game at the IIHF World Junior Championship with a 4-1 win over the USA on Friday. » summary

 

ONE-ON-ONE WITH...

You've seen them on the ice, now find out a little more about them off the ice. Hockeycanada.ca sits down with members of Canada's National Junior Team to go One-on-One. » interviews

 

CANADA 4 - FINLAND 2
QUARTER-FINAL
Photo Gallery

For the first time since 2002, Canada will play in a quarterfinal game at the IIHF World Junior Championship, and Finland will provide the opposition. A semi-final date with the USA is on the line when these two nations meet Wednesday.

 

MASON GETS CALL AGAINST FINNS IN CRITICAL QUARTERFINAL

PARDUBICE, Czech Republic – Corey Hirsch has been around goalies enough to know that Steve Mason is ready for the next step on the road to gold at the 2008 IIHF World Junior Championship. » more

 

CANADA ADVANCES TO PLAYOFF ROUND AT 2008 IIHF WORLD JUNIOR CHAMPIONSHIP;

CANADA TO FACE FINLAND ON JANUARY 2ND IN QUARTERFINAL

Canada’s National Junior Team has advanced to the playoff round at the 2008 IIHF World Junior Championship. » more

 

CANADA 4 - DENMARK 1
PRELIMINARY ROUND
Photo Gallery

Kyle Turris scored his team-leading third and fourth goals, while John Tavares and Shawn Matthias also found their way onto the scoresheet as Canada wrapped up its round robin with a 4-1 win over Denmark on Monday.

 

CANADA 3 - SWEDEN 4
PRELIMINARY ROUND
Photo Gallery

Tobias Forsberg scored with just seven seconds remaining, capping a wild third period and giving Sweden a 4-3 win over Canada on Saturday, snapping Canada’s 20-game World Junior winning streak. » summary

 

RARE LOSS DOESN’T PANIC
NATIONAL JUNIOR TEAM

"The feeling is not negative. For sure we are disappointed by what happened but it is probably the best thing that has happened to us to date," Canada's assistant coach said on Sunday, less than 24 hours after a 4-3 loss to Sweden at the 2008 IIHF World Junior Championship. » more

 

CANADA 2 - SLOVAKIA 0
PRELIMINARY ROUND

Photo Gallery

Kyle Turris scored twice and Steve Mason turned aside all 22 shots he faced for Canada’s second consecutive shutout as the National Junior Team scored a 2-0 win over Slovakia on Thursday at the 2008 IIHF World Junior Championship. » summary

 

SO FAR, SO GOOD FOR CANADA AT WORLD JUNIORS

PARDUBICE, Czech Republic – It's a simple and proven recipe that Canada is following at the 2008 IIHF World Junior Championship. » more

 

CANADA 3 - CZECH REPUBLIC 0
PRELIMINARY ROUND

Photo Gallery

Two goals from John Tavares, three assists from Steven Stamkos and 44 saves from Jonathan Bernier led Canada to a 3-0 win over the Czech Republic in the opening Group A game for both teams at the 2008 IIHF World Junior Championship on Wednesday, the tournament-record 19th straight win for the National Junior Team. » summary

 

EXHIBITION GAMES CONCLUDE FOR CANADA AS WJC IS SET TO BEGIN

CHRUDIM, Czech Republic – Team Canada scored a power-play goal, shorthanded goal and two even-strength goals to beat Finland 4-2 in exhibition action in preparation of the 2008 IIHF World Junior Championship on Sunday. » summary

 

 

For more information:
André Brin Director, Communications | Directeur, communications

Championnat mondial junior 2008 de l'IIHF

CANADA 3 – SUÈDE 2 (pro)
MÉDAILLE D'OR
Galerie des photos

Matt Halischuk a marqué à 3:36 de la prolongation pour permettre au Canada de vaincre la Suède 3 -2 et de remporter sa quatrième médaille d’or consécutive au Championnat mondial junior de l’IIHF, se vengeant par le fait même de sa seule défaite au mondial junior cette année. » suite

 

RUSSIA 4 - UNITED STATES 2
BRONZE MEDAL
Galerie des photos

Les Russes n’ont pas tardé à se distancer de leurs adversaires en marquant trois buts au cours des 20 premières minutes avant de remporter le match pour la médaille de bronze, samedi, par la marque de 4 -2 sur les États-Unis et ainsi obtenir une quatrième médaille consécutive à ce tournoi.

 

CANADA 4 - ÉTATS-UNIS 1
DEMI-FINALE
Galerie des photos

Steve Mason a repoussé 33 tirs et quatre marqueurs différents ont touché la cible pour le Canada pour lui permettre d’accéder au match pour la médaille d’or pour une septième année consécutive au Championnat mondial junior de l’IIHF grâce à une victoire de 4 -1 sur les États-Unis, vendredi. » suite

 

C’EST REPARTI
LE CANADA ET LES ÉTATS-UNIS S’AFFRONTENT AU CMJ

PARDUBICE, République tchèque – Il aura fallu presque une nanoseconde pour que le capitaine d’Équipe Canada, Karl Alzner, réponde à la question. » suite

 

CANADA 4 - FINLANDE 2
QUART DE FINALE
Galerie des photos

Le Canada a comblé un déficit de 1 -0 et Brad Marchand a marqué le but gagnant en troisième période pour permettre au Canada d’accéder aux demi-finales du Championnat mondial junior 2008 de l’IIHF grâce à une victoire de 4 -2 sur la Finlande, mercredi. » sommaire

 

MASON GARDERA LE FILET DANS LE MATCH QUART DE FINALE CRITIQUE CONTRE LA FINLANDE

PARDUBICE, République tchèque – Corey Hirsch fréquente les gardiens de but depuis assez longtemps pour savoir que Steve Mason est prêt pour la prochaine étape en route vers l’or au Championnat mondial junior 2008 de l’IIHF. » suite

 

LE CANADA ACCÈDE À LA RONDE ÉLIMINATOIRE AU CHAMPIONNAT MONDIAL JUNIOR 2008 DE L’IIHF;

LE CANADA AFFRONTERA LA FINLANDE EN QUART DE FINALE LE 2 JANVIER

L’équipe nationale junior du Canada a accédé à la ronde éliminatoire du Championnat mondial junior 2008 de l’IIHF. » suite

 

CANADA 4 - DANMARKE 1
RONDE PRÉLIMINAIRE
Galerie des photos

Kyle Turris, qui est le meilleur buteur de sa formation, a inscrit ses troisième et quatrième buts, tandis que John Tavares et Shawn Matthias ont inscrit leur nom dans la colonne des marqueurs pour permettre au Canada de remporter une victoire de 4 -1 sur le Danemark à son dernier match de la ronde préliminaire, lundi. » suite

 

UNE RARE DÉFAITE N’INQUIÈTE PAS
L’ÉQUIPE NATIONALE JUNIOR

« La sensation n’est pas négative. C’est certain que nous sommes déçus par ce qui s’est produit, mais c’est probablement la meilleure chose qui nous est arrivée jusqu’à présent »... » suite

 

TÊTE-À-TÊTE AVEC...

Vous les avez vus sur la glace, maintenant apprenez à les connaître à l’extérieur de la patinoire. Hockeycanada.ca rencontre les membres de l’équipe nationale junior du Canada pour un tête-à-tête. » interviews

 

CANADA 3 - SUÈDE 4
RONDE PRÉLIMINAIRE

Galerie des photos

Tobias Forsberg a marqué alors qu’il restait sept secondes à jouer dans le match pour mettre fin à une troisième période mouvementée et donner une victoire de 4 -3 à la Suède sur le Canada, samedi, mettant ainsi fin à la série de 20 victoires du Canada au mondial junior. » sommaire

 

JUSQU’À MAINTENANT,
TOUT VA BIEN POUR LE CANADA
AU MONDIAL JUNIOR

PARDUBICE, République tchèque – La recette du Canada au Championnat mondial junior 2008 de l’IIHF est simple et prouvée. » suite

 

CANADA 2 - SLOVAQUIE 0
RONDE PRÉLIMINAIRE

Galerie des photos

Kyle Turris a marqué deux buts et Steve Mason a repoussé les 22 tirs qu’il a affrontés pour permettre à l’équipe nationale junior du Canada d’inscrire un deuxième jeu blanc consécutif et de vaincre la Slovaquie 2 -0, jeudi, au Championnat mondial junior 2008 de l’IIHF. » sommaire

 

CANADA 3 - RÉPUBLIQUE TCHÈQUE 0
RONDE PRÉLIMINAIRE

Galerie des photos

John Tavares a marqué deux buts en avantage numérique, Steven Stamkos a obtenu trois mentions d’aide et Jonathan Bernier a été brillant devant le filet, effectuant 41 arrêts, pour permettre au Canada de l’emporter 3 -0 sur la République tchèque au premier jour du Championnat mondial junior 2008 de l’IIHF, mercredi. » sommaire

 

 

LES MATCHS HORS CONCOURS DU CANADA PRENNENT FIN ALORS QUE LE CMJ POINTE À L’HORIZON

Équipe Canada a marqué un but en avantage numérique, un autre en désavantage numérique et deux à forces égales pour vaincre la Finlande 4 -2 dans un match préparatoire au Championnat junior, dimanche. » suite

 

 

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
André Brin Director, Communications | Directeur, communications