Team Page/Canada

CANADA STRIKES GOLD AGAIN WITH VICTORY OVER RUSSIA

For the second straight year, Canada is on top of the junior hockey world. In a 5-0 victory over Russia at Vancouver’s GM Place on January 5, the Canadians succeeded in neutralizing super sniper Evgeni Malkin and fulfilling Head Coach Brent Sutter’s defence-first plan to perfection. » more | box score

 

CANADA 4 - FINLAND 0

With a hard-working 4-0 semi-final win over Finland, Canada secured its berth in the gold medal game on Thursday, January 5 (4 pm PT, TSN/RDS). » more

   

TEAM CANADA 2006 WORLD JUNIOR CHAMPIONSHIP eBay AUCTION FEATURING GAME WORN ITEMS
BEGINS DECEMBER 29TH
» more

- click here to go to
'Team Canada' Ebay Page

 

CANADA 3 - USA 2

Canada claimed first place in Group A and a bye to the January 3 semi-finals » more

CANADA ADVANCES TO SEMI-FINALS
OF THE 2006 IIHF WORLD JUNIOR CHAMPIONSHIP
» more

 

NORWAY 0 - CANADA 4

Team Canada got its third straight win Thursday at the 2006 IIHF World Junior Hockey Championship, shutting out Norway 4-0 in front of 16,083 fans at the Pacific Coliseum in Vancouver. » more

 

CANADA 4 - SWISS 3

Canada edged Switzerland 4-3 Wednesday night at the Pacific Coliseum on the strength of David Bolland’s goal at 13:39 of the second period. » more | Box Score


 


WORLD JUNIOR MAGIC TODAY, OLYMPIC MEDALS TOMORROW

While interest in the annual IIHF World Junior Championship is enormous in Canada, some hockey fans elsewhere in the world don’t get as pumped up about it. » more

 


WHERE THEY ARE NOW:
CATCHING UP WITH THE 2005 GOLD MEDAL SQUAD

The 2005 gold medal-winning edition of Team Canada represented one of the deepest squads the nation has ever sent to the World Juniors. » more

 

FINLAND 1 - CANADA 5

On a day when Canadian shoppers go hunting for bargains, Team Canada fans were clearly sold on what the 2005 World Junior edition has to offer. » more

 

CAM BARKER:
“YOU JUST HAVE TO PLAY YOUR GAME”

Canadian defenceman Cam Barker’s 2005 IIHF World Junior Championship participation was cut short after three games because he was diagnosed with mononucleosis. But now he’s back » more

 

WORLD JUNIOR ALUMNI
SUIT UP FOR CANADA AT SPENGLER CUP

Six former members of Canada’s National Junior Team will represent their country once again at the 2005 Spengler Cup in Switzerland from December 26 to 31.

They include defencemen Matt Kinch (2000 WJC, now with Switzerland’s Langau), Zenith Komarniski (1998 WJC, now with Omaha of the AHL), and Ian White (2003 WJC, now with Toronto of the AHL), and forwards Hnat Domenichelli (1996 WJC, now with Switzerland’s Ambri-Piotta), Josh Holden (1998 WJC, now with Switzerland’s Fribourg), and Brandon Reid (2000 and 2001 WJC, now with Switzerland’s Rapperswill).

 

COACH SUTTER HOLDS COURT AFTER CANADA’S DECEMBER 27 PRACTICE

If you thought Canadian Head Coach Brent Sutter would be in a buoyant, over-exuberant mood after opening the tournament with a 5-1 win over Finland, think again. » more

THE CANUCK CONNECTION
WITH TEAM CANADA 1995

Ten years before stars like Sidney Crosby, Dion Phaneuf, and Corey Perry made the 2005 version of Team Canada the strongest-ever World Junior entry, there was another gold medal-winning team that thrilled the host nation. » more

 

TEAM CANADA DETERMINED TO DEFEND ITS TITLE

When Canada takes to the ice December 26 against Finland at Vancouver’s Pacific Coliseum, it will be a young and relatively inexperienced group striving to earn this nation a second straight gold medal. With only one returning player from the 2005 championship team in Grand Forks, North Dakota (defenceman Cam Barker), there are no automatic household names. Last year’s team featured the likes of Sidney Crosby, Patrice Bergeron, Jeff Carter and Dion Phaneuf, and dominated the championship from beginning to end. But the IIHF World Junior Championship is an opportunity for new stars to shine, and this year the stage is wide open. With only six players on the 22-man roster under six feet tall, Canada will have a powerful team, and it’ll need to punish opponents physically to be successful. » more


CANADA DOMINATES RUSSIA IN EXHIBITION PLAY

With an 8-1 drubbing of Russia Thursday night in Kamloops, Canada remained perfect in exhibition play leading up to the 2006 IIHF World Junior Championship.
» more

 

BLUNDEN’S LATE GOAL GIVES CANADA EXHIBITION WIN OVER CZECHS

Live Game Summary It took until the final minute of the game to seal the deal, but Canada delighted a Kelowna crowd Tuesday night, winning 2-1 in dramatic fashion over the Czech Republic. » more

 

READERS WILL LOVE
THE SPECTACULAR SIDNEY CROSBY

To build a winning team, you ultimately have to focus on the players you have, not the ones you don’t have. » more

 

DOWNLOAD TEAM CANADA
PLAYER PROFILES

Downlaod the player profiles for Canada's 2006 National Junior Team as they appear in the official Hockey Canada media guide. 
» download

 

PLAYER TO WATCH
Cam BARKER
D Chicago Blackhawks
Rep. 2004 Dft (1, 3)

Barker will undoubtedly be the only returnee to this year’s edition of the Canadian National Junior Team. He will be called upon to lead through his steady play. He will most certainly see considerable power play time and will be counted on to chip in offensively.

 

PLAYER TO WATCH
Luc BOURDON
D Vancouver Canucks
Rep. 2005 Dft (1, 12)

Has everything you look for in a defenceman with good size and strength to go along with fantastic mobility. The main weapon in his game is his exceptional skating ability. Excels at dishing out physical punishment. Possesses a heavy accurate slap shot that has been clocked at 92 miles per hour.

 

PLAYER TO WATCH
Andrew COGLIANO
F/A Edmonton Oilers
Rep. 2005 Dft (1, 25)

The former Junior A standout has begun his career at the University of Michigan and his incredible speed will allow him to create offense throughout the Championship. Has much better hockey sense then he is given credit for and has the ability to score big goals.

 

PLAYER TO WATCH
Benoit POULIOT
F/A Minnesota Wild
Rep. 2005 Dft (1, 4)

Is an incredible skater and possesses fantastic offensive sense. Although this will be his first international hockey event, Team Canada will no doubt rely heavily on him to provide scoring throughout the event.

 

PLAYERS TO WATCH PROVIDED BY ISS www.internationalscouting.com

TEAM CANADA OVERVIEW

At last year’s World Junior Championship in North Dakota, Canada ended its gold medal drought with a resounding tidal wave, beating Russia by a 6-1 count in the championship game. It’s worth noting that fifteen members of last year’s gold medal winning team have already played at least a game in the NHL this year. Canada has now won 11 gold medals all-time at the World Junior Championship.

Canada’s head coach Brent Sutter, a former NHLer who owns and coaches the Red Deer Rebels in the Western Hockey League, brings a winning tradition to team, having won Stanley Cups, Canada Cups, a Memorial Cup and now the WJC.

Sutter and his staff will be hard pressed to top last year’s performance. It was Canada's first World Junior title since 1997, and particularly satisfying considering the team lost the gold medal game by one goal in each of the previous three years.

The host Canadian team that will attempt to defend the World Junior Championship is shaping up to be a young one. The majority of players on national junior team are usually 19 years old (born in 1986). But Canada seems to have more depth in talent among its 18 year-olds this year. This year’s team has only one returning player, Cam Barker, and will lack some of the firepower up front that last year’s gold medal team enjoyed.

Canada will once again have depth and versatility, along with physical defencemen that won't lack for mobility and two solid scoring lines.

Page D'Équipe/Canada

LE CANADA A UN LAISSEZ-PASSER
POUR LA DEMI-FINALE GRÂCE
À UNE VICTOIRE IMPORTANTE SUR
LES ÉTATS-UNIS
 » suite

 

CANADA 4 - FINLANDE 0

Grâce à une victoire de 4 –0 en demi-finale sur la Finlande, victoire pour laquelle ils ont dû travailler fort, les Canadiens se sont assurés d’une participation au match de la médaille d’or qui aura lieu le jeudi le 5 janvier (16h HP, TSN/EDS). » suite

 


OÙ SONT-ILS PASSÉS :
RETROUVAILLES DES MÉDAILLÉ D’OR DE 2005

L’édition médaillée d’or du Canada en 2005 a été l’une des meilleures formations que le Canada a envoyées au mondial junior. » suite

 

NORVÈGE 0 - CANADA 4

Équipe Canada a obtenu sa troisième victoire consécutive, jeudi soir, au Championnat mondial junior 2006 de l’IIHF, en blanchissant la Norvège 4 –0 devant 16 083 partisans au Pacific Coliseum de Vancouver. » suite

 

FINLANDE 1 -  CANADA 5

En ce jour où les Canadiens sont en quête des meilleures aubaines, les partisans d’Équipe Canada ont clairement acheté ce que le mondial junior 2005 avait à offrir. » suite

 

CANADA - 4 SUISSE 3 » suite

L’ENTRAÎNEUR BRENT SUTTER RENCONTRE LES MÉDIAS
APRÈS L’ENTRAÎNEMENT DU 27 DÉCEMBRE
» suite

 

ÉQUIPE CANADA VEUT ABSOLUMENT DÉFENDRE SON TITRE

Lorsque le Canada embarquera sur la glace le 26 décembre contre la Finlande au Colisée Pacifique de Vancouver, ce sera une équipe relativement jeune et inexpérimentée qui sera à la recherche d’une deuxième médaille d’or consécutive. Avec seulement un joueur de retour de la victoire à Grand Forks au Dakota du Nord (le défenseur Cam Barker), il n’y a plus les vedettes des années antérieures. L’équipe de l’an dernier comptait des joueurs tels Sidney Crosby, Patrice Bergeron, Jeff Carter et Dion Phaneuf, et a dominé le Championnat du début jusqu’à la fin. Mais le Championnat junior de l’IIHF est une opportunité pour les nouveaux-venus de s’illustrer, et cette année c’est une scène libre. Avec seulement six joueurs à l’alignement de 22 joueurs de moins six pieds de haut, le Canada aura une équipe puissante, et devra punir ses adversaires physiquement pour avoir du succès. » suite

LE CANADA DOMINE LA RUSSIE LORS D’UN MATCH HORS CONCOURS

Après une victoire écrasante de 8 –1 sur la Russie, jeudi soir à Kamloops, le Canada demeure invaincu lors des matchs hors concours précédant le Championnat mondial de hockey junior 2006 de l’IIHF. » suite

 

LE BUT TARDIF DE BLUNDEN PERMET AUX CANADIENS DE L’EMPORTER SUR LES TCHÈQUES DANS UN MATCH HORS CONCOURS

L’issue du match a été décidée pendant la dernière minute, mais le Canada a soulevé la foule de Kelowna, mardi soir, en battant la République tchèque par la marque de 2 –1. » suite

LES LECTEURS VONT AIMER
«THE SPECTACULAR SIDNEY CROSBY»

Pour bâtir une équipe gagnante, vous devez, au bout du compte, vous concentrer sur les joueurs que vous avez et non sur ceux que vous n’avez pas. » suite

 

TÉLÉCHARGER LES PROFILES
D'ÉQUIPE CANADA

Télécharger les profiles d'Équipe Canada des pages du Guide des médias officiel de Hockey Canada. » télécharger

 

JOUEUR À SURVEILLER
Cam BARKER
D Chicago Blackhawks
Rep. 2004 Dft (1, 3)

Barker sera sans doute le seul joueur de retour de l’équipe nationale junior du Canada de l’an dernier. Il sera appelé à jouer un rôle de chef de file par un son jeu constant. Il jouera certainement beaucoup lors des attaques à cinq et on comptera sur lui pour contribuer à l’attaque.

 

JOUEUR À SURVEILLER
Luc BOURDON
D Vancouver Canucks
Rep. 2005 Dft (1, 12)

A toutes les qualités que l’on recherche chez un défenseur. Il a un bon gabarit et est fort en plus d’être très mobile. L’outil le plus impressionnant de son jeu est son coup de patin exceptionnel. Effectue d’excellentes mises en échec. Possède un puissant tir du poignet précis qui a été chronométré à 92 milles à l’heure.

 

JOUEUR À SURVEILLER
Andrew COGLIANO
F/A Edmonton Oilers
Rep. 2005 Dft (1, 25)

Cette ancienne vedette du hockey junior A a entrepris sa carrière à l’Université du Michigan et sa grande vitesse lui permettra de générer de l’offensive tout au long du championnat. Il a un meilleur sens du jeu que ce que certains croient et est capable de compter des buts importants.

 

JOUEUR À SURVEILLER
Benoit POULIOT
F/A Minnesota Wild
Rep. 2005 Dft (1, 4)

Un patineur incroyable avec d’excellentes habiletés offensives. En dépit du fait que ce sera son premier événement de hockey international, Équipe Canada comptera sans doute beaucoup sur lui pour marquer des buts tout au long du tournoi.

 

JOUEURS À SURVEILLER FOURNI PAR ISS -  www.internationalscouting.com

VUE D'ENSEMBLE D'ÉQUIPE CANADA

Au championnat mondial junior de l’an dernier, dans le Dakota du Nord, le Canada a mis fin à sa disette de médailles d’or par un raz de marée qui a balayé la Russie par la marque de 6 –1 lors du match du championnat. Il est important de souligner que 15 membres de l’équipe médaillée d’or de l’an dernier ont pris part à au moins un match dans la LNH cette saison. Le Canada a gagné 11 médailles d’or au fil des ans au championnat mondial junior.

L’entraîneur-chef du Canada, Brent Sutter, un ancien joueur de la LNH qui est propriétaire et entraîneur des Rebels de Red Deer dans la Ligue de hockey de l’Ouest, apporte une tradition gagnante à l’équipe, ayant déjà remporté plusieurs fois la coupe Stanley et la Coupe Canada, une Coupe Memorial et maintenant, le CMJ.

Il ne sera pas facile pour Sutter et son personnel de faire mieux que l’an dernier. C’était le premier titre du Canada au mondial junior depuis 1997 et la victoire fut d’autant plus satisfaisante que le Canada avait perdu la médaille d’or par un seul but dans le match pour la médaille d’or au cours des trois années précédentes.

L’équipe canadienne hôtesse qui tentera de défendre son titre au championnat mondial junior devrait être très jeune. La plupart des joueurs qui forment une équipe junior nationale sont habituellement âgés de 19 ans (nés en 1986). Mais le Canada semble avoir plus de joueurs de talent chez les 18 ans cette année. Un seul joueur de la formation de l’an dernier sera de retour cette année, Cam Barker. L’équipe n’aura certainement pas toute la puissance de tir de l’équipe médaillée d’or l’an dernier.

Le Canada fera à nouveau preuve de profondeur et de polyvalence et sa formation comptera des défenseurs robustes mais mobiles et deux excellents trios à l’attaque.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
André Brin Director, Communications | Directeur, communications